We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in England that we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I visit the UK frequently and especially enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree in Cambridge. The room was modern, clean and had a lovely view from our balcony overlooking the river, which runs behind the hotel. It is in a perfect location for easy walking to the main attractions of Cambridge, with many of the colleges just outside the door! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and recommended one of the best fish restaurants we have experienced and it was just around the corner.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with many choices. It is in a quiet area, just off of one of the main streets of Cambridge. We would definately return to this hotel whenever we next visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

i have now stayed here several times and cant say enough about this hotel. Friendly and attentive staff, great atmosphere and excellent location, with a beautiful setting and idyllic views. The food is great, the rooms are beautiful and the value for money is fantastic. Love the warm cookies upon checking in, yum.... next time im in town, ill be sure to visit. Yiannaki Stavrou

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannakis_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic -- steps from Cambridge Center and right on the banks of the river. But it is tucked away so that it is quite quiet. In gorgeous weather (such as we had) it was delightful to be outside on the terrace. The ready access to walking trails and paths was also a treat.
Rooms are ho hum. Narrow and small (at least mine was). Entire hotel needs some freshening up - the dark maroon décor is depressing.
In some ways the warm, sunny weather did draw attention to a serious flaw -- there is no cooling. my window opened a bit - but the room was stuffy and hot. Breakfast buffet very good. We were part of a group -- evening banquet food below par even for hotel food. If not for the location I would downgrade my rating -- but the location is a HUGE plus. Can not say much about staff - they seemed cheerful and generally helpful but I had limited interactions.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking river -- rooms parallel to river had sliding doors and might get bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heartlander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here on our Wedding night in 1991 when it was the Garden House hotel and stayed again recently on our wedding anniversary and it was just as good, if not better. Would definitely return. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

As someone who lives in Cambridge, I can vouch for the excellent location of this hotel. It's in an attractive setting, next to the river, and within a 5-10 minute walk of most of the Cambridge attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was booked for a symposium I attended. The location was very, very convenient for walking around Cambridge and exploring the city and university grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel provided breakfast and lunch for the attendees in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was very good with a variety of foods to choose from. The food served for lunch was very good as well. The hotel was quiet and the sleep quality was wonderful. The hotel has a very nice fitness center with adequate cardio and weight equipment. The room temp was a little chilly until I figured out how to bump up the heat from the radiator. The controller on the wall didn't seem to do anything to adjust the temperature. The restaurant had a nice bar and area for people to enjoy drinks in the evening. All in all, it was a very nice place to stay and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor that open to the garden can be a little noisy if people are out and gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapingtheBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your symposium, mostly due to the success of the hotel’s location and amenities, which were all to your liking. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, maybe for a weekend getaway so that you can also make the most of what the beautiful Cambridge has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night in a room with a massive King bed. Room was good, overlooking the gardens and river. Used the pool which was nice. Didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment. The room got quite warm which the aircon struggled to deal with. Bathroom was clean. Also we had an issue with the bed which was sorted out quickly and appropriately by the reception staff. Very conveniently located for all the sights. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Ben F
Thank you for your review. I was very happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that any possible issue was dealt with promptly and efficiently by the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the not too distant future and we hope you will be trying the Food & Beverage outlets on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $184 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing