We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As many others have said, this hotel has a major hygiene and cleanliness problem. For the price, you would expect first class levels of service and rooms. As the photos show, the bathroom is tired and has a filthy extractor vent and stained/leaking ceiling. The bath had a large, intruding handrail which made using it difficult. There were layers of dust along the TV, picture frames, etc. as if the room had not been properly cleaned for months. Outside, apart from the luxury view of the car park, the used ashtray, cobwebs and broken chair made any thought of sitting outside less than appealing ... for the price, and an additional £15 to use the internet for a day, this hotel really is exploiting its location and not paying enough attention to its customers. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: try to get a riverside room - at least there the views might distract from the dust
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CityJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear CityJ
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us. This is completely unacceptable and despite your comments it is not our usual standards and I can assure you that we are launching an immediate investigation into this situation and we will take necessary action whilst implementing further staff training so that cleanliness levels are brought back up to our usual high standards.
I really hope that you give us a second chance when I am sure you will find the required levels of cleanliness that deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed night before son's wedding, had three double rooms booked in my name kindly one room upgraded to a junior suite for extra £50 well worth it. The rooms themselves were clean but only to a minimum standard, e.g. one had 'Hi' written on the wall fabric pannel by bed, the suit's balcony was covered with cobwebs, the chairs dirty I had to clean the balcony in a hurry before we could relax on it - that is really 'not on'. The windows, carpet and general hotel areas need a good clean, also be aware this hotel does not have 'aircon' just 'air cooling'! Water pressure minimal to have a shower was very difficult and before a big day no joke. Breakfast was fine but not great, the staff not friendly tea seemed to be all too much trouble so cold when arrived, choice of fruit only OK. Check out check in good, carpark great, good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear ManleyLondon
Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to know of the poor level of cleanliness you found during your stay and the problems with the breakfast service. This is completely unacceptable for which I would like to offer our most sincere apologies. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their immediate attention.
We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

An excellent hotel with great facilities, friendly and efficient staff. Beautifully located with a great restaurant, bar and garden setting. the ideal place to rest and relax while enjoying this historic English University town. A real place away from home that can be enjoyed by families, couples or individuals. Everyone is made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Garry M
Thank you for your kindest review. We are very pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that all our team members helped make you feel so welcomed. We truly look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, amazing breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Beautiful grounds, bit difficult to find due to narrow streets but central to everything. Easy walking distance to sightseeing. By the river to watch the punts go by and enjoy a drink or meal outside but beware the very loud band in the evening. Not sure if it is a resident band but spoiled our evening drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Christine P
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay, however I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the live band at the Terrace bar in the afternoon/evening. This is a summer weekly event that is proving to be very popular, it helps create a nice atmosphere for our guests and bar customers and it never goes beyond 10 o’clock, however I understand this may not be to your liking for which I offer my apologies.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my family visited the Doubletree for drinks prior to a birthday celebration. We enjoyed a fantastic view looking onto the river aswell as some refreshing drinks on a very hot day. The service was fantastic, being polite and speedy, allowing us to enjoy the surroundings and weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Hinesh S
Thank you for your kind review. I was very happy to see that your pre-birthday drinks were a success at our Terrace Bar. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team members, I am sure that they will be glad to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Terrace bar or restaurant in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A very disappointing lunch on a beautiful day in the garden restaurant. First they will not take bookings but we did manage to get a table under the tree by the river, lovely. All pizzas and pitta breads were off the menu. I ordered a Mediterranean Mezze but when it came it only had half the things on it should have and was filled out with things not listed n the menu. I sent it back and had the set Bar B Q lunch. All horribly overlooked with 90% carbohydrate side dishes. They gave us £5.00 off the menu. So sad with such a beautiful setting they should do better.

Room Tip: Go for the river view but not the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear gmb53
Thank you for your review, feedback is much appreciated.
Please accept our most sincere apology for the disappointing lunch you had with us this weekend. Although, this is in no an excuse, we were incredibly busy due to the beautiful weather we experienced over the weekend and therefore regrettably we run out off some of the items on the menu. Valuable lessons have been learnt after this experience and I can assure you that ensuing actions and appropriate training will be implemented to make sure that this does not happen again. I can only hope that you will not be deterred from returning to us again when I am sure you will enjoy our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here as had to attend a weekend conference, it's a lovely modern hotel that overlooks the river

The rooms are spacious and very well cleaned

The food (I only had breakfast) was lovely and he staff very helpful

Parking is extra £17 per night) so it's not a cheap place o stay but you get what you pay for

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Katesc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Katesc111
Thank you for your constructive feedback, this is much appreciated.
I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms well cleaned, appreciated the location and that the staff were very helpful. I take on board you comment about the price and sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning to us in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $162 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing