We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I paid a little extra to have a room at the back over looking the river and it was well worth it. Although the weir is a little noisy the room was lovrly and the view wonderful. A very comfortable room and a warm cookie on arrival which is nice. Only 2 mins walk into town and right by the punting if you fancy it. I lovely restful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Jane O
Thank you for your constructive review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your restful stay and liked the river view and location. We look forward to welcoming you to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,107)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Took my Mum there for her birthday. Overnight stay which included dinner & breakfast. Food was impeccable. Service was brilliant. Every member of staff we came across was polite, friendly & professional. A credit to Hilton. Worth paying extra for room with a river-view. The choc-chip cookie on arrival is also a nice touch. I would have liked wifi in the room. A DVD player attached to the TV would also have been of value. Overall, a lovely experience. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minxy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Minxy007
Thank you for you kind review. I was very glad that you and your mum enjoyed the birthday celebration weekend. Thank you for your kind comments about our team members, I am sure that they will be glad to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We sincerely look forward to having you with us again for another especial occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

After reading some poor reviews on Tripadvisor, I have to say that the hotel exceeded my expectations and if I can get the same rate again I will definitely become a regular visitor while my daughter is at the university. The room was very clean and had a lovely view of the river. The afternoon tea was very good (although I have had much better scones in other places). The pool was small but lovely and warm. All of the staff were very polite. The buffet breakfast was excellent (especially the pancake maker) although they had run out of, or maybe just not refilled, several items when we arrived at 10.30.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggypeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear meggypeggy
Thank you for your review after your stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge. I was glad to read that despite some not so positive reviews you gave us a chance and we managed to exceed your expectations and made your stay with us a successful one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and wish your daughter all the best in her university studies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The worst club sandwich ever - cold stale bread, cold processed cheese and even when we complained the next one sent up was the same! The burger was literally inedible whatever kind of meat was in it and the bun was stale and obviuosly microwaved. Just awful food and no hot water in the bathroom......even though they know that there was a problem with the heating system.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Julie S
As per our direct communication with yourself before this review, please let me offer you once again our most sincere apologies for the terrible experience you had with the food in your room and the lamentable situation with the hot water in the bathroom. This is completely unacceptable and certainly not typical of our high standards. All the relevant managers are now aware and necessary actions taken whilst implementing further staff training so that these kinds of situations do not recur in the future. Once again we are very sorry to have failed you in making your stay a pleasurable one and I sincerely hope that the actions taken following your comments are to your satisfaction. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We again had the pleasure of spending a night here between X-mas and New Year, and this time we found a very reasonable rate B&B for our stay. The location is still the best in Cambridge. The service upon arrival was friendly (and the cookie as usual delicious), and even though we arrived very early our room was ready for us. We are still amazed that even though this was our second visit in '12, there was no note in the bookingsystem, that we were repeat guests, so we "had to" go through all the information again. Well, that is just a minor flaw....
The hotel has been well maintained in '12, and looked in good shape all-over. we had "sweet dreams" as the pillow in the room said.
The breakfastbuffet had been upgraded, and it truly felt even better than in september. It is nice to sit in the restaurant and look at the efforts of the ducks and the people negotiating the path on the opposite side of the river. ;o)
Even though the parking fee is expensive, the hotel has the best location in Cambridge, so we will be back. But we will be looking for a similar rate, in order to can maintain our "excellent"-rating on Tripadvisor. :-)

Room Tip: We still prefer the "King bed river view with private balcony" rooms. Even in December you...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-ELinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear S-ELinna
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad to read that you are a regular guest and that you will be returning to us soon. Hopefully next time our system will pick up your guest history and welcome you back accordingly as we always endeavour with our return guests. Looking forward to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

At £224 a night for a double room with balcony, we do not expect to find net curtains not properly fixed and hanging down Tiny tissues in the bathroom inside an oblong cover.No biscuits with the tea and coffee. Balcony door which does not lock properly. Dirty plates in the breakfast area where they are supposed to be clean and stacked ready for use.Some of the staff are not helpful. Food is excellent not cheap but if you feel under the plates they do not feel clean. The lights in the dining area all have cracks in the shades. Leisure centre was good and clean and tidy. Hotel is in a central location. We did receive a £18.50 refund for one day's parking after complaining about the plates which was somewhat insignificant on a nearly £600 bill. The warm cookie on arrival did not make up for the lack of attention to detail throughout the rest of our stay. There are plenty of other hotels nearby at a much more competitive price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank North_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is always appreciated.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay. This is quite unacceptable on our behalf and certainly not typical of the high level of service normally associated with the DoubleTree Cambridge. All the relevant Managers have now been informed of your comments and they will investigate and implement further staff training where possible so that these kinds of situations do not recur in the future.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is only through feedback from our customers that we can continually evaluate and improve the level of hospitality that we offer.

We sincerely hope that this will not deterred you from returning to the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second visit. Modern comfortable hotel in a super location, just a short walk into centre of town, overlooking the river. King room with balcony view of river was small but functional. Very clean, super comfy bed and decent bathroom. Shame wifi isn't included and I do resent having to pay £10 for a not so new movie, but that's a Hilton for you. Otherwise it's a great hotel and I'm sure we will return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Callycam
Thank you for your short but constructive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel’s location. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
914 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $229 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing