We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel at the edge of Cambridge”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel at the edge of Cambridge”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We used this hotel for a two night weekend break to visit our daughter as it was well positioned half way between Homerton College and the centre of town overlooking Parker's Piece. Good car parking and a 15 min walk to town centre.

We had perhaps one of the better rooms - number 216 (2nd floor, large and at the front overlooking Parker's Piece green). A special treat we had not anticipated was the evening turn down bed service with chocolates on the bed. Other little extras included complimentary bottled water and three Green & Blacks miniature chocolates.

Very comfy beds, large TV with Freeview channels, tea & coffee making facilities and well equipped bathroom. Breakfast was well cooked to order and had all you could ask for in terms of cereals, pastries, fruit etc. We paid £13.95 for our daughter to eat with us one morning - good value compared to many good hotels. Very polite hotel staff at all times.

Were there any downsides, well a fridge would be nice to chill your own drinks, toilet paper was thin (single sheet) and the noise from the music channel on the TV in a neighbouring room could be heard (fairly loudly) on Sunday morning through the air conditioning system. They however are very small, minor points compared to what was a really lovely hotel and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: 216 - large at the front with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B-Billericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    596
    198
    46
    28
See reviews for
223
779
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is my third visit to the Gonville, though the first time I have gotten round to a review. It's a good hotel. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. Location is good, it's in a quiet location just by Parkers Piece and within walking distance of the centre, most colleges, the Fitzwilliam etc. car parking is available though the spaces are limited, if you arrive late you may have to use a pay car park next door. You won't need to car in Cambridge which is a bit awkward to drive round anyway, pay and display meters are staggeringly expensive. Breakfast is very good and is served in a sort of indoor conservatory, good range of hot and cold options. Same venue for evening meal, choice is limited but food is good. Have to say the staff are great, very friendly and very helpful, that's all staff from reception to Bar and Restaurant and cleaners. Bar is small and seats not very comfy but it's OK. In summer there is a small garden. As well as Cambridge itself you have several NT or English Heritage properties within a short journey (recommend Audley End). In summary, good hotel with nice staff in a handy location, will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location of the hotel and the décor layout was generally lovely as is usual with Best Westerns, however I should have know there was 'issues' with the Wi-fi after looking into the booklet in my room (215). Much as I tried I simply couldn't connect (which was important for mobile access to my work PC), there was also advice on changing settings with my Ipad (should I really be expected to do this?), despite my best efforts I still couldn't sort it. When I mentioned the issue to reception the staff were frankly clueless, the young girl behaved like she'd just walked off the street (into the wrong job) and her lack of enthusiasm was very disappointing. In addition to this there was severe traffic noise throughout the early hours (motorbikes zooming past etc.), I understand these are external factors out of the control of the hotel however a word of warning when booking on the website, would have been good. The Wi-Fi was fundamental to my stay (as well as a good night sleep) and having read some old reviews it appears that this is an ongoing issue that the hotel is doing nothing about. The duty manager that dealt with my complaint was completely lacking in care and people skills which is a complete no-no is the hotel industry. Looks like I'm back to the hotel Felix next time! One final thing..........the full English Breakfast was lovely but the portion sizes were tiny.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel will be quieter. (NOT near 215!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelabrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear mikelabrey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was sorry to see that you rated us so low.

I am pleased that I had the opportunity to speak with you on check out, and compensate you as I too felt the way in which your Wifi issue was initially handled was poor.

I can assure you that the correct steps have been implemented with the receptionist in question to ensure that this poor service is not repeated to you or any other valued guest.

As discussed at the time there wasn't an issue concerning our Wifi and I was pleased that you were able to connect one of your devices, however sorry that you could not connect your second device.

Being a City centre Hotel noise from the public and vehicles will always be a potential problem despite the Windows being Double glazed and our set back from the road location. Nevertheless I was sorry to learn of your disturbed night.

Again please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Cambridge and this for us is by far the best.

The hotel was easy to find, check-in was quick and our room was a good size with everything you would want.
Breakfast was very good, there was a buffet area and then you could order the hot meal of your choice.

All the staff were very pleasant and nothing too much trouble.

We got this 2 night stay at a very good price in comparison to the cost of the other Cambridge hotels.

This will now be our first choice when visiting Cambridge.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crosseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Crosseys

We are delighted that you gave us a 5 star review - thank you very much!

It was pleasing to see that you had a great stay with us, we hope it won’t be too long until the next one, perhaps for a spot of Christmas shopping!?

Thank you again

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I booked to stay at this Hotel 8 weeks in advance. On arrival I was directed to a room ( 210 ) which had not a single shelf or cupboard for clothes. I explained that I have been staying in hotels for 60 years & had never experienced anything like that. True I was given a different room but how can anyone cope with the first offer unless at a discount price ?

Room Tip: Ask what facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walesp291035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear PEH

I was sorry to see that you rated us so low especially when we were able to provide you with a more suitable room when you told us about your concern.

I agree that our stylish and contemporary storage solution in some of our rooms is not to everyone’s taste.

This is something we are currently looking at rectifying with the addition of more wardrobes, so soon this should no longer be a problem.

I hope that this did not spoil the rest of your stay and that you found our fantastic location, friendly efficient staff, free parking and high speed wifi to name a few, to be a benefit and of great value.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on my business trips in the past but for some reason the company placed me at a different hotel in the last three or four years. Last year at this particular hotel it was my worst experiebce about almost everything so I complained to the company very bitterly and lo, I was at Gonville Hotel this October. What a surprise! The most welcoming reception staff with smiling faces. The place looked absolutely fabulous. with a very nice quiet room on the first floor with very comfortable bed, very nice clean shower room with plenty of hot water and good central heating system. The bar and restaurant service was excellent. The sitting area in the restaurant is quite big and the tables with very clean table cloths are placed at good distance from each other. There was enough choice on the restaurant menu both for breakfast with freshly cooked to order and severed with a smile and the same can be said about dinner. I highly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Cambridge.

Room Tip: Most rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pannalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Pannalal

Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5 star review, we were delighted to see that you had a great experience during your recent visit.

We have achieved and improved many things in the last 2-3 years, mainly completing our fabulous bedroom refurbishment and getting 4 star status.

Ensuring our guests have an excellent experience is at the heart of what we do, we don’t always get it right, However we do use guest feedback to ensure we learn from it and improve where necessary.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon; I would be very happy to speak with your company about arranging special rates, if this is of interest to you.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing