We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round excellent! Staff, location, hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All round excellent! Staff, location, hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

May i just thank all the staff for making our stay thoroughly enjoyable. From the moment we arrived the staff were some of the nicest and most professional people I have come across.
The room was lovely and impeccably clean. And the location......well.....if on the river....a stones thrown from bars and restaurants.....punting and activities on your door step is bad location then I give up! It was perfect!
May I give a special thank you to Tom and Fran who gladly took our bad conversation at the bar. They diverged from the menu and created us some of the most tasty and unusual cocktails we have ever had (some with tea in them!). Nothing was too much trouble.
Vanessa from reception was a true gem. No request was too much and even though she seemed to work none stop for our whole stay, always had a smile on her face.
Whatever you are doing I applaud you. We will definitely be returning, in fact, we can't wait to come back!
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starseed_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Starseed_uk
Thank you for your excellent feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Tom, Fran, Vanessa and to the rest of the team, I know that they will be pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We too are looking forward to having you with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    747
    359
    167
    62
See reviews for
415
800
92
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent one night here with my family in March.Can't really fault anything- fantastic location and brilliant service. Room very clean and comfy ,but I have to admit shower was quite poor. Breakfast was really good and staff were very helpful and friendly, we had lunch in the bar, and the food was OK , but the staff went out of their way to make our time enjoyable and pleasant, the manageress Katrina was just brilliant.
Scored only 4 stars because the cost for WiFi access was just ridiculous!

Room Tip: If you have a choice rooms on the river side are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannaht743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear hannaht743
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are very glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the location of the hotel, we are especially glad that Katina was able to make your stay that extra special. However, I was sorry to read that this was slightly marred by the cost of WiFi in the hotel, I take your valid comment on board and will pass it onto the relevant manager for future reference. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room not clean. Foil found under bed!
Shower-very poor, reported, nothing done. The flow was so poor I could not wash the conditioner out of my hair. On the second day, as the shower was so bad I decided to wait until I got home!
Breakfast, drinks order taken, then forgotten. Both days there were no plates for the hot food and I had to ask. On the second day the pancake machine had disappeared.
The hotel was convenient and well decorated. We paid for a river view so our two night stay was expensive considering the service we recieved.
Next time I will stay in college!

Room Tip: Use another hotel. There are much better for a fraction of the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Pauline M
Thank you for your feedback. I am ever so sorry for your disappointing stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the poor level of cleanliness and poor level of service received from our team members. We take very seriously all the comments and I can assure you that every member of staff involved will be re-trained so that these basic errors do not reoccur. In the meantime, I can only hope you will not be deterred from returning and give us a second chance when I am sure you will experience the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent three nights in the hotel, just before Easter - a very busy time. Yet the staff was always helpful and friendly.
Combined with the hotel's excellent location (on the river Cam, minutes walking distance from the town center), and the good eating in the hotel and in nearby restaurants, we just had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Take a river view room and enjoy the ducks in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonZiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear AlonZiv
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay just before Easter. We love having happy customer and we really endeavour to see our guests making the most of their time with us. We truly look forward to having you with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked the Afternoon Tea with a glass of champagne to celebrate my birthday with friends. We had done this sort of thing twice before, but all agreed this was the best yet.
When we arrived, we had planned to have a light bite, visit the Fitzwilliam Museum and then return for our Tea. The light bite were amazing sandwiches, beautifully prepared and very tasty. We were able to spend hours in the Lounge watching people walking along the river in the snow.
The actual Tea was excellent, the staff incredibly attentive, especially taking our coats/scarves/hats etc before we were shown to our window table. We were actually at our table for 3 hours!
The quality of the sandwiches, cakes and scone were top class and the staff were so friendly.
We had planned to use the Spa facilities, but we were all so relaxed we chose a cocktail in the Bar instead!
I was particularly impressed with the toilets too, immaculate and spacious. In fact there was nothing to fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wifelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Wifelet
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is a pleasure to receive such positive comments from happy customers. It is our goal to please all our guests and we are just delighted to have made the occasion of your birthday a special one. We look forward to having you with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I don't really understand the negative reviews. I found the staff and hotel really nice. Of course it does look a bit dated from outside, but inside it has beautiful décor and the rooms and really nice and spacious. With regards the Staff you couldn't ask for more helpful team of people. I don't know if it is because I am a Hilton Honours member but everyone looked after us very well.

With regards the bed, it was massive and very comfortable, also the pillows were very good too. I love Hilton Double Tree's and their little touches like the cookie on arrival just makes you feel that extra bit special.

Yes the car park is expensive, but it is Cambridge and everywhere in Cambridge is expensive! don't come here thinking it's a cheap weekend away. Cambridge prices are up there with London, but it's worth it as it is such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskitty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear misskitty83
Thank you for your most kind review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay, what the hotel has to offer, including those little nice touches and especially the staff. I am sure that they will be pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We are looking forward to having you with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

"Average" is probably the best way to describe our experience of afternoon tea at the Doubletree Cambridge. My friend and I had a travelzoo voucher which gave access to the gym and pool, champagne afternoon tea and 12 hours of parking each, which was great value for only £35.00

We arrived mid morning and used the gym first, which we found to be well equipped, with a good range of CV and strength equipment, but rather small. We decided not to use the pool, which looked pleasant, but again was very small. The changing rooms were fine, but cramped and certainly not luxurious.

After a few hours in Cambridge we returned for afternoon tea at 3.30. The sandwiches were very dry, suggesting that they had been per-prepared several hours before being served. The scones were wholemeal and very also dry and heavy. We didn't bother with the cakes. We weren't offered the glass of champagne included in our offer and given that the staff just seemed to disappear, didn't have an opportunity to tell anyone until it was time to leave. We enjoyed our day out greatly, but this had more to do with good company and a day in Cambridge than anything the Doubletree had to offer. What a great shame given the fabulous location overlooking the River Cam. This used to be a great hotel once.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Foxymerlin
Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read how ‘average’ your experience at the DoubleTree Cambridge was. We endeavour to make all our guests experience a special one and I am very sorry that on this occasion we have failed you. All of your comments will be taken into consideration by the appropriate managers to make sure that this kind of situation does not recur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing