We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view in a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view in a nice hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I would definitely recommend opting for a river view. There is also a lovely little rockery in the foreground and scenic parkland in the distance. There's nothing quite like opening the curtains in the morning to the sight of a beautiful swan swimming on the river. The staff were very courteous and professional. James on reception in particular went beyond the extra mile. Breakfast was very well presented and delicious too. I can thoroughly recommend the muffins! The room was very spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Some of the interior decor in the corridors is beginning to look a little dated.

Room Tip: The ground floor river facing rooms have lovely little private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Staffstella
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and its perfect location so very much. Especially pleased with your comments about the staff and our Reception star, James. He regularly goes the extra mile for our guests and we are incredibly proud of his customer service. I am sure that he will be very pleased to know that his hard work does not go unnoticed. Our Pastry Chef will also be very happy with your comments about her muffins. All in all we are very happy that you had such a nice stay with us, we certainly hope to have you in the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    777
    378
    179
    81
See reviews for
453
843
94
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is our first time in DoubleTree by Hilton chain. We stayed with them in Scotland too.

It is a nice hotel in Cambridge scenic area by the river where people do punting. Quite a walk to the centre of the town where branded shops are but it was a nice walk.

The hotel room is spacious with a balcony. Our room had a nice view of the river and in the morning you would hear the bird sound. Mostly important the bed is really really comfy. Soft bed, delicate linens and ample pillows. It was a lovely overnight stay.

Breakfast was good. Lots of things to eat. The restaurant has the garden view. It was really nice to sit in a place like this in the early morning in Cambridge.

The reception and the lobby would do some more interior decoration to make it more welcoming. More seats in the lobby would be perfect or even inviting guests who are waiting for check-in to stay in the bar lounge could be good. We came with a group to Cambridge and there were really few proper seaters in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view if no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Tzazen
Thank you for your positive review full of very valuable and constructive feedback. We appreciate all of your kind comments and take on board the ones we can brainstorm on and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel and found it to be nice. The rooms are reasonably up to date, but the hallways are a bit dreary and worn. The thing that I found most challenging was turning on the lights in the room. You have to leave a room key in a little slot by the door otherwise the lights will not turn on. I have never seen that before, and it took me a couple of minutes to figure it out. My room was on the river side and that was nice, but I was unable to open the window because the hinge was broken. The spa had a serviceable workout area, and the promise of a television on each piece of equipment was true, but you only got one channel of text-in request music videos and that did not come in well at all. Bring an MP3 player with you to work out. Nice place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mark B
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be staying with us again. I was sorry to know that you found difficult to turn on the lights, this is a very environmentally friendly system installed in the hotel few years back whereby you need the room key to activate the lights in the room, so as to avoid a very common but sad occurrence when guests and staff alike leave the lights on when not in the room, resulting in unnecessary energy wastage. I am really sorry that you had not come across such system before and that our Reception team did not explained this on check in. I will pass on this and all of your valid comments for all the managers for action as required. We truly look forward to having you with us some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel has a fab location, which is great for the warm days due to being on the River. However the rooms are tired and very dark, but they are clean and refreshed every day. Food is good and plenty of choice. Staff are pleasant but I do think the hotel needs a revamp to look more modern and up to date.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Louise P
Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate your comments about the decoration of the hotel bedrooms, most of them have recently been redecorated to the modern style of slightly darker colour patterns, however I understand that these might not be to everyone’s taste and I will pass on your valid comments to the relevant management for future redecoration brainstorming of the rooms. In the meantime, I can only hope that this will not deterred you from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

good location - poor value for money - poor bathroom experience - lifts sometimes not working - charge for internet - poor mobile phone reception - expensive parking - poor bar staff - will select an alternative hotel in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank scrumpygrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Close to the heart of town and on the river bank, this hotel is ideally located if you want to do Cambridge on foot - which is the only real option given its aversion to cars. It has elements, understandably enough, of a big chain hotel and some of the furnishings and decor now look somewhat dated but we found the staff, without exception, polite and friendly. Our room was spacious and very well equipped and delightfully quiet. The beds were big and comfortable and it is worth opting for a river/garden view, though that pushes the overnight cost well into the luxury bracket. At £200 a night for starters, this can quickly escalate into a very expensive place to stay. We ate one night in the restaurant and, while the food was perfectly acceptable, it was nothing special and one pasta dish was reminiscent of a school dinner, piled high and swimming in sauce. Breakfast was excellent. The visit was marred by repeated billing errors which were eventually resolved to our satisfaction. But the hotel compares well with its local competition.

Room Tip: River view..if your budget stretches to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymancannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear journeymancannes
Thank you for your review. Although I really appreciate that overall you enjoyed your stay, I understand that there were some areas where we need to focus such as the lamentable billing errors and I can assure you that these will be addressed immediately. Thank you for your most kind comments about the politeness and friendliness of our staff, I am positive that they will be looking forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with children in the week - but from the start did not meet expectations. Beautiful location and decor. Position of room not the best but it was the indifference and snootiness of staff that ruined it. Not one smiled and it all seemed an ordeal. No help with bags offered , no personal touches. Pool overcrowded due to kids swimming lessons. A real shame could be so much better. Not worth the £ 200 tag.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank barryraden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear barryraden
Thank you for taking the time post review on this website. We were very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel due to the service you received. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their immediate attention. We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future when I am sure you will receive the highest level of service for which we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
905 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing