We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$232
Doubletree
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$197
Hilton
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$298
$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
$140
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashley Hotel(Cambridge)
$122
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
202
200
46
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
200
46
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparker's piececontinental breakfastexecutive roomfair tradedowning collegelovely hotelfresh toastsmall hotelthe nearest car parktrain stationcentral locationmulti storeycold meatsstreet noisethe breakfast areawithin walking distanceair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 461 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed here in October with a friend in a twin ensuite double room for 109 pounds/ night. I would stay here again.

Pros:

- one of the very few affordable hotels in walking distance of downtown Cambridge, minutes from the colleges

- hotel has been renovated in a new, comfortable (not luxurious) manner. Room's furnishings were newer, good beds, good quality bathroom fixtures.

- room and bathroom were both larger than expected (compared to lodgings I've had in London and other tourist towns)

- very clean

- comfortable and quiet sitting area / lounge downstairs

- dozen+ restaurants (from upscale to budget) on Regent Street, steps away from hotel. So while the hotel doesn't serve meals, you have many food options right outside their door.

- evening bar (for basic drinks, beer, wine by the glass etc)

- secured but free wireless internet (officially downstairs only, but we also could access it from our room on the 2nd floor)

- elevator (no dragging luggage up multiple flights)

- laundry service available

- easy access / cheap taxi or bus from train station

- staff very friendly and helpful.

Cons: none. Overall I had a very nice stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hibachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed in the Regents Hotel for three nights. The location is excellent - just a short walk for the city centre and not far from the station. There is no dedicated parking, but we found we were able to park on the road outside after 7pm. Reception and bar staff very friendly and accommodating.

The room we stayed in was a reasonable size, with good ensuite, tv and internet access (small but reasonable fee)

The downside was that the windows weren't double glazed, which meant a slight draft, but more significantly since we were at the front of the hotel, we experienced a lot of noise from the street which at night can be quite lively. It wasn't enough to keep me awake but then I'm a heavy sleeper.

And although the room was well furnished, it wasn't particularly well maintained - walls were scuffed and dirty, furniture had bits missing

I'd recommend this if location was of importance for a short stay, but our experience that we expected a better standard for the price for a longer stay

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RockyJohnnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

One night business trip, single room, clean, comfy bed, good bathroom. Didn't eat here but plenty of places a few miuntes walk away. Breakfast was 'A la carte', much better than the buffet style rubbery stuff you get at the chain hotels. Staff friendly. Small touches like returning to your room to find the curtains drawn and a newspaper and chocolate on your bed lend a personal touch.

Only downside was the creaky floorboards above.

I did hear someone mention at breakfast that road noise kept them awake, if thats likely to affect you ask for a room overlooking the car park.

I'd stay here again.

Nobby

PS what are those ducks about?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The Regent has a great location and is affordable compared to other hotels nearby. It has no parking. Rooms are smallish but fine. TV's have only a few channels. The Air Conditioning is nice as it is not common elsewhere. Breakfast is typical UK continental type. Staff is accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chunkylover43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Just returned from a long weekend staying at the Regent - a pretty Georgian house in a relatively busy street. with lots of restaurants around it.

We were already aware of the two minus points (no cooked breakfast or dinner, and lack of dedicated parking) when we booked, and indeed the hotel is careful to point them out.

This is not a 5 star hotel and it doesn't claim to be. It is, though, an excellent standard: spotlessly clean, in good decorative order, well-furnished (solid, modern style), and well-fitted. We had an executive room which was large and airy. The airconditioning system was efficient, which was probably just as well because although our room was at the rear overlooking Parker's Piece there would have been quite a lot of noise (to be expected in the summer) with the windows open - and I suspect the front of the hotel is nosier.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was fine, without being spectacular - good selection of cereals, pastries and croissants, toast, yoghurts, cheese and cold meats, fruit and so on. Dining choice is not an issue in Cambridge.

Parking is an issue in Cambridge - even hotels with parking charge for it (eg £14 per day at the University Arms). Our car came to no harm at the Queen Anne car park across Parker's Piece - £11.00 for a day, £6.00 overnight. If you do try and park on the single yellow lines at the rear of the hotel, be careful: first, the street is VERY narrow; and second, the traffic wardens are there promptly at 8.30 am!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews