We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art Exhibition With Extras”
Review of Kettle's Yard House and Gallery - CLOSED

Kettle's Yard House and Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KETTLE'S YARD IS NOW CLOSED FOR A MAJOR REDEVELOPMENT, SEE THE WEBSITE FOR MORE INFORMATION. Kettle's Yard is a house with a permanent collection of early twentieth century works of art and a gallery presenting a changing programme of contemporary and modern art exhibitions. There is a lively programme of events including music and workshops.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Art Exhibition With Extras”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kettle Yard management involves the artists in the exhibtions and events for visitors. I have visited the Gallery on many occasions for a browse through the house to enjoy the art work or a sit in the library area. I also attended a Meetup event where a group of us spontaneously created an art work, and afterwards had a personal tour by the artists whose work was on exhibit. Thoroughly good experience any time I've been to Kettles Yard.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    22
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I wanted to visit Kettles Yard, but wasn't sure what to expect. It was completely charming - it felt like a privilege to 'share' in what is essentially a home and envisage what it would have been like to live here with all of the wonderful art. The room stewards were friendly and knowledgeable, but didn't intrude on our visit unless we asked a question. Perfect. If you have an interest in art and are in Cambridge, you HAVE to visit this place - it's wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brillikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is my third visit to Kettle's Yard and I keep returning to this unique collection. This time I was able to discover and enjoy the unique and beautiful paintings of Christopher Wood, particularly the wonderful portraits. A real treasure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSBOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A unique and tranquil place”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Step through the door into an atmosphere of tranquillity and peace. This seems less a museum than a home from which the owners have just popped out, and I heard many murmurs along the lines of 'I could live here!' Me, too. From interesting arrangements of pebbles to paintings by the likes of Alfed Wallis and Ben Nicholson, there is something fascinating around every corner, and the availability of chairs in which to relax, and books to browse, add to Kettle Yard's unique ambience. There is a certain justifiable amount of security, and bags must be left in a cupboard by the door, but entrance is free - one of Cambridge's best bargains. Do go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanR646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Like a Russian Doll”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Kettles Yard Gallery was interesting and a good shop but it was the house which was so fantastic- like opening a series of Russian Dolls and finding more and more interesting rooms and art treasures.A soothing place to be.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle's Yard House and Gallery also viewed

Stapleford, Cambridge
Knapwell, Cambridge
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing