We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed here through work, what a lovely hotel.

Nice fittings, lovely bathroom, nice comfy bed and nice pillows.

Close to Cambridge town centre, and to pizza express and wagamama for food.

Only one drawback - no cooked breakfast - but hey, i shouldnt be eating a full english every day anyway, its not healthy!

I have requested to only stay here when in Cambridge.

  • Liked — comfy bed and nice bathroom
  • Disliked — no cooked breakfast, although lovely breakfast nevertheless
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ineedaholidaytoo!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    185
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
187
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2008

As a family we have stayed in dozens of hotels in the UK and abroad and genuinely feel this was one of our best trips - mainly because nothing was too much trouble for the hotel manager - our room was bright with a lovely view over the park and really comfortable - there were no grotty or tired areas in the hotel which is unusual and the whole place felt very fresh - Most importantly all the staff were friendly- only drawback was the parking which was pretty difficult on a wet saturday afternoon but was fine after 6.30pm - still this isn't their fault - the area is excellent for food and shopping- wagamamas particularly good for kids and just 5 mins away- we will definitely be back

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skyeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed here in October with a friend in a twin ensuite double room for 109 pounds/ night. I would stay here again.

Pros:

- one of the very few affordable hotels in walking distance of downtown Cambridge, minutes from the colleges

- hotel has been renovated in a new, comfortable (not luxurious) manner. Room's furnishings were newer, good beds, good quality bathroom fixtures.

- room and bathroom were both larger than expected (compared to lodgings I've had in London and other tourist towns)

- very clean

- comfortable and quiet sitting area / lounge downstairs

- dozen+ restaurants (from upscale to budget) on Regent Street, steps away from hotel. So while the hotel doesn't serve meals, you have many food options right outside their door.

- evening bar (for basic drinks, beer, wine by the glass etc)

- secured but free wireless internet (officially downstairs only, but we also could access it from our room on the 2nd floor)

- elevator (no dragging luggage up multiple flights)

- laundry service available

- easy access / cheap taxi or bus from train station

- staff very friendly and helpful.

Cons: none. Overall I had a very nice stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hibachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed in the Regents Hotel for three nights. The location is excellent - just a short walk for the city centre and not far from the station. There is no dedicated parking, but we found we were able to park on the road outside after 7pm. Reception and bar staff very friendly and accommodating.

The room we stayed in was a reasonable size, with good ensuite, tv and internet access (small but reasonable fee)

The downside was that the windows weren't double glazed, which meant a slight draft, but more significantly since we were at the front of the hotel, we experienced a lot of noise from the street which at night can be quite lively. It wasn't enough to keep me awake but then I'm a heavy sleeper.

And although the room was well furnished, it wasn't particularly well maintained - walls were scuffed and dirty, furniture had bits missing

I'd recommend this if location was of importance for a short stay, but our experience that we expected a better standard for the price for a longer stay

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bit Tatty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RockyJohnnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

One night business trip, single room, clean, comfy bed, good bathroom. Didn't eat here but plenty of places a few miuntes walk away. Breakfast was 'A la carte', much better than the buffet style rubbery stuff you get at the chain hotels. Staff friendly. Small touches like returning to your room to find the curtains drawn and a newspaper and chocolate on your bed lend a personal touch.

Only downside was the creaky floorboards above.

I did hear someone mention at breakfast that road noise kept them awake, if thats likely to affect you ask for a room overlooking the car park.

I'd stay here again.

Nobby

PS what are those ducks about?

  • Liked — Cleanliness & location
  • Disliked — Creaky boards!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The Regent has a great location and is affordable compared to other hotels nearby. It has no parking. Rooms are smallish but fine. TV's have only a few channels. The Air Conditioning is nice as it is not common elsewhere. Breakfast is typical UK continental type. Staff is accomodating.

  • Liked — location, value
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chunkylover43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Just returned from a long weekend staying at the Regent - a pretty Georgian house in a relatively busy street. with lots of restaurants around it.

We were already aware of the two minus points (no cooked breakfast or dinner, and lack of dedicated parking) when we booked, and indeed the hotel is careful to point them out.

This is not a 5 star hotel and it doesn't claim to be. It is, though, an excellent standard: spotlessly clean, in good decorative order, well-furnished (solid, modern style), and well-fitted. We had an executive room which was large and airy. The airconditioning system was efficient, which was probably just as well because although our room was at the rear overlooking Parker's Piece there would have been quite a lot of noise (to be expected in the summer) with the windows open - and I suspect the front of the hotel is nosier.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was fine, without being spectacular - good selection of cereals, pastries and croissants, toast, yoghurts, cheese and cold meats, fruit and so on. Dining choice is not an issue in Cambridge.

Parking is an issue in Cambridge - even hotels with parking charge for it (eg £14 per day at the University Arms). Our car came to no harm at the Queen Anne car park across Parker's Piece - £11.00 for a day, £6.00 overnight. If you do try and park on the single yellow lines at the rear of the hotel, be careful: first, the street is VERY narrow; and second, the traffic wardens are there promptly at 8.30 am!

  • Liked — General atmosphere; quality of rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of a cooked breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing