We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A less than average experience”
Review of The Lensfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lensfield
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Arrived in Cambridge excited for our two day trip, especially as the hotel was situated very close to Cambridge city centre. The room was rather small and pokey, the bathroom old and extremely narrow and tight and most importantly, the two twin beds had very soft mattreses that sunk in the middle and you could almost feel the springs when lying down. Breakfast was ok and the staff rather indiferent. On the positive side, location was good, free wifi was working well and there were 5 free parking spaces in front of the hotel which is a prvilege. Overall, our stay was 'A less than average experience'

Room Tip: Check the quality of the bed (s) and chose a rear room if you like quitness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanosSKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 396 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here twice in August 2013 & it's a charming hotel. Staff friendly & helpful, excellent breakfast & a nice little patio at the front to sit out, have a drink & watch the world go by. Limited parking but we always managed to get a space. Just a few minutes from the centre of Cambridge - an ideal base for exploration of this delightful city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasmi909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel is getting worse. Since our last visit I think they have invested all their time and effort in a new health spa - and let the hotel continue to slide down the slippery slop towards "unacceptable". EXTREMELY small rooms, slightly dirty (odd things scattered on the toilet floor), in a mid-50's style (but not in a nice way) - have you seen the spare toilet role held in a hand knitted cover recently?? As for the shower, well the shower head only came up to my chest, and given the space available it made washing my hair extremely challenging. As for the owners using the reception hall as their family front room - well you feel like an uninvited interloper. The breakfast remains OK - but that remains the last bastion of "acceptable in the hotel. We will be looking for a new hotel for our next stay in Cambridge,

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms - the small rooms are REALLY REALLY SMALL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

First the good points, the staff were all very pleasant, its offers free parking, is relatively reasonably priced for Cambridge, is well located, just 10 minutes from the centre and the bed was very comfortable. Downside is that the rooms are decorated in a very dated fashion and yes they had a knitted toilet roll cover in the bathroom - my mum would have loved it. Breakfast was fine, although it seemed odd that it was only available until 9am on a Sunday.Overall I'd probably stay again though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I booked two nights in this hotel because other (better) hotels were too expensive on those days. The first night I changed two rooms because of a loud noise coming from the above floors or roof. The night receptionists agreed that the noise was too loud and kindly helped me offering other rooms (in the end I was upgraded to a better room). They also gave me a full refund for the second night, as I left after the first night. Nobody seemed to know where the noise came from, so it is possible that that was just an isolated incident. However, because of this very bad experience, I will not go back to this hotel. The breakfast quality is quite low. The floors are also very squeaky, so that from your room you can hear people walking in the corridors as well as other rooms. My suggestion is to look for better and normally more expensive hotels, which, however, very often offer very good deals. That said, the reception staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: I tried three rooms and none was noise free, therefore I would not know what to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borto_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed in a single room which I found quite comfortable. The good location within strolling distance to eateries and shops, the good water pressure in the shower, and the comfortable bed will tempt me to stay there again. I was given a quiet room at the back of the hotel as requested, which made for a peaceful nice's sleep - however as there is no lift it would have been better not to have been on the top floor, as carrying luggage up and down the narrow staircase was difficult. Breakfast was adequate and the staff serving were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danusia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The age range of our group of ladies was from early 40s to well over 60s and we chose the Lensfield as it was within walking distance of the shops and evening eateries and reasonably priced. We had booked 2 twin and 1 single room and had asked that the rooms to be near to each other but were disappointed to find that the single room was on the other side of the hotel to the other two. Although the décor of the rooms was a little old fashioned they were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we found all the staff in the hotel very pleasant and helpful. We were lucky to be able to use one of the five parking spaces outside the hotel and this was a bonus for us. We will certainly stay at the Lensfield again next time we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensfield

Address: 53 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $137 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lensfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lensfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lensfield Hotel Cambridge
Lensfield Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing