We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, stylish rooms, good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The hotel has a lovely riverside central location.The lobby and rooms are stylish and comfortable. I enjoyed using the gym and pool next door.

The rate was 130 pounds a night. As we stayed on a Sunday night this rate included breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was good, but the dinner was quite average - oily and bland. As some free options (salmon) were not available I had to pay a small amount to upgrade to another fish dish. it was still a good deal but ended up costing ten pounds by the time we upgraded. we felt we probably could have spent five pounds more and had dinner at pizza express and enjoyed the meal more.

Despite the disappointing dinner, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. The service, location and rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mljstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,113 - 2,119 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel boasts a terrific location and comfortable, well-lighted rooms. But the quality of the service does not measure up. A desk lamp and clock radio did not work. A request for a residential telephone directory -- something that used to be in every hotel room -- at the concierge desk produced a yellow pages, a computer keyboard, and then a shrug. Breakfast eggs were consistently cold. Requested newspaper was delivered only two of the four days I stayed. My attempt to recover a left-behind mobile phone and cable led me down a hopeless road of fruitless dialogue with clueless housekeeping staff, by telephone across the Atlantic. A band played loudly until midnight (at least it stopped then). My experience with the direct competitor Crowne Plaza hasn't been much better, so a frequent visitor to Cambridge simply learns to live with these shortcomings.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank Hentyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

New job, new locations. Had an overnight stay in Cambridge and elected to stay in the Doubletree. Easily one of the better hotels I’ve stayed in the UK, although with the £144 a night price tag, one would expect a room commensurate with the room rate. Clean, spacious rooms and if fortunate, a view of the River Cam.

A few gripes. The rooms aren’t particularly well soundproofed and noise does filter through from adjacent rooms. Not sure what happened to the contents of the mini-bar as it was only stocked with two bottles of water. Presumably the hotel management don’t wish tired business men to drink themselves into a stupor during their stay.

My room rate included dinner but I was surprised to find that nearly all the menu options included an additional supplement, so perhaps not quite the bargain one was expecting. This said, the evening meal was of a very high standard and the breakfast buffet was equally good.

The service from staff was reasonable. Ventured out for a gander around Cambridge on the evening of my stay and ended up rather damp in a flash rainstorm. My request to Housekeeping to have my one set of casual clothes placed into a tumble drier was met with ‘they will dry in the room’. Quite.

Anyway, the million dollar question, would ‘I stay again?’ Yes, I would. I think the hotel, along with the ambience of Cambridge, would be ideal for a romantic weekend with a ‘honey-pot’, so it would get my vote.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed here for a night on a weekend sightseeing trip. It is a beautiful location right on the river with views over meadows and at the same time very close to the town centre and the main attractions. The hotel has been recently rennovated so it all looks new and quite smart (though personally I don't like the purple and deep green velour fabrics and the textured wallpaper which is the current fashion and I don't think the look will age well.) The bedrooms are newly decorated , have new bathrooms and are well equiped with kettle, iron, hairdrier etc. I like the fact the minibars are empty as you are free to put supermarket drinks in rather than pay hotel prices.

The reception staff were very professional, the room was not ready when we arrived so so gave us a complementary drink in the bar and then changed our room so we could get in. £15 per day extra for the car park which is quite expensive but I guess parking is at a premium in Cambridge. Broadband access would have been nearly as expensive too.

One downside was the queue for a breakfast table and the cafeteria style service, but the food was Ok and the coffee was good.

We paid a discounted internet rate for the weekend, I would certainly recommend it and visit again but I would not want to pay the full price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed in this hotel with some family and have done so over the past few years. Since its refurbishment into a doubletree hotel it has become rather stylish though the prices reflect its location and elevated reputation.

The rroms are nice and everything is satisfactory - it even sits in a pretty location, however after staying here i stayed in the University arms hotel and was made very much aware of what character, style and value is.

This really is an inoffensive pretty place to stay but it is rather plain and lacks any real depth of personality.

If you can stay here for less than £100 do so - it's good value, but at the standard rates it's way too dear. There are other, better options around.

However it does have a lovely swimming pool/jaccuzzi area and fitness suite.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevvybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Located on the Banks of the River Cam this hotel really gives a sense of the destination. It is a modern hotel with spacious public areas inside and outside ,located in the heart of Cambridge a short walk to all that the City has to offer. Rooms are modern well laid with flat screen LCD TV's,safe,and the bathroom amenities are good. My room had the added advantage of a balcony overlooking the river.

As always the internet at £15.00 for 24 hours is an aggravation and the car parking at £15.00 for overnight was a suprise.

I found the employees to be all very helpful and willing to please , my only criticism of the Hotel would be that it could be cleaner, I stayed at a weekend and felt that the Hotel public areas were grubby.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would not look to stay anywhere else in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Lovely hotel with friendly staff who were professional all the time whilst still being friendly and helpful. Location is brilliant, it was our first visit to Cambridge and the location made it easy to get to all the main attractions. Would definitely go back and definitely stay in same hotel. Rooms and hotel areas were lovely - clean, well maintained, beautifully decorated; but then it is newly refurbished so they should be. Pool and leisure areas were not quite as good as rest of the hotel - i would guess they haven't been completely refurbished to doubletree standard. Having said that they are still good - clean, well maintained and well staffed.
It is expensive, do I think it's worth the extra? Probably if you aren't on a budget.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RP247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,945 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 37 in Cambridge
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $194 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre is a four star hotel with the best views in Cambridge. We are surrounded by the beautiful River Cam yet only minutes from the city centre. The 138 en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Seven air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing