We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, very good service.”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location, very good service.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A good location, right on Regent street. The rooms are a bit small, but well laid out, and very clean and well maintained -- and who can't like that wallpaper? The service is very friendly, always helpful, and the breakfasts were quite good. I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKevinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    191
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
193
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at the Regent from Friday 6th June until Monday 9th June. A good choice to spend an extra weekend with quality time in Cambridge with my daughter and Grandson aged 5 , before I flew home to Australia. Brightly decorated double room with a View of Parker's Piece from the window. Comfortable bed , room also equipped with a large built in wardrobe,hairdryer and trouser press, kettle and tea bags etc.. Helpful at Reception and Considerate Housekeeping staff too. Gluten Free products i.e cereals and bars provided on the Continental Breakfast Buffet Shelf. An absolute bonus for me, who likes to restrict wheat products. It was indeed wonderful to step out of the back door and play with my Grandson on the Grass Field during a beautiful Sunday morning. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 107 on the 1st floor. Light floods into this room with Windows overlooking Parker's Piece
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here at short notice while adding a day on to our holiday and very pleased we did. The girls were so helpful when we arrived, we were told we could park in the small road at back of hotel over night which we did and moved it to multi storey first thing. The room was very comfortable, bathroom fine, lovely large towels. We asked for the park view which we got. Breakfast was continental but really sufficient, staff at breakfast were also obliging and cheerful. The hotel was clean and fresh and the young staff were all helpful. Yes would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for park view, very pleasant . We had room107
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeannaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at the Regent for two nights in one of the 2nd floor small double rooms. The hotel is beautifully decorated in both the public areas and bedrooms with lovely carpets and quirky design features. The breakfast room looks over the park and is light and airy. Good choice and variety of continental breakfast with coffee and toast offered by polite and pleasant staff. The bed was comfortable and the room well proportioned. The bathroom was really clean with a good shower pressure and nice bath. TV and WiFi in rooms and public sitting area. Really friendly and attentive staff on reception. Lovely convenient location. Overall a great find. Would definitely recommend and will return next time I visit Cambridge.

Room Tip: If you can try one of the rooms overlooking the park for lovely views. Research parking options befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed with my daughter in May 2014. We chose the hotel because of the hope/promise of free parking behind the hotel after 6.30pm on a Saturday night and all day Sunday and were not disappointed. The hotel itself has been recently refurbished evidenced by new stripey carpeting throughout the public areas. The interesting wallpaper of algebraic equations gave our room a mathematical feel. We had a very comfy bed and the thoughtful lighting made the room very cosy. The spacious proportions continued into the very nicely appointed bathroom which had a powerful shower and large bath.

The staff were very helpful and provided directions to town and also the tourist bus stop which was a stone's throw away. Even closer was a huge selection of restaurants of all nationalities.

Breakfast was continental served by very willing staff. We will definitely not stay anywhere else when travelling to Cambridge again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Centrally located, this small hotel allows you to visit the city and colleges on foot.

The decoration is very nice, modern and it is extremelly clean. Our room had a "mathematics theme"' which was very interestig.

In my opinion, is one of the best options in Cambridge!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of Parker Pieces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tata_viajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Cambridge (and Oxford) are not exactly brimming over with excellent hotels, but the Regent is something of a find that I keep coming back to; its classy recent refurbishment only adds to the enjoyment of the experience. Good location and value, complimentary breakfast & WiFi and cheerful, attentive staff make for an excellent combination. I hope it stays relatively undiscovered or perhaps next time they'll be over-booked and I'll have to look elsewhere...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: 41 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine listed building is situated in the heart of Cambridge. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in offering a personal, efficient and competitive service at all times. The Regent Hotel is completely non-smoking and all of the 22 bedrooms are fully air conditioned for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Cambridge
Regent Cambridge
Cambridge Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing