We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Bridge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge Guest House
Ranked #95 of 124 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Good Location, Friendly welcome, Tasty Breakfast, Cosy Lounge and clean comfortable ensuite room which was basic but a good size. We had room 8 which was at the back of the hotel and as a result we had no disturbance from busy road at the front. We would have liked a second chair in our room and a few hooks or a shelf in the ensuite which could also have benefitted from having the pipes and boiler boxed in. At £75 for the night in what is an expensive city to find accommodation we felt we got what we paid for. We shall stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

I just had a 2 night stay and have to say it was comfortable enough and very clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. I had a single upstairs and the ensuite was a bit tight but to be fair it IS just a converted house so can't really complain - at least you don't have to share with anyone else. Breakfast was quite good. I think you get what you pay for. This place is decent enough for a couple night's stay. I'd go there again anyway.

Room Tip: call when booking - not all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloman542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The staff are not friendly or helpful and as they are foreign they have limited understanding of english. To be honest they really do not care about you! We stayed here as it was close to the train station but it is not close to the shops or town centre. I went here because it was my graduation and my husband and 12 year old daughter went also. The bedroom was very dark, filthy and very dated. There was little enough space for a double bed never mind a double and a single. The ensuite was so small and also filthy - the shower cubicle had been broken at one time and the owners had just brutally nailed it together with big clumsy nails. The door into the ensuite did not close and we had to put our suitcase to the door when one of us used the toilet or shower. The breakfast was minimal with little choice. We did notice that the table were all set straight away after breakfast so when you came down for your breakfast the next morning this delph and cutlery had remained on the tables overnight!! My cup was filthy one morning - it had the remains of someone else,s breakfast in it!! Our tv did not work and when we approached a staff member he tried to reset it and when that didnt work he just shook his shoulders and said"It must be the wind". The staff really do not care!! When checking out the manager did not even speak to us or make eye contact - he just wanted to get paid and get us out of there!! If you want a comfortable, enjoyable break away in Cambridge PLEASE, PLEASE take my advice and do not stay in this guest house. We are not a fussy family but when you pay £90 a night we do explect clean facilities, a good breakfast and helpful, friendly staff.

Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very out dated my god they beds were so old and noisy! The bathrooms were like a wardrobe and so needs a lick of paint. And very over priced the alarms were going off at 7 am! wouldnt stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fidelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We chose this guest house because it was near the Railway Station, but thought this and many other Cambridge Guest Houses seemed overpriced.
The cooked breakfast was acceptable, but with little choice. The family room was basic and dated, in need of a lick of paint. We were kept awake one night by a noisy neighbour playing loud music.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Cambridge is an expensive place to stay and The Bridge fitted into our budget, but to be honest if I had more time to plan I would have booked a cheapo-chain-hotel instead. The room was a reasonable size but the decor is seriously dated, and I doubt the furnishings were anything special even when new, the comfortable bed was let down by thin pillows. As a base for the town it did the job but I wont be in any hurry to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexMorvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

It's a bit thight everywhere. The bathroom is a converted wardrobe. And you can hardly walk around the bed. But all and all the place is ok. The staff is friendly and it's clean. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marijketje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
5.5 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
3.9 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rectory Farm
Rectory Farm
#1 of 3 in Coton
579 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Guest House

Address: 151 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 8RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing