We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst dining experience ever”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went for a family member's bithday and it was awful from start to finish. Firstly the card machine didn't work because of lack of signal. so we had to scrape round for cash to cover the expensive round of drinks. Then we were told that most of the choices on the starters and main menu weren't available. We then waited over an hour for our starters that we didn't really want, to arrive. We were then told that there was no rump steak, only Sirloin which surprise surprise was nearly ten pounds more expensive. Nearly another hour passed before the mains arrived.. This consisted of a small piece of steak and seven chips!!. Overall it took over three hours to complete the meal. Not the fault of the waiting staff who tried their best. An experience I would rather forget. Overpriced and overrated. Emailed the hotel but no reply.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank stripped1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARussell1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Stripped1,

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies. I have tried to call you yesterday and also sent an email response to your original email sent to us.Please do not hesitate to contact me as I would personally like to apologise if possible. Please find my email below that I have sent to you yesterday morning after investigating the poor experience you have received.

Dear Michael,

Firstly please accept our apologies for not responding to you straight away. My general manager is currently on an annual leave and as his deputy I am dealing with all his emails at the moment and I needed to investigate this matter with my Head Chef.

I am very sorry for the experience you had in Atrium restaurant and the incident with the card terminal loosing connection.

I was indeed aware of our menu change on Saturday, however was not informed of any stock shortages on Friday evening. I am currently dealing with our Head Chef, this is certainly something I will not accept to happen to you and any guests in the future. I was very sorry to learn that your visit to the Gonville hotel was so disappointing. This is certainly not our usual high standard.

We take pride in ensuring our customers satisfaction. Unfortunately, I realise that our restaurant and kitchen team did not meet your expectations on that Friday evening.

I value your feedback and apologise for this human error that has lead to providing you and your guests with very poor experience.

Because of this serious oversight, I would like to invite you to the Atrium restaurant again to have a complimentary dinner for four. You will be able to try our new menu and it will be our pleasure to provide your party with our usual high standard of customer service and dedication.

I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully welcoming you back to the Gonville soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to reserve your table or need any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna Russell
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Not sure about this experience. Nice location, comfy bed, adequate size room and nicely decorated. But...double room booked - configured as a twin - fixed quickly. Would have liked a meal (we did alert them to our later arrival) - so at 9.30 pm we were directed to the bar as the kitchen was very busy (walked through nearly empty restaurant to get to room!). So we went out to eat - not an issue as we know Cambridge but after a 2 hour journey all we really wanted to do was relax and not go out - not a problem overall. We were requested not to open the door in our room which led to the "garden" as this would set off the fire alarm...I say "garden" but it was actually the car park! Again, not a problem - we were only staying one night. Bathroom...well there I part company with my optimistic view. It is not nice to find the toilet used and unflushed and then to realise that the hair on the side of the bath was not from either my husband or myself and was of the type generally found in the nether regions...draw your own conclusions. The small matter of the room being cold (the heating has been turned off sir, my husband was told) and the air conditioning was too cold (we will put a fan heater in there sir). In all disappointing and the simple fact that I did not want to spoil my trip to Cambridge for my graduation prevented me from making a huge fuss at the time. It is not a place I would recommend without reservation.

Room Tip: Unless you are in need of a ground floor room request a first floor room although the room we were g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Ann0nym0use

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Firstly please accept my apologies for having to walk through the restaurant to get to your room.

Due to the refurbishment work we are carrying out on our normal reception area, we have had to relocate the reception to the restaurant, not ideal, however we have made it the best we can with what we have and I can assure you that once the refurbishment is complete it will really be stunning and worth the temporary inconvenience.

I’m sorry that you couldn’t open the fire doors in your room; (hence the alarm), these are not meant to open except for the event of an emergency and do not as you say lead to the garden but the car park.

We do have a strict housekeeping policy in place which involves a supervisor checking the rooms that have been cleaned before being released for sale.

This means that the standard is usually very high and something like the toilets and baths are checked twice, so I can’t understand how this would have happened.

With regards to the hair this may have been an oversight however not normally something we suffer with or would accept from our housekeeping department.

In any case we would have welcomed you telling us at the time so that we could have fixed this for you and turned it around into a positive, this we do not see as making a fuss and would have helped us find out what went wrong.

I hope that on return to Cambridge you will give us another chance and you will experience our usual high standard.

Kind regards
Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Booked for a last minute weekend in Cambridge. Good location, just 5 mins walk to town & restaurants.

- Friendly staff. Very natural.
- Good sized bedroom, great sleep
- Very clean throughout
- Refurbished bright dining room
- Good breakfast choice
- Strong, hot shower

All in all, a good mid-range choice, ideal for a one night stay.
A bit of traffic noise in the morning, but normal for a city break.

Room Tip: All front rooms overlook the car park, road and park. So a bit of light traffic noise in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoroughLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Yes this Hotel fitted our couple of nights stay perfectly. Booked it for the free parking and location to town and restaurants. Which all fitted the bill. Although the car park can only accommodate so many cars some people had lots of attempts to negotiate the spaces! There is work just started to complete a new reception area which was needed as I just had checked in before the builders had arrived it looked old and dated. The temp. one will probably need a make over as well soon, don,t be put off. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the rooms are a bit dark as the lightening is on a low voltage. Liked the turn back and the chockies nice touch. Good quality bed linen, rooms very clean. The dining area is nice and bright and liked the idea of being served your choice of breakfast. Staff efficient and always on hand. Nice cooked brekkie with lots of choice. I had this Hotel and the Hilton to choose from although the latter is more into town, had no probs with Great Westwern and car park and wi-fi free. Would reccomend.

Room Tip: Stayed at a rear room although no view very quite away from traffic at the front. A bit dark though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for walking round Cambridge and is very close to some excellent restaurants. Our room was very clean and recently refurbished. No complaints whatsoever. Would use it again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear SusieSam

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and everything was satisfactory with your recently refurbished bedroom. Our housekeeping team is very focused on the attention to detail because we understand how important it is for our guests to have a spotless clean room.

Following recent feedback we have also refurbished the Atrium Restaurant and are currently in the process of redoing reception, so I hope that on your next visit you will really be impressed.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for a long time. Lovely welcome at reception, chocolates in the room with a welcome letter. The initial room we were allocated was a little dark so we asked if we could move to another room. Nothing was too much trouble and we were able to choose from a selection of other available rooms. Fab breakfast to set you up for the day!
Location of the hotel wa ideal, looked out over Parkers Piece park and only a few minutes walk into the city.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Robert P

Thank you so much for your fantastic review this really made our day at the hotel, nothing gives us more pleasure than to know our guests have had an excellent stay with us.

We are always pushing to be the best in the business and are passionate about giving great service!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon for another great stay.

Kind regards

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel is located beside Parker's Piece which is a lovely park, and within walking distance of town central. However if you're arriving by train, a short taxi ride here is better than bag-drag over cobblestone--we learned from experience. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly, and the room was large and clean. Did not eat in the restaurant because so many other choices nearby.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MOB8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear MOB8312

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, your feedback is very much appreciated and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Next time your in Cambridge we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back and serve you again.

Remember great savings can be made when booking direct.

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $166 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing