We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place, Centrally Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A & B Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A & B Guest House
Ranked #32 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent Place, Centrally Located”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I thought this guesthouse was pretty good. The proprietor and her husband were helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage with them for part of the day that we checked out. The breakfasts were tasty and there was plenty of food available in the mornings. The only thing to be mindful of is that if you are a North American, you might want to spring for one of their larger rooms. The room that we were in was on the top floor and so the beams from the roof made the room feel quite small (see photos already uploaded). The bathroom was also very small. All in all, good value for money - if I had more, I would have opted for a larger room on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Opt for a bigger room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natedawgsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
26
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip, the location near the train station was good as I arrived by train and was happy to walk into town after doing my bags off. Staff were very friendly and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First time visited Cambridge and chose A&B Guest house to stay for 2 nights. First of all, very good location, just 5 minutes walking from the train station, which I found really comfortable when coming by train almost in the midnight. (Walking to the city center just 15 minutes)
Although I arrived pretty late, stuff was waiting for me to check- in, showed me the room and also gave the map of the city recommending best places to see. Big plus - reachable wifi connection, could check emails, use web.
Room was warm and welcoming. Everything clean and tidy, as I always pay attention for this, hate when for example the bathroom is not cleaned properly. Breakfast was very good, could choose between full English (which I also tried, as never done before), vegetarian or continental. Good coffee, tea with milk, juice, fruit salads, yogurt and flakes with milk. Everything was fresh and stuff was very kind and helpful. Very nice atmosphere.
Recommend to stay there, they are really a friendly guesthouse, signboard doesn`t tell lies. Price fits to the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A&B Guest house is very close to train station and only 10 minutes walking distance from town center. I came to Cambridge to learn English and stayed here for couple of weeks. I was happy with service and breakfast menu which offered fresh fruit salad and continental breakfast. The room size was fair for single room. I appreciate that the guest house is very quiet so it was easy for me to study. What I found strange is that reception is open only in the morning and evening, so there is nobody in the afternoon. But I would not call it a minus. Overall, I was happy and would recommend this guest house to anybody.

Room Tip: Nr2 for solo travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at this Guest House on many occasions, it is ideally located to the railway station and University. Each time I have visited the staff I see are always very helpful. Breakfast in the morning is always very good and the rooms are comfortable, clean and very welcoming. I would recommend this Guest House, I have never stayed in one as good. Please take my advice if you want to stay for a few nights in Cambridge this is the ideal place to stay, great location and always a good stay.

Anthony Bashford

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This B&B has an excellent position, near to the city centre (colleges and stuff) and very close to the railway station (literally 5 minutes on foot).
The full English breakfast is on overall good, I have a small complain on mushrooms which were a bit cold on mine breakfast but this is a minor thing. The continental buffet has a good selection, and I really appreciated that there was a good fruit salad. The last morning, I was leaving before breakfast and I received a packed breakfast (on request); two sandwiches, a yoghurt and a fruit. This was good.

The room was clean and nice with a bathroom, kettle (selection of teas + biscuits), and TV. Nothing to complain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degustatore00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We checked this B&B out on TripAdvisor before booking and reviews looked good. However, both of us were slightly disappointed for a supposedly 4* B&B - the room was small which can be fine but a double room that has no room for a wardrobe? Owners could be more creative on storage e.g. a few shelves so we could at least unpack. A shower shelf for soaps etc, something for towels (the notice about towels caused amusement e.g. 'if you want to keep them then put on towel rail'- the chance would be nice - not even room over the radiator for all so we had to ask for an exchange). The bed was badly made so instantly sheet came untucked. And clearly a plastic glass is only a first night bonus. Breakfast room was too small for amount of guests, very cramped and waiting girls couldn't really cope. Most guests were from abroad and we were a bit embarrassed as we get such good breakfast experiences in Europe. Must say on the plus side the girl on reception was lovely, good fruit salad, my partner said sausage and bacon was good quality, the room was very warm (on a very cold weekend) and very clean and clearly refurbished not that long ago; also despite being on main road room 1 was very quiet. It is not far off being good but a little more expense (not the cheapest bread, cereal, yoghurt, jam, biscuits etc) and sacrifice a room for a more human breakfast experience and would be much better.

Room Tip: Room 1 was small double but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia074, Manager at A & B Guest House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay however the room you stayed in, is bigger than the required size for a four star rating. We could of course put a wardrobe in the room but have opted for a small hanging area (7 - 8 hangers) with shelf which is usually sufficient for guests staying for one or two nights like you. All shower rooms now have a shelf in the shower and most have a towel rail in the bathroom. There were hooks beside the shower for you to hang the towels.
I must apologize as we did have staffing issues during your stay which have since been addressed. Tea, coffee, plastic glasses etc.. are replenished on daily basis when rooms are serviced and beds are normally well made. This was also a contributary factor to your breakfast experience, the breakfast room is normally perfectly adequate for the number of guests we accommodate. Unfortunately we had a member of staff working who did not have a sufficient command of the English language which meant she struggled to understand guest orders which delayed breakfasts and also delayed tables being reset which meant breakfast room was a bit chaotic. I am glad you enjoyed the freshly chopped fruit salad and appreciated the quality of the sausage and bacon and I would like to point out that we always buy good quality ingredients and certainly do not buy the cheapest brands of bread etc... as suggested. I am sorry I was away during your stay and you didn't experience the normal level of service we provide and hope you will give us an opportunity to accommodate you again if you are back in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Norwich Street Apartments - Peymans
0.0 mi away
YHA Cambridge
YHA Cambridge
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge City Tenison Towers
Cambridge City Tenison Towers
#37 of 122 in Cambridge
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A & B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & B Guest House

Property: A & B Guest House
Address: 124 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A & B Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, recently refurbished family run Guest House. We have 10 en-suite rooms with flatscreen TVs, free wifi access in rooms and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A & B Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a & b Guest House Hotel Cambridge
a And b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing