We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style + value”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Gonville Hotel while on business. Pleasantly surprised at just how nice it was given a room rate of £125 - Cambridge is not cheap.

My room looked recently refurbed, with stylish decor and furnishings, very comfy kingsize bed, chic wet room shower (glass door yes, but translucent), nice swivel chair at desk and armchair. And proper functioning aircom.

Breakfast was £10 if booked in advance and was excellent in choice and quality,taken in the rather nice atrium. Did not eat dinner there. Nice helpful staff throughout.

Plenty of free parking if you drive, not too far from station or city centre if on foot.

Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice room of ok size. Parking easy, close enough walk to the colleges in town. Breakfast was lovely. Glass door to the bathroom was a little odd. I wouldn't recommend sharing a room with anyone other than close family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby-shmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hi all,

Would like to say that the hotel was wonderful. Staff are very friendly and if you are looking for somewhere close to all the life of Cambridge this is a great location.

I would say it is about 10-15 minutes walk to the center of town which is not far at all.

Hotel review:

Arrived Friday night and checked in very fast and was surprised at the size of the room. Breakfast was lovely. In fact me and the Mrs had continental and then the full English ( I know ha-ha).

Had a fab time and would recommend it to anyone going for a romantic weekend etc. Really was a quiet hotel though in the evening. Had hoped it maybe a little busier but at the same time have little to moan about.

Over I would say it is a 4 star hotel. Great deals can be had here. 2 nights - Champagne and chocolates - Dinner on the Friday all in £244.

You cannot beat that can ya !

Put this in your top 3 of Cambridge if you are looking to book now :-)

Gavin Simpson (London) (BEDS ARE AMAZING HERE)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will hear traffic. But we was up all night anyway (Wink wink) Great place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Conveniently sited for the town centre and with a free car park - a major advantage in the centre of Cambridge! Reception was polite and efficient. The room was comfortable and had adequate hanging space in a wardrobe, with drawers and shelves for other clothing. Bed was comfortable and with a good selection of pillows. The only minor down side was a bright l.e.d. in the ceiling - apparently an indication that the fire alarm is working. This is on all the time and over the bed in some rooms we have used and can be a distraction if awoken during the night. We found the air confitioning difficult to operate to maintain a comfortable temperature without draught or fan noise. The staff were very helpful, and the choice for the continental breakfast was excellent. Cooked breakfast is to order and was well cooked and presented.
A comfortable hotel with helpful staff, we will return.

Room Tip: It is cheaper to book bed and breakfast that to book a room and breakfast separately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A good place to stay in Cambridge, close to the center. However, for the price you pay for a room, paying an extra 14 GBP for the breakfast sounds like a rip off. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but the floors are a bit squeaky and you can hear, sometimes, neighbors from upper floors walking around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very close to the city centre and an easy walk to the shops and other attractions. it has the benefit of a free car park at the front which is a bonus in Cambridge. My room had been recently renovated, but was a little small for a hotel of this quality. it had no wardrobe, only a rail in the corridor and the heating system did not work well, apparently it only comes on when you insert the key card except when the temperature drops below 14 C so you come back to a chilly room each time, not all all inviting. Service could have been better, a long wait to check in, with the lady at the check in desk not even acknowledging my presence. coupled with a heating system that didn't work at all on the first night not a great experience as I spent a lot of time getting things sorted out. The manager was helpful and offered to credit my bill, I got a credit of 5.00, for the trouble I experienced, I found this insulting. The hotel is expensive and there are better value hotels in the area

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to tell you that all the hotel has now been refurbished and is totally different now from when you last stayed.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,

Kind regards,

Christopher Ogston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times over the past 2 years as well as other hotels in the area and The Gonville comes out tops for a short stay in Cambridge. It is well positioned within walking distance of the town centre, or a short taxi ride away if you have lots of shopping to carry! There is a free car park which is a big bonus and a park across the road. All the staff i have met have been polite,efficient and helpful. Public areas are clean and tidy. Breakfast is excellent with a great choice on the buffet, and cooked food to order; coffee is great. My only small complaint is the hanging space in the bedroom; hangers on a rail instead of cupboard space. If you need a bath rather than a shower, you need to make a request. Quiet at night unlike some of the other hotels. Highly recommended by our 2 small dogs too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamburlaine
Tamburlaine
#4 of 37 in Cambridge
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $161 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing