We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Premium stay bet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Premium stay bet”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We used this Hotel to break a long journey and it fitted this purpose well. We arrived to a welcome cookie and comfortable surroundings and when we got to our room it was well equipped and also very comfortable, I slept well. In the morning I went swimming and I was very disappointed with the changing facilities which were cramped. The actual swimming area was very good with all the facilities like a steam room, sauna etc. Breakfast was good as well but it seemed to run out quite quickly. I can see this Hotel would make a good business destination as well. However, if you are coming to cambridge not for business and for longer than a a couple
of nights then this is not the place. Firstly, it is an incredibly ugly building and for those who have never actually been to ca,bridge and expect every building to be like the colleges then this hotel will let you down. However, the hotels that are in the traditional style are either bad or very expensive, remembering also that this hotel is in a good location, I feel as though I can glaze over that problem. Overall, I felt that this hotel was good and I would suggest it to others and stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    768
    370
    169
    70
See reviews for
437
829
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel didn't feel as luxurious as, for example, the Doubletree Hilton by Tower Bridge. Our room was certainly smaller. However, the location is excellent - right by the city centre, but quiet, with great views over the River Cam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel several times before and it was my daughter and I's first choice for a 'Shop 'till you drop' overnight visit to Cambridge. Because of ill-health we were unable to book early enough to secure the best rate, but the overall package with breakfast and dinner included offered better value. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodated our every request - extra green tea bags, early arrival at dinner and holding our luggage on check-out. The Doubletree will continue to be our Cambridge hotel of choice; it is very comfortable and has a good location; a little away from the hustle and bustle, but still central enough to walk everywhere. However, next time we will try to secure a better room rate by booking in advance; also if you can afford the extra and have opportunity to enjoy it, pay the extra for a river view. Heather Felix, Woodford Green

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank HeatherFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We has a great Christmas in this excellent venue. Lovely to be right in the city, by the river. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. I use the Hilton chain often and it irritates me that they charge so much for internet and bottles of water. Otherwise, perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 379Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was my first time to stay at a DoubleTree by Hilton, and it was nice to discover their signature warm cookies upon check in.

Location

This hotel sits along the river, and across from lovely parkland, yet Kings Parade and the rest of downtown Cambridge is just a short walk away. The hotel also keeps a wonderful sense of place through gorgeous photographs of Cambridge lining the hallways.

Sleep Quality

The bed and pillows are very comfortable, and the quiet location ensures a good night’s sleep.

Rooms

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and clean, and with its location, most have good views over the water and the park. The compact bathrooms are well-designed, and the toiletries smell wonderful. The desk is welcome for those who wish to do a bit of work or study, and has an outlet that accepts most types of plugs. The bedside tables also had sockets that were handy for charging mobile phones. The room mini-bar is well-stocked but touch-sensitive, which is a shame for those who wish to investigate better the local brews showcased there, without actually consuming them. There was complimentary coffee and tea with the available hot water pot. Wi-Fi was a decent speed, and a selection of glossy local magazines offered a welcome introduction to the area.

Dining

Breakfast comes with a lovely view of the garden and the river Cam, but the music was somewhat loud. The breakfast buffet has a good selection, including the best breakfast sausages I’ve had in the UK. The dining room also offers lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner, while the bar serves not just drinks but also snack items and light meals the rest of the day.

Service and other facilities

Service was excellent throughout my stay, and the front desk accommodated my request for early check- in after an extremely long haul flight into Heathrow followed by another long coach ride into Cambridge. The dining and bar staff were also welcoming and attentive.

Overall, this hotel was a lovely find. The cookie on check-in is just a sign of the warm service of this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sputnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Loved our time in Cambridge and stayed in a lovely hotel where we could easily walk to the center of town with its shops, colleges, pubs and stunning sights and architecture. We loved the place and its character and the Hotel is well located to get you into hte action in a few moments walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Needed a hotel to stay at with my partner in the centre of cambridge for a company christmas function. Found the price very reasonable and the quality of the hotel excellent. No complaints and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing