We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$140
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
$175
$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,343)
Filter reviews
2,343 results
Traveler rating
742
868
418
202
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
868
418
202
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverwarm cookiesa river view roomdouble treegarden housecar parksmall balconyper dayafternoon teaexcellent locationmini barlovely hotelroom ratecity centrelovely roombreakfast was excellentcam
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,367 - 1,372 of 2,343 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Good standard but comparatively expensive, although not out of line with other hotels in Cambridge of similar standard, especially with the added cost of GBP 15 per day for internet. Room was comfortable enough and staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank williamf833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear williamf833
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Front Desk people were great! Wife disabled so had to manage stairs when lifts broke. Tried staff lift but this meant she had to walk the length of the hotel upstairs as well as downstairs (our room being close to broken lift). Everything fine but for this which, for her spoiled the visit - what a pity!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Myra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Myra E
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are so very sorry for the inconvenience that was for you and especially your wife the lack of working lifts during your stay, I can completely understand that this may have spoiled your visit for which I offer our most sincere apology. This was an unpredictable failure of two out of three of our lifts that unfortunately took the technician two days to rectify despite our best efforts to have this shorted as soon as possible for our guests. I can only hope that this will not deterred your from returning to the hotel and fully enjoy our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This expensive **** hotel promises a lot more than it delivers. "Take advantage of complimentary internet access in the business center [sic]" -- the centre comprises a tiny room with two chairs at two computer terminals and nothing more (and the only browser installed is Internet Explorer!). To use your own tablet or laptop for internet access in the "business center" (or anywhere else in the hotel, including your bedroom) costs an exorbitant £15 for 24 hours, humorously described on the hotel's website as "a small fee". To call this a business center, or centre, risks running foul of the Trade Descriptions Act. To pay more than £200 a night for many of the rooms and find there's no free wi-fi comes as a nasty shock. Park in the car park -- and pay more than £18 a night. For half of our four nights neither of the two lifts worked and for the other half only one did, and it's a long walk to the shabby service lift at the back. Other reviews indicate that ours was no isolated experience, either. At a four-star hotel charging over £200 a night -- almost £300 in some cases -- one exects a hot breakfast (£18 a head) to be cooked to order: not so here -- eggs, fried long before, slowly congeal in their own fat on a not-very-hot plate, cafeteria-style (the sausages are good, admittedly, but why no Flora low-fat margarine as an alternative to hard unspreadable butter?). If you remove a small bottle of 'spring water' from the miniature refrigerator in your bedroom to make room for the milk carton you've bought for your coffee, a charge of £2.75 +a day+ is automatically added to your bill every single day until you put it back, although when you come to pay the bill such charges are readily removed when you swear you've consumed nothing from the 'minibar' (it's a vending machine for the benefit of Hilton shareholders and executives, not a fridge for the benefit of the guests, it seems). The indoor swimming pool ("visit the hotel’s peaceful LivingWell Health Club for a refreshing swim in the indoor pool") is barely any bigger than the "business center": more than two others in the water and no-one has room to swim. Some rooms are extremely noisy if there's a late-night party in a downstairs function room. The steel handle on our window was hanging off. The small radio/alarm-clock was almost 10 minutes fast and the time can only be re-set by the hotel's electrician, not by the guest ("we can't have the guests all setting their own times...."). And a four-star hotel as expensive as this one surely ought to manage more than one tiny tablet of soap to be transferred from bath to basin and back (there are the usual tubes of shampoo, admittedly).

On the positive side, the staff are friendly and as helpful as their predicament allows them to be. The location, right on the river and a few minutes' walk from the cluster of principal colleges, is superb. Cambridge alumni and alumnae can use the excellent University Centre, about 15 metres from the hotel, and there can enjoy free wi-fi, good food at bargain prices and comfortable lounges. The hotel food is good but expensive and chaotically served (we took advantage of a discount for eating only from the prix fixe menu on which plaice was one of the few main courses, only to be told after ordering it that the plaice was 'off'. We were invited to choose another main dish from the prix fixe. When we asked how the plaice could be off already when we were among the first into the dining-room, the waiter retreated to the kitchen "to consult chef". After more protests and consultations with chef, we were eventually told that chef had found some plaice after all, and we could have it. Asked how chef could have lost the plaice, the harassed waiter explained that "chef's a bit stressed this evening." Pure Fawlty Towers, but more expensive). The rooms are comfortable and those with a river view and small balcony are especially pleasant. There's a nice garden by the river where the hotel serves tea, coffee, drinks, etc., in dry weather. A taxi from or to the station costs less than half the hotel's daily charge for use of the car park.

Some of these complaints may be individually trivial, and no hotel is perfect. But collectively they add up to a formidable indictment. One would hardly expect so many defects in a cheap B&B. This establishment, despite bearing the famous Hilton brand name, is simply not worth the money. Never again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, with a balcony, and sound-proof. Better still, go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

BrianLB
Thank you for your very extensive and valuable review. Without going to such extend to respond to your every observation I will just thank you for your very personal feedback, we take criticism very seriously and hope to learn from it, whilst appreciate your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to friends and family, we had a wonderful stay and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Planning on visiting again with all the family. Excellent location for visiting/touring Cambridge, hotel is located on the river with lovely views. The only downside we had was that the leisure club didn't have any spa treatments available and needed slightly up-dating, but it was very clean and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Emma L
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you are already planning on visiting us again. We take on board your valuable comments about Spa treatments and hope to be able to incorporate this kind of service in the future. For now, we truly look forward to your next stay at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is in a central location, the rooms are clean and well furnished. The staff were friendly and responsive. When we checked in to find a previous guest had left something disgusting in the mini-fridge, they were quick to remove it.

However the added costs to use the facilities at this hotel are staggeringly steep.

Cost to use the car park is last £20 a day. Wi-fi is not complentary and ran at a shocking £6.50 an hour.

Call me suspicious, but although they have many UK TV channels available in their rooms, movie-focused channels such as Film4 were notably absent, perhaps to push you toward their £10 rentals.

During our stay the elevator was out of use for most of the time.

Our king room's view was of the building site next door, which was very noisy when the builders started up on Monday morning, preventing us from sleeping.

Simply put, I have stayed at more luxurious and relaxing hotels for slightly less than this cost. The steep add-ons let them down significantly and the little inconveniences (builders, lifts) really didn't help.

They did give me a free cookie, which I must admit was very good.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BritGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear BritGeek
Thank you for your review. I can see from your comments that despite enjoying the hotel and appreciating the service, this was marred by the final charges. I really thank you for your feedback and assure you that all of your comments will be taken into consideration for future brainstorming of our pricing system. For now I can only explain that the car parking charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary.
The lifts were indeed not working during your stay, unfortunately the system went down on Friday and the technician could not repair it until Sunday, an understandable inconvenience for all our guests that we hope will not happen again.
Finally thank you for your last note about you enjoying our signature cookie, a warm cookie for a warm and honest welcome to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews