We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service and staff but overpriced.”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good location, service and staff but overpriced.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good location, service and staff but £195 is too high for a basic bedroom, albeit recently refurbished, without bath/cupboards/shelves or accessible safe. We had to crawl on the floor to read the keys and operate the safe. No doubt this is why we found a wallet, cash and visa card (which we returned to reception!) left in the back of the safe by a previous visitor, probably with arthritic knees and short arms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and honesty with regards to handing in the wallet you found, the previous guest was thankful to get this back.

I’m sorry you found the rate to be high; we do monitor ourselves with other properties in central Cambridge and set our rates competitively, the best option to make great savings is to book direct.

Being one of the only hotels left not to charge our valued guests for parking, Wifi, or even bottled mineral water in the rooms this does make great value.

If we had known at the time that your room was not suitable we may have been able to move you to one with a bath and storage space to ensure you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    607
    199
    46
    28
See reviews for
228
792
93
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recently stayed here for a work meeting. The hotel is in a great location with car parking in Cambridge. The rooms are really spacious and have a good hairdryer in front of the mirror so you can sit down and dry your hair. The hotel looks to have been refurbished recently and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The breakfast was really nice and plentiful. The only downfall was that the bedroom was too hot and the air con didn't seem to be cooling the room down at all and the window wouldn't stay open.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rummy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was very impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.As a single person I'm used to being fobbed off with the smallest of bedrooms but this one was clean and spacious and I was very comfortable. The food was good, especially the breakfast, but as I am allergic to cheese my choice of dinner dishes was very limited

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A return visit to this centrally located hotel, 10 mins walk into centre of Cambridge. Pre booked and allocated one of the new access able rooms, great ,loads of room for my wife to move around in her wheelchair, nice big walk in shower room, only negative was the toilet seat was abit low and a shelve for toiletries would be nice, bar that the room was spot on. Our dog was also made very welcomed. Following morning enjoyed breakfast with plenty of choices. Once again made very welcomed by all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieP821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we were really pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us again, and found the new access able rooms to be of great quality and size, we will see what improvements can be made following your suggestions.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just spent 2 days there. They claim to have a free WiFi - but it does not work. The staff don't know anything and don't care. They have put a sign up in Reception saying they apologise. But this is simply not good enough. If you book into a hotel because you need access to WiFi then this is no use.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt we didn’t care; I can assure you that this was not the case and every effort was made to get our internet supplier to fix the problem we experienced as soon as possible.

However as it was one of their main servers that failed, which we later found out affected all of their clients in East Anglia, you can understand that this was out of our control.

I am pleased to say that they managed to get a temporary service in place quickly and then later it was restored to the usual high speed.

They have taken on board our concerns because we understand Wifi is very important to our guests and as rare as this problem was, we have been assured they have taken precautions to prevent this from happening again.

I am sorry that you felt you were not able to raise your disappointment at the time; we may have been able to explain this better and the opportunity to turn this around for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed last weekend whilst visiting my son and enjoyed good food and hospitality that are the hallmarks of the Gonville.
What I had not realised on my previous visits was that the rooms differ in size. This time I was here on my own, so the very small double room and bathroom was not a real problem. If sharing, I would ask for a larger room. On this visit my room overlooked Parkers Piece. A pleasant change from the unavoidable views from rooms to the rear of the hotel. A slight disadvantage was traffic noise and sirens.
We were delighted to discover the 'secret garden' hidden away at the side of the hotel and were able to enjoy a quiet and relaxing lunch in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Enjoyed a very nice and comfortable stay here in May 2013. We asked for a double wet room facing Parker's Piece and that's exactly what we got. The bed was very comfortable and got a great night's sleep. We didn't eat there but the menu looked very delicious. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing