We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“content”
Review of Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton Lodge
Ranked #80 of 126 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2010

for the price of the non ensuite single satisfactory. room 3 small but comfortable. in need of a coat of paint. cold Buffet Breakfast was great, a change from the normal cooked english breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Room was refreshed daily. Bathroom in urgent need of decorating. Ideal for business visitors on a budget. will visit again on my next work visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millamisky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2009

I stayed one night at Carlton Lodge and was very dissapointed. For 50.00£ per night I expected much more. Only clean place in the room was the bed. Other furtniture in the room and fittings in the bathroom had few years dust on them. Everything in the room was old and dollhouse size. And, smelled so badlly. The carpet was covered with dust and stains.
The breakfast was suspicious corn-flakes, couple of pieces old ham and cheese packed in a plastic foil and the owner took it away immedietly after I took few pieces, and very bad quality instant coffee. Butter and spread were couple of months after the due-date. That's not a continental breakfast.
Yes, the owners were friendly but 50.00£ for friendliness only is too much.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The mattresses in the twin suite are getting very old. The room was on the small side. No warm breakfast. Parking in front of the house. Walking distance from center (25 minutes).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

On a street liberally sown with guest houses, I believe that I may have struck upon the best. Ciaran was friendly and efficient, the room clean and well appointed, and the buffet breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Me and my friend enjoyed the time at the Carlton Lodge a lot.
We have been there the last yeahr as well. I loved the rooms and the owner. They are great and very helpfully.
If im going to cambridge the next time i will be at Carlton Lodge.:)
I say thank you to the family for the great staying at the B&B.
It was a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miramueho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I use Carlton Lodge as a base for our yearly language group visits to England. It is very close to the center of Cambridge, involving a short walk across Midsummer Common. The facilities are functional, clean and in good order. The overwhelming advantages of this guest house are the cost, as it seems to give the greatest value for money in the area, and the friendly, helpful proprietors. We have always had a great time and I intend to continue to bring my students again next year as I have done in the past.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

The owners were very friendly and waited up for me to arrive from Frnace. My room was nice and clean. Continental breakfast was very good. Good value at the price. They are very close to the centre of Cambridge.

T. Martin

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rangitoto100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.9 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
3.6 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
312 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rectory Farm
Rectory Farm
#1 of 3 in Coton
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Lodge

Address: 245 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing