We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western is Best in town”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western is Best in town”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having stayed at many hotels over the years I have to say my experience at the Gonville Hotel in Cambridge was unsurpassed. The room itself was newly refurbished, very comfortable and quiet. The staff were very helpful and it seemed nothing would have been too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order.
Thanks for a great stay, I'm definitely going to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback,

I was really pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found the newly refurbished rooms to be comfortable and quiet.

Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of our team as we are always encouraging them to give excellent service and provide a great breakfast!

Nothing pleases us more than having our guests leave happy!

I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again and please do tell your friends we would love to welcome them also for a great stay!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    624
    209
    48
    30
See reviews for
241
825
96
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed on weekend stay break which was really good value. Lovely comfortable room and the shower was great, really powerful. This hotel is in a great location for visiting Camrbidge. Breakfast was very nice and cooked to order. Dinner in the restaurant was also really good Would recommend this hotel and would stay again on next visit to Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback,

I was really pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us and found us to be great value with a great location! It certainly isn’t far to walk to all the main shopping areas and fantastic colleges!

Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to our New Head Chef Nick with regards to the good food you had here, he is certainly making the improvements in this area we have been looking for and I am pleased that we are delivering this consistently.

Please do recommend us and I hope to meet you on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was staying on business with DBB paid by my company. If you want some vegetables with your meat, you have to pay an extra £2.95, not included in the DBB rate. And if you want room service, you have to pay an extra £15 which is also not covered under the DBB rate. Ridiculous!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COgston1, Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I was sorry to learn that you felt our Dinner Bed & Breakfast rate was not good value.

Our Head Chef Nick and his team have spent a lot of time creating the menus to ensure that each dish is well balanced and accompanied with the relevant vegetables to complete the dish. However any additional vegetables are charged at £2.95.

With regards to the room service charge, we do apply a small tray charge of £5 (not £15), for all orders under £7.50.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you again and turn this around for you into a positive.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I started living in Gonville during my work related trips to Cambridge from starting of this year. The services of this hotel is excellent and the best place for a city living.
Very good maintained rooms, clean and well maintained for a week long stay.
Excellent staff, very welcoming and friendly.
The food is of very good standard and the breakfast served is upto mark for a refreshing start for a tiring day.
This place is now my preferred place as and when Cambridge calls me in for work, and will be always my first choice in Cambridge.

Room Tip: Look for front facing rooms, facing Parker's piece
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have used the Gonville regularly over the past 10 years and always found it to be clean and comfortable with good friendly helpful staff. The food has always been of a good high standard.
Its central location makes it an ideal place to stay when visiting Cambridge be it on business or pleasure. I am aware that the hotel has recently further upgraded its bedrooms recently so I am looking forward to my next visit. Highly recommended. PA/LL

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

An excellent stay. Recently refurbished room was smart & clean with a well-functioning wet room area. If anything the storage / hanging areas were a little limited & rather open & exposed.

This was a genuinely dog-friendly hotel with a good quality room provided. Its position opposite a 25 acre public green space (Parkers Piece) was ideal for dog walking as well as being only a short walk to the city centre.

The staff were helpful, charming & informative but possibly the biggest surprise was the excellence of the food available in the restaurant. We have tasted vastly worse in so-called dedicated 'posh' restaiurants.

In summary our stay was a lovely surprise & we would not consider looking elsewhere for any future visit to Cambridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKETTYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent and highly recommended for 'no frills' accommodation. Stayed six nights, really enjoyable. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Twin room, spacious and comfortable. Shower over bath (advised it was bath only before arrival) was brilliant. Free wifi useful. Breakfast good standard each day, plenty of everything. Newspaper at Reception each morning a bit of a pain as it tended to be busy with people checking out; separating this service somehow would be better. Building work at the Hotel was well publicised and was not intrusive during our stay. The car parking facility, position and convenience for town unsurpassed. We hope to go again.

Room Tip: Twin bedded room very flexible and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Property: The Gonville Hotel
Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing