We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmed by this experience.”
Review of Christ's College

Christ's College
Ranked #28 of 166 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is said that Poet John Milton sat and wrote poetry under a tree on the grounds of this College, whose famous alumni include General Jan Smuts, John Milton, Charles Darwin and CP Snow.
Uckinghall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Overwhelmed by this experience.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this accomodation by chance on a lower ranked web page. £95 per night per night for a superior double ensuite room in the students accomodation of Christs College (during their summer break).
The room itself was very spacious, with very large bathroom. The shower was rather cramped, but, hey, this is student accomodation! The mattress was as comfortable as I have slept on since my wedding night 22 years ago.
The ensuite backed onto the shopping comlex, but our bedroom, with the bathroom door shut, was very quiet indeed.
The view from the bedroom window across the lawned court was what it was all about, and to those of us not lucky enough to be a Cambridge alumnus, it was a great opportunity to feel part of this wonderful building and establisment.
Breakfast was included in the (very historic) students cafeteria on refectory style tables and benches. Not to some peoples taste, but we found it a great experience. The food served was excellent, with especially tasty local sausages, and as much to eat as you wished.
The porters were extremely pleasant and helpful. All our requests were met with a professional and knowledgeable response, with humour and wit to boot!. Nothing was too much trouble.
All in all a great experience that I would highly recommend. Not everybody's cup of tea I'm sure, but for us it made it an unforgettable weekend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A quiet santuary in a busy city”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A lovely college, charming and inviting staff to talk to. The gardens are beautiful. It was a lucky chance to get in and see the college as most of the time signs are up at the entrance closing the college to visitors.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small friendly college”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Christ's is a relatively small college which is centrally located. There is no fee for visitors to enter, and it is generally open during the day. The porters are friendly and welcoming. The initial court - "First Court" - is historic (15th/16th century) and elegant with a lovely chapel. Second court includes the 1640s Fellows' Building. Third Court has buildings from late 19th century to mid-20th century, and lastly the modern New Court completed in 1970.

We were here when their pumpkin carving (for Halloween) competition was being displayed, and to add to the atmosphere there was a bat flying around!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in the summer”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The gardens are all decorated for the coming graduation. Everything is brightly colorful, flowers everywhere, I would reccommend to come to the college around end June and start July

Helpful?
3 Thank nhanle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ's College also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Christ's College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing