We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air Conditioning needed on 3rd Floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We went as a last minute getaway to the Hilton and were very pleased when we first arrived. However after being out in the hot sun all day and coming back to our room we were very upset to see how hot the room had become. We were told by reception that the air cooling system was not working on the 3rd floor and there were no more portable fans available. The hotel was fully booked therefore we could not be moved. I then experienced a very poor nights sleep due to the fact we had to have the window wide open which meant we were unable to shut the curtains and as we were on the 3rd floor by the air conditioning units I had to listen to them all night. At around 4 am when the sun started coming up I then had to somehow keep the window open whilst shutting the curtains to get some sleep. All in all a bad nights sleep. Followed by a poor shower the next morning as there was no pressure to it. Staff were helpful in offering us some free drinks and water for the room (fridge was very slow at cooling the drinks down) but for the price we paid it was a poor experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife an I returned to Cambridge ,my alma Mater, for a three day visit in mid Junevand opted to stay at this beautifully sited hotel on the River Cam near the classic Colleges. It used to be called the Garden House and in fact it is referred to that by 100% of people in Cambridge but thanks to Hilton marketers has been rebranded under a chain name. It is very successful with a 93% occupancy according to a hotel executive. However, it's success as a conference hotel comes at the expense of atmosphere and service. The front desk hardly has one english person working and few or any of them, other than the concierge, seem to know much about the city. The breakfast room is gorgeous but the breakfast isn't. The rooms are fairly well designed but didn't have an electrical outlet anywhere near the bed! No bellhops to help with luggage and a very pricey rate meant poor value for money for the tourist, even out of peak season. To add another negative, to use their business centre computer, they charge 3.75 GB pounds for each 15 minutes in a stuffy hot little room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandNMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I really liked this hotel, the room was a reasonable size and I was on the side facing the river, although a couple of times I was woken up by urchins at 2 or 3am trying to steal some boats or some other mischief. The location is great and it was nice to have a walk at 7am before going to work, when the city was just waking up and wasn't packed with tourists and language students clogging the streets. I never tried the restaurant but there were several cheap places within 1 mins walk of the hotel door, one indian place in particular did a full meal for 7pounds that was quite delicious.
As others noted the parking charge is a bit outrageous (currently 17.50 per day), driving in and out is somewhat tricky due to the very narrow street and the one way system means that most of the time you must drive in via one particular route, there is another road that gets to the hotel but it has a tidal flow system,which makes the GPS choose that route but for half the day you cannot drive along that street - something you don't find out until you are just before the gate blocking the traffic.
I had no trouble with the curtains like some others wrote - there were the decorative curtains at the side but also a wide blackout curtain that cut out all light.
The floors and walls were thin in a typical english way so I could clearly hear the neighbors and those above.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the cleaners always wished me a good morning and were cheerful.
The price was quite high - even with our corporate discount. I could have stayed for half the price in the countryside but it was worth it to stay right in the centre of cambridge

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

we stayed in the hotel for a weekend birthday treat and felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. The room was spacious, beds very comfortable and clean. The food and service in the restaurant was outstanding, fantastic menu choice, we highly recommend eating there. All in all an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownandBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a nice Hotel in a great location. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the River Cam. The room was not the largest but it was comfortable and had all we needed. There is a fridge so we took our own Champagne and enjoyed sipping it on the balcony and watching the world go by on the river. The hotel is just metres from the boat hire and is near lots of pubs and restaurants. It has a lovely riverside garden where you can enjoy a relaxing drink. The leisure facilities looked ok. Nothing special and we did not find the time to use them. It was quite expensive to stay but it really is in the best location in Cambridge so for that reason was worth it.
Cambridge is lovely for a weekend break. It is farly compact and has lovely buildings, great history, walking tours (which I would highly recommend), decent shops, every kind of dining preference and some really interesting old pubs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny.M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed here last weekend with my wife expecting an experience and taste of luxury given the hotels high rating on tripadvisor. It was impossible to turn the light off in the musty bedroom as the switch was stuck. We had to resort to taking the key card out of the electric switch. We had a terrace which we thought was a benefit until we saw the appaling state of it. Rubbish that had clearly been there for some time. Ther was no way you could sit in comfort on this terrace.

The worst aspect of the room was the fact that the curtains covered barely any of the window. Whilst it's nice to be welcomed by sunshine in the morning, 4 pm is a tad early on a Sunday. Why did I ever believe that a Hilton hotel could deliver on it's promise?
Bt the way they charge £17 for car parking!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sparklecitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We booked a day in advance via the internet. The deal was good. We arrived early (1pm) but were able to access our room. The car park ( although expensive) in the city centre had the facility to come and go with the residents ticket. The view from the room was he River and the punts. Couldn't be better placed and had all facilities we needed.
Sleep quality must be good ,we didnt wake up till after 9am!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $227 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing