We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay at this friendly hotel”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel and staff never disappoint...I am always made to feel welcome by pleasant, professional staff who, whilst attentive, are not at all intrusive. The rooms have been updated over the time I have been a guest (some years now) and are always very clean and comfortable with a restful decor, I particularly applaud the installation of the new 'wet-room' facility, so easy to access and operate. Room service is efficiently organised for people like myself who often need to work through the evenings and are not always able to take advantage of the restaurant facilities. Reception and room service staff are very accomodating as are the restaurant staff and parking facilities are excellent. As a result, I always look forward to my business trips to Cambridge.

Room Tip: Book early, if possible, and take advantage of offers which include upgraded rooms. First floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was there for one nigh.
Hotel has a good location. Staff very friendly, helpful and professional.
Overal atmosphere a bit dark and old, but very good breakfast.
Night was not ideal, due to continuous noise of dripping water, and very shallow and hard bead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cracking Hotel located 5 minutes walk from the shops, pubs and colleges.
Hotel rooms very nice comfy beds and great wet rooms. Rooms on the front of the hotel offer great views of parklands. Breakfast offered a variety of continental and grilled with other A la Carte Dishes available(extra charge).
Grilled breakfast was tasty although broken shell was found in the scrambled egg and the staff were eager to clean up after you before the entire table had finished eating. All staff were approachable and friendly and helped out where possible seen as it was our first visit to Cambridge. Good Value hotel comes with free parking which is a bonus in such an anti car town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Front face of the Hotel offer the Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every time we come to Cambridge, this is the hotel we stay at. Have stayed at others but this is our favourite. It has just been refurbished even though it looked nice before anyway - not too sure about the 'dark corridor' décor. The staff are friendly and professional, and the place has a nice atmosphere. Location wise and the fact that you can park (free) are very good reasons for staying here. A couple of things that are not so good - the heating system. The controls suggest all you do is switch on the fan and adjust the dial for temperature. It did work that way once, but the other times it just blew cold air. Something strange to do with the thermostat... (This was rectified by use of a standalone heater supplied by the staff, so was fine)The other thing is the breakfasts - they have improved the way it works now but to have a bit of salmon with scrambled eggs will cost you an extra £4.95 - a bit over priced. Can't see many going for the 'extras' for that price. The breakfast you get as part of staying there is good.

Room Tip: Go for a room that is not facing the front as you have a busy road there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPLimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really convenient location. My course was at the swimming pool a few doors away, and walking to get food, dinner, the cinema etc was really easy - even as a woman alone.

Free parking was very helpful.
Rooms were good size, with massive walk in wardrobe, a desk & good bed. No bath (just shower) was a bit of a shame for me.
Breakfast was really excellent and very reasonable for hotel guests. Staff polite and working hard.
A few bizarre problems, like never getting the newspapers ordered, a lot of hassel to try to borrow a knife, but really life is too short to worry about this small stuff.
There isn't a gym, spa or pool, but you can find all 3 within about 100m walk at very reasonable rates.
In general really good.

Room Tip: No view at all out of my 1st floor internal facing room. True that the aircon was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is well-located and the staff at reception was very informative and helpful. Our room was clean and quiet, and the food at breakfast was average but plentiful. The hotel has a free car park, which is quite advantageous. The only complaint we had was the wi-fi situation. In order to use it, we had to enter very long passwords repeatedly. We have traveled extensively and have never encountered such cumbersome wi-fi requirements.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliPalosVerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights Sat and Sun, having tickets for a concert at The Corn Exchange. We came by train - the hotel is 15 mins walk from the station and 15 mins to the Corn Exchange. Perfect location for shops, restaurants etc. The hotel also has a car park. Our room was on the 1st floor at the back, excellent black out curtains, I slept really well, didn't hear a thing both nights which is a big bonus in a city centre. Comfortable bed and I liked the walk in shower. Good varied breakfast, staff helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.
Only negative - the wifi connection only lasts for 1 day before needing to enter a new complex password and user name, not sure why this is so much more complicated than other hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmelieBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 37 in Cambridge
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $161 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing