We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood stained bedding. Despicable.”
Review of Stationroomz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stationroomz
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I've left it 24hrs before writing this review so I can make some attempt at a reasoned rationale review. I'm going to fail.

This is not a hotel. I'm not even sure it qualifies as a hostel.

I wasn't expecting much from this place because it's budget accommodation. A leaky tap, a cold shower or other minor defect wouldn't have prompted me to write a negative review (in fact i've stayed in very expensive accommodation with those exact problems and haven't felt the need to complain). Station Roomz in Cambridge is disgusting. It has all the above but what has casused me to write is the state of the bed linen. I woke to discover that I had been sleeping in a duvet covered in multiple dried bloodstains.

I immediately notified the on duty manager. I showed him a photo and took him to the room. He phoned the owner/manager (apparently in the midlands on business). She was to busy to talk to me and suggested I come back the following day. Needless to say I wasn't happy. Things quickly escalated in a full blown argument.

At one point they implied that I or one of my group may have caused it.

Now before anyone thinks I may have over reacted see the attached photos. At the time of writing I haven't heard back from them and was informed at the time of complaint I wouldn't be receiving a refund.

Do not stay at this supposed hotel. Budget prices (and it's not actually that cheap) are no excuse for poor hygiene. I will be notifying Cambridge council to take this matter further.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Golly_Gosh_Slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Owner at Stationroomz, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Please accept our apologies, the bed linen (duvet) was unfortunately stained, however the stain was coffee not blood and the duvet should not have been used even when covered with a freshly laundered duvet cover. We have now ordered new duvets and discussed the standards we aspire to with the hotel manager and her team to ensure there is no future repetition of such an incident. We are in a great location by Cambridge Station, offer competitive room rates, and whilst we may occasional slip up, our team are attentive and caring. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here without reading any reviews purely as a friend was already staying there too. In fairness the staff were very welcoming and polite but really the positives end there. I was handed a remote for the tv with the key which raised my suspicions. The room was tiny and not very pleasant. It was clean however. Thankfully it was merely a place to get my head down after a night out and I was glad the alcohol numbed the experience. The place badly needs some tlc and redesign. I would not stay here again and for £57 this was daylight robbery. It was only worth about £30 max.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallianceUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came to cambridge for a 2 day training course and booked into cityroomz the evening before. On arrival first impressions wernt great but the staff were helpfull. The room was very small basic unclean and noisy. Eventually managed to go to sleep to be woken up in the early hours of the morning (2am) by the sound of keys in the lock and a guy opening my room door ... fortunately i had put the chain across the door which was the only thing stopping this guy from entering my room!!! When i reported this to reception i was told that there was a different key for each room but the staff did have a master key to all rooms, to which my reply was why would a member of staff b entering a occupied room at 2am.... i was told that the room next door to me was unoccupied and it was possible that the member of staff had got the wrong room..... i foundthe whole experience very frightening and unacceptableand only managed to get 2 hours sleep.... not a great start for a training course.... will b taking this further!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to Cambridge with my boyfriend. We hadn't previously looked for room before coming so we looked last minute and found cityroomz. On the website it had showed good pictures of the hotel and for the price we were expecting something like Travelodge but on arrival we checked in and we were taken to an underground DUNGEON looking basement floor! We were taken to the first room on the right. Receptionist opened the door and as soonest he opened the door you could say that we nearly tripped over onto the bed. There was not that much space at all and as well there was a window on the right which was letting in a lot of cold air. First thing we tried to do was turn on the portable radiator which was plugged into a wall socket so there was no central heating at all. We had to call reception as our radiator wasnt working so receptionist gave us his portable radiator and took ours away.
The room was dirty it needed a good paint over the only clean thing was the bed sheets. We did had good night sleep but had to wake up to the horror of the room again. We couldn't wait to leave but we had booked two nights and we had to stay.
We couldn't even watch tv because it wasnt working No network coverage on your phone as well you had to go out of the room outside to make a phone call.
The door to the room was so hard to lock with the key that i had to get my boyfriend all the time to lock it for me and even he found it hard.
Now to the breakfast. We went upstairs to the canteen which was on top of reception. Breakfast included croassant, sandwiches were hard as they were there all morning. Tea or coffee weren't really good. I didn't eat nothing on the breakfast table but my boyfriend did and after breakfast spend few hours on the toilet.
Cityroomz is not value for money we wished we had stayed at travelodge and it was cheaper to stay there. I wouldn't recommend this "hotel" to no one !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went to Cityroomz one weekend with my boyfriend. We left our bags at the hotel and went into the town before coming back to check in to the room.
We first thought it was a bit weird when the man on reception took us into some kind of underground dungeon to our room...
There was barely even room to fit 3 people in the room at the same time. We were just amazed at how disgusting the room was... Looking around the walls were dirty, the bathroom was dirty and the quality of the room was just horrendous. There was a tv that didn't even work, and a plug In radiator that didn't really work either.
We spent about an hour and a half in the room before we couldn't bear to stay any longer, and decided to leave. The man on reception didn't seem bothered or even surprised when we said we weren't staying.
I don't know what Cityroomz is but it definitely isn't a hotel, and the price is disgusting for what it is.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgie452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First impressions are damning. Having glanced at the website, read the list of facilities and paid what i believed to be a reasonable rate (comparable to local Travelodge prices), I was not prepared for the reality of this hotel. One-step up the ladder from a hostel is the only way I could describe this place.

Pros
- Despite everything, I had an excellent night's sleep laid on a couple of mattresses stacked on the floor (see cons below)
- The breakfast room is nicely presented and is comfortable to use (there may be an issue if you can't sit on tall stools)
- (Continental) Breakfast quality is excellent. Far better than I would have expected given the nature and condition of the rooms
- Excellent location if you need to be close to the train station. A 10 minute walk to the nearest shops/restaurants. Taxi or bus to the city centre.
- Recommended for students or labourers - who make up most of the clientele. I'm sure that this place is not designed to attract business travellers like myself (see last point below).

Cons
- Tiny! I could literally almost touch all four walls when stood in the centre of my room. This is what I would expect a comfortable jail cell to look like.
- I'm 5'6'' and my head nearly touched the roof of the shower room
- Worse still, when lying in bed, my feet were touching the end of the bed (wall). Anyone 6 feet tall would not be able to lay down straight. This is not an exaggeration.
- I had a bunk bed room. The top bunk looked ok, but the bottom bunk was made up of a couple of mattresses laid on the floor!
- Wifi was not available in all rooms. You have to go to the breakfast room if you want to use an internet device. It does state this on their website, however it does not state this on third-party booking sites. In mitigation, it appears that they may be in the process of installing a new wifi system, it's not clear whether this would provide in-room access.
- The front door is open all day until late, making any prolonged period spent in the breakfast room quite chilly
- Room condition is worn. No phone, as advertised - not that I needed it.
- Bathroom/Toilet is cramped - you have to navigate around the sink to reach the toilet and the positioning is such that you could quite comfortably wash your face while sitting on the toilet.

- Value for money is awful. One of the main reasons I didn't expect a hostel-type accommodation is that the price point is within the budget hotel range of Travelodge, HI Express etc. which are significantly superior. Spend the extra £10-20. If it wasn't for this last point, I would have put the experience down to a bad choice on my part and not posted this review.

Room Tip: As close as possible to the breakfast room if you want in-room wifi (assuming they haven't insta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were only staying the one night in Cambridge and didn't want to spend too much. This option proved to be ideal. It was cheap and right next to the station. The town is a short walk away - only the downright lazy would object.

The bedroom was very clean and had an en-suite toilet and shower which was perfectly adequate. I don't like too much heat so the room was fine for mee, but I can imagine it would be a tad too cold for some.

Reception was all a bit impersonal and even though we did leave our luggage there the next day - I had little faith in their safety as the person behind the desk literally was so laid-back he was horizontal. The man was lying down. However, when we went back to get our bags - they were safe and sound. I think that had more to do with the clientéle than the hostel's staff or security measures.

The continental breakfast was better than I'd expected and the place had a nice hostelly-liberal-let's all read the guardian together vibe.

Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Take something thermal just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stationroomz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stationroomz

Address: Station Road, Cambridge CB1 2TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stationroomz is situated immediately outside Cambridge Railway Station, which is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to all of the city centre attractions. We have 24 compact, but well equipped rooms with TV, Tea & Coffee.We offer, included in our rates, a light breakfast with baguettes, croissants, preserves, cereals, fruit juice and beverages, served in our breakfast room from 7.30 am until 9.30.Our single and twin rooms have comfortable cabin style beds.We do not have a bar or restaurant, but there are many to choose from in the area. There is plenty of car parking available at the railway station and we have 3 dedicated spaces for our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stationroomz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityroomz Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing