We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
windsor
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We have previously stayed at the lovely Garden House Hotel, but the rooms there are now so ridiculously expensive that we went for the Regent, on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews.

It was ok. Booked a penthouse room – not that big, with a tiny balcony which wasn’t that useful in November and was a bit tacky anyway, and rather obscured the pleasant view over Parkers Piece. Room was nicely decorated, with a very comfortable bed. More pillows would have been nice. Bathroom a good size, with a bidet. Television a bit small. Wifi a very reasonable £2 per 24 hours. No problems at all with noise.

Breakfast (continental only) was merely adequate – have rarely had such tasteless croissants and the toast was not great.The breakfast area itself was cramped. The hotel has no car park and the nearest public one is difficult to find and quite a walk away. It cost just over £30 for two nights.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is reasonably central, but there just seemed to be something lacking, especially as it was by no means cheap (though to be fair not over-priced, by Cambridge standards). It’s just not a hotel I could ever love.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    191
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
193
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I found this place extremely pleasant. The executive bedroom was large, well-equipped and tastefully decorated, with a view over Parker's Piece. I imagine the experience would be different in the rooms at the front overlooking the busy road. The hotel was clean and well-maintained throughout. They only do continental breakfasts here, which some people might find a drawback, but in a city of a thousand eateries, I didn't see it as a problem. All the staff I encountered, both in reception and in the breakfast room, were genuinely pleasant and helpful.
Of Cambridge's many attractions, the ADC Theatre (for amateur and uni productions, on Jesus Lane) is one of the lesser known, but the standard is excellent, the seats are cheap, and the bar is nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairfax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I returned the Regent Hotel in Cambridge after staying there 8 years ago. It was like returning to see an old friend--comfy and familiar. My colleagues stayed in a much more expensive central hotel and complained of ammenities. I returned to this small but friendly hotel and throughly enjoyed my staff and saved lots of money. I recognized the manager from my previous visit all those years ago. The staff was polite and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a real Cambridge experience. The room was adequent for a solo business traveler. Had good internet connections to do work while there. Ask for a room overlooking Parker's Peice and take an early morning walk to take in this wonderful, historical old city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Just ok. Nothing to add. Nothing good or bad. Forgettable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulFinchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

I stayed at the Regent for about a week, and enjoyed my stay. The people were all very nice, the hotel was clean. The breakfast was simple but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huldrepus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We found the hotel clean and the location was very convenient. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Yes at night it was a bit noisy but not terrible.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Very convenient location, short walk from intercity bus station, walkable to train; easy walk to downtown and all the sights. All service was helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom were very clean, comfortable and spacious. Included breakfast, which was fine.

A problem for some might be that it is on a busy street with a number of pubs. Things can get very loud and continue very late - though it did not bother us much. we will likely be back to Cambridge and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing