We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second visit. Modern comfortable hotel in a super location, just a short walk into centre of town, overlooking the river. King room with balcony view of river was small but functional. Very clean, super comfy bed and decent bathroom. Shame wifi isn't included and I do resent having to pay £10 for a not so new movie, but that's a Hilton for you. Otherwise it's a great hotel and I'm sure we will return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Callycam
Thank you for your short but constructive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel’s location. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    768
    369
    168
    68
See reviews for
434
828
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night, no dinner, no breakfast but the hotel simply could not have been better. The place is inspiring and spotlessly clean with efficient and polite staff. Car parking is horrendously expensive but if there is parking in Cambridge that isn't, I haven't yet found it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCGilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Peter A
Thank you for your review, pleased to read that you enjoyed your quick stay. As you mentioned, car parking in Cambridge city centre is unfortunately very expensive, I am glad to read that you appreciate this fact and understand our pricing. Hopefully we will be able to have you with us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here with friends and had a river view room. We were given a delicious warm large choc chip cookie when we checked in. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AylesburyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear AylesburyNorwich
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to read that you had such a lovely stay with us, it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I am sure that our team members will be glad to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back with another delicious warm choc chip cookie very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst my daughter was visiting the university and found it be a very good hotel in its class. It was clean, the room had every thing you would expect, the breakfast and bar food were perfectly fine and the service was excellent. The location was also very good, just 5 minutes walk from the centre and overlooking the river.
My only gripe is the £18.50 daily parking charge for residents which i think is way over the top.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Paul M
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I was sorry to read your comments about the car parking charges.
These charges are comparable to other major city centre car parking charges and to that of the alternative option for a guest in using a NCP car park in Cambridge. It is also a very compatible value for many as guests can leave the car from the early hours of the day checking in and for the remaining of the day after they have checked out. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary.
We hope your daughter was successful in her university visit and we look forward to having you again with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's amazing that in Cambridge you can get in so close to the city centre and park up at your hotel. Please note that this does cost £18 per 24 hours, but if you're carrying luggage it's less hassle than park and ride. The room we stayed in overlooked the lock and was spacious and well equiped. Sadly, we misinterpreted the picture of the swimming pool. It does actually look like that, but it's only 8m or so long and we thought it looked much longer than that in the picture. We had our evening meal in the Brasserie. It was a quiet night and early. This may have been the reason for the variable quality of the food. Parts of it were very good (the freshly cooked beef and lamp particularly), but the carpaccio of beef was still frozen (so sent back) and both the dauphinoise and lyonnaise potatoes were tasteless and probably prepared some time before. The lounge is spacious and compartmented, so lots of groups can be there, without too much resultant noise. Overall, a satisfactory stay and very convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear IanT34
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback, much appreciated. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, however I was very sorry to know of the mixed quality of food served at the restaurant. This is completely unacceptable and certainly not typical of the high standard of food served at the Riverside Brasserie. Our Head Chef is now aware of your comments and will investigate further whilst implementing staff training so that this kind of situation does not recur in the future. In the interim, I can only hope that this will not deterred from coming back to the hotel or restaurant as I am sure you will enjoy your next visit to the DoubleTree Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a great hotel!!!

We stayed at the Hilton for a weekend away in February and it was simply brilliant!!!

The hotel is centrally located with parking close by. Some of the previous ratings have complained about the £18.50 parking charge but in the Hilton's defense, you can arrive any time on the day of check in and can leave as late as you want on the day you check out. I think it would be a struggle to find anywhere else as cheap to leave the car for two days in a city centre location.

We had a river view room which was great. All needs are catered for (although the mini bar is pricey!!) and the staff are very attentive and helpful.

The breakfast is a little pricey but good food and the bar is open until late and the bar staff were friendly and great and nothing was too much trouble.

My only slight 'niggle' was that the water pressure in the bathroom was a little low and the shower was disappointing.

We didn't try the leisure facilities but looking at the size of the pool building then don't book this based on spending hours swimming!

Great hotel, central location. Would book again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyd1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mikeyd1982
Thank you for your review, I was very happy to read that you will return to the hotel based on your successful stay in February. And also very happy to see that you understood and concurred with our car parking charges. It is a pleasure to read constructive feedback such as yours and I know all our team members will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

An excellent location for Sunday lunch having a lovely view over the River Cam however , the food was very disappointing. The starters on the buffet table are very limited in choice and only a choice of 3 salads for vegetarians! The mains were not presented on an appetising way , with the food looking rather sad! The joints were meagre, the salmon well baked and dry and the pasta dish looked like pigs' swill! The vegetables were also very scant... with no selection as with other buffets which I have eaten at.
The dessert cakes were all bought in and very synthetic. The fruit salad lacked interesting fruit.
All in all... very disappointing.
The area in which the food is served is too small and cramped.
Surely, someone could revamp this to make it a really good Sunday carvery lunch which is sadly lacking in Cambridge.
Not cheap at £26 per head.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ann4all
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your last Sunday Carvery at the DoubleTree Cambridge. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations, for which I offer my most sincere apology. We will take this opportunity to re-evaluate the experience we offer for Sunday Carvery and improve it to the best of our abilities. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing