We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Amber Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber Lodge
Ranked #82 of 124 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having travelled for some hours we were weary and just wanted to rest. We had to wait ages for the door to be opened and were a bit put off to hear a small child and see a dog...we were asked how we were going to pay before we'd even seen our room, and I was a bit surprised to be asked what I wanted for breakfast the next morning - we hadn't had dinner yet!! The room was clean, quiet and comfortable in the way that your granny's house might be, although there was only one tea bag. The en suite was very cramped and the sink was too tiny to fill the kettle (it was also hard to clean my teeth as the shelf above prevented me getting near enough to rinse). Towels fluffy, no toiletries apart from one small bar of soap, no hairdryer. Breakfast adequate but not great. Sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandY96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

The bed sheets were stained on both beds, the cabinet was covered in dust. The breakfast consisted of 1 sausage(quorn), 1 bacon, half a tom, 2 mushrooms a spoonful of beans and a rubbery egg. The table cloth at breakfast was also stained. And the dog then came begging for scraps. Having paid nearly 70 pound for this room I was very disappointed. But the hostess was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileyguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Mary is lovely, and so is her little doggy and the B'fast assistance. Nice cooked breakfast and flexible service.
The rooms are really guesthouse-level, and we found them a bit overpriced for the size and the location (30 mins walk from the edge of the town centre, though with good city bus link). Beds/matresses are a bit too antique, and the bathroom is crammed with a few loose screws on the shower cabin too. However just enough comfort in the room, with free tea making too. Would recommend them only if places closer to town, with a better price/quality level, don't fit your wishes.

Room Tip: Back side has less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed 6 days at Amber Lodge and enjoyed our stay very much! The location (busses going frequently to the center) is excellent, the room very nice and quiet. You can choose your favourite breakfast and the time you want to have it! The breakfast is very nice and well-cooked! Mary is very kind, helpful and available for all kinds of questions. .Hence - despite the normal English weather (showers and showers) - we'll highly reccomend this B&B!

Bodil & Caterina

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed two nights at this bed and breakfast. Very warm and friendly welcome from the owner, and the breakfast was lovely. You can choose in advance what you want to eat and the time. I had a small room facing Newmarket Road, but it was very quiet. Free internet was really appreciated. There is some parking in the property (which is not easy to fit into), but plenty of parking right in the vicinity. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetravel061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vch34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westulysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
2.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
308 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rectory Farm
Rectory Farm
#1 of 3 in Coton
574 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Crown and Punchbowl
The Crown and Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Horningsea
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lodge

Address: 664 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing