We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chris, Cheshire, Room 160 the best”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chris, Cheshire, Room 160 the best”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just returned back from Cambridge. Stayed in the Lensfield Hotel.
Excellent service. Rooms updated. Breakfast everything you need and very good service.
Excellent location for walking to River and colleges.
The Spa is a must to visit. I had one of the best 'Scrubs' ever with all the little things added.
If the car park full, they offer you parking permits to park on the nearby roads.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front noisy at night as the road is noisy. We upgraded room and it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F6130KCChristine_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    121
    95
    43
    25
See reviews for
43
108
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

* hotel very dated - stayed in 137 and it looked like it hadn't been decorated or updated since 1960s
* room 137 up a very steep and in my opinion dangerous flight of stairs - I hurt my shoulder on a bit of random wall that jutted out and husband hit his head on a low ceiling
* bathroom MINISCULE!
* plastic cups given in bathroom appeared used and dirty
* curtains not black out - room bright very early on.
* about 5 narrow parking spaces outside. Needed to be a gymnast to get out of my car once parked.
*breakfast only 7-9.30. most hotels seem to offer until 10am these days
* towels practically thread-bare
* thin walls - could hear cleaner hovering in nearby rooms very early.
Paid £110 for this delightful experience.
I understand from a friend who also stayed that her room over the newer part of the hotel was not as bad.

Room Tip: ask for a new room if you dare to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel room is comfortable and I loved its decoration. The hotel location could not be more perfect: it's close to almost famous attractions in Cambridge. I did not spend a pence with transportations. There are restaurants and pubs nearby as well. The breakfast is perfect! You will, definitely, enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World-Czn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Having stayed in several hotels and one very poor B&B in Cambridge, we stayed in the Lensfield for our son's graduation. We were met by a very friendly receptionist who smiled every time we entered or left the hotel. The beds were comfy and more importantly we had a room at the back (no view) but it was lovely and quiet. The best night's sleep we have had in Cambridge over the last 4 years!

The breakfast has lots of choice and a nice selection of fresh fruit. The sausages were very tasty.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolate179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Becoming regular visitors to this hotel which we now know counts for nothing. A mix up with rooms with no one accepting whose fault it was resulted in us been offered an upgrade for an additional £50 which then increased by another £20 whilst we were deciding!! Inflation!
We did not get the best room in the hotel with walls so thin we could hear next door brushing their teeth very early.
Decent breakfast and decent location but staff and management clearly not interested in any customer loyalty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a 3 star hotel and meets those standards. On a busy June weekend we paid £49 per person bed and breakfast, a lot less than most of the other 4 and 5* hotels in Central Cambridge(over £100) for the same weekend. Yes its quirky and dated with 1980's decor (satin and lace frilled toilet roll covers anyone?) and needs a bit of TLC but our room was very clean and the breakfast copious ,though not top quality, ie its carton orange juice not freshly squeezed - but adequate. The staff were friendly too and posted back the phone charger I left behind promptly without additional cost. As a base for a night (we had several functions to attend) it was fine. Also , for those people commenting about road noise, it is on one of the busy main thoroughfares in Cambridge - so very central and an easy stroll into town - its hard to be in a central location and quiet at the same time !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place. Comfortable and clean room with daily complimetary cookies. International breakfast with good quality food in a nice setting. Desk personnel kind and tolerant (we were there with a 2 y.o. boy always running around and attpting to every object).
To sum up I really recommend this hotel if you look for a nice and cheap hotel not far away from city center

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gianluigi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Property: The Lensfield
Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing