We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #150 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch recently and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The steak and ale pie was excellent, the fish and chips and the burger were also to be recommended, but the one bad comment I have is that a glass of coke costs £3!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Southernsoftie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible waitress”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The atmosphere and food were fantastic a lovely little pub but don't expect a smile or any kind of politeness from the barlady/waitress the worst rudest member of staff I've ever met.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub with Friendly Landlords”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had Sunday roast recently, it was delicious, big portions with mash & roast potatoes & a lovely Yorkshire pudding! We will definitely be going back here. The staff were efficient & helpful & the Landlords very friendly. Try it...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good basic food with a good pint cozy pub two steaks for 20quid on a Wednesday plus other deals give it a go!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank REGCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised how good the food was!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Was here a couple of weeks ago. I've gone past this pub countless times, was always aware that they did Sunday lunch but have never really had any inclination to try it. However, we took the plunge and I'm so glad we did. A good atmosphere and generally friendly, efficient staff. The biggest surprise was the food! At less than a tenner a head my expectations weren't that high but I was pleasantly surprised. A good selection of dishes, and a more than acceptable roast, with a huge Yorkshire, plenty of fresh veg. and CRISPY, fluffy roast potatoes!! (Why other, 'posher' establishment can't do proper roast potatoes is beyond me!) Two minor niggles: a choice of cheese and biscuits would have been welcome and the wine glasses could do with a proper clean to remove the water marks. All in all, a most enjoyable (5 hour) lunch and I would certainly go back again. Midsummer House it is not, but at the current prices I can't see that you would have much to complain about. You could pay twice as much at other places and the food wouldn't be as good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonBonBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Histon, Cambridgeshire
Histon, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing