We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcoming service, nice clean accommodation good location”
Review of Acorn Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acorn Guesthouse
Ranked #68 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcoming service, nice clean accommodation good location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Acorn Guest house with friends. We found the accommodation good value for money: clean rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast,good location. There is a bus stop 1 minuet walk from the accommodation, which takes you into the city. This proved exelent as there are limited parking spaces and many cyclist.! The bus takes about 7 minuets and runs every 10 .You can of course walk across Jesus Green to the town about a 15 minuet walk.
Would definaly go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_2010186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    37
    23
    18
See reviews for
15
55
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was very welcoming and clean a tab bit cramped but they made the most of it and for the area prices were very reasonable. The room was a bit hot but I just slept with the window open. I can't remember the hosts name Michael or Andrew but he was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in a single room in the main building and I was made to feel welcome on arrival. The room was small but clean with an adequate en-suite bathroom - I was sight-seeing so I wasn't in the room much. The breakfast was v good served by friendly staff. For the price of £60 for B&B I thought it was good value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here a week ago, found the rooms extremely stuffy, no ventilation, and we couldnt sleep at all, also the windows dont open properly, spent two terrible night, couldnt get any sleep, was very very hot.
The owner didnt ask me if everything was ok during our two night stay there, something he should do with people staying at his b&b.He met me at breakfast both days.The breakfast was nice but you get similar breakfasts in other b&b's, rather small room, tables very close to each other but thats ok.
When we were to check out, he didnt even come down to see us or say thank you, a person working for his cleared our bill etc, no thank you , or warmth/smiles.
Bad customer service, I think
Wouldnt go back

Room Tip: Choose a room close ro the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyz802013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was a little worried after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, but it wasn't as bad as I feared. There was no parking on the property, but there was a carpark a few doors down, although do check the timing for the parking as there are times that it is for residents only. We had booked 2 family rooms for 6 of us, but had forgotten and told the owner that we booked 3 double rooms. He insisted we had booked 2, which left us panicked for a few minutes before he explained that they were family rooms, and when we remembered, rolled his eyes at us. However, when we told him that we would have to leave at 4 a.m. the next day, he helped us contact a cab big enough for all 6 of us, which I thought was very nice of him.

The rooms were large and clean, with 3 beds comfortably spaced. One of the rooms was in the Annex and the other in the main building itself. The room in the Annex was slightly more modern, although also slightly smaller. The walk to the annex was lit by motion sensor lights all the way. The toilets were very small, but clean and the towels provided fresh. Bedding was comfortable and WIFI was very strong. The TV worked well and there was a kettle to boil water and coffee and tea complimentary with a biscuit. The walls were thin though, and I think our 4 a.m. departure may have woke the room next to us up (if you're reading this, I'm sorry). We of course did not have a chance to try their breakfast.

The location was not too bad, but there are prettier places to stay in Cambridge

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A friendly and clean guest house with very good breakfast. It is just a few minutes from the bus station to the city center. The owner is very helpfull, polite and caring. Even though we had many problems with other accomodation in Cambridge, he did his best to help us. We are thankfull for finding this Guest House to stay for a week and we would definately recommend it to anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Acorn is a very warm hotel, with great service and people who care. Irs a family hotel with very small number of rooms but still the perfect place to be when going for the first time to Cambridge.
My son did not make it at Cambridge University but I will come again some time to visit Cambridge and I will definitely stay at Acorn Guest House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIANA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.0 mi away
Sorrento Hotel
Sorrento Hotel
#25 of 36 in Cambridge
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantern House
Lantern House
#77 of 121 in Cambridge
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
5 Chapel Street
5 Chapel Street
#10 of 121 in Cambridge
126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
1.8 mi away
Carolina Guest House
Carolina Guest House
#27 of 121 in Cambridge
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guesthouse

Property: Acorn Guesthouse
Address: 154 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acorn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guesthouse Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing