We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for the umpteenth time - a recommendation in itself” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Tornby, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back for the umpteenth time - a recommendation in itself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Second time around since our last review a couple of years ago. And still not the last! That must be a recommendation in itself. The hotel still has the best location in Cambridge. It looked better this year than last year, and must have gone through some TLC recently, eg. in the corridors. The welcome in the reception was friendly and efficient - as usual, even though they didn't have any notes in the bookingsystem that we were frequent guests at this hotel. So we did get the "full intro" again. And again - the cookies are great and a nice touch.
The breakfastbuffet is still good and it's recommendable to book B&B.
So yes - even though the hotel still is a bit pricey - we'll be back!

Room Tip: We recommend the riverview rooms with balcony, and the ones on the first and second floor are in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S-ELinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear S-Elinna
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit. It's great to hear that we were able to welcome you back once again. We certainly are continuously improving the decor throughout the hotel with the ground floor completed now we are working on schemes to further enhance our bedrooms. I do hope to see you back soon when we will be delighted to present you with our famous chocolate chip cookie on arrival.
Kind regards
Greg Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    747
    360
    167
    62
See reviews for
416
801
92
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel's discreetly tucked away in central Cambridge, 2 minutes walk from Kings Parade and with a perfect view onto the Cam, next to Scudamore's punt hire and the rollers up onto the river leading out to Grantchester. Modern facilities, friendly staff, v comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant, good wide choice of food at breakfast. Just a bit noisy (up till midnight) if you're close to any of the function rooms and there's an 18th or wedding party on, but the walls are thick, the beds comfy, and the 12.00pm finish is well-enforced so it's hardly a problem. We prefer to remember the comfort, perfect September weather, being able to use the fitness centre, pool and sauna next door (included in the price), parking next door, and the ideal location if you want to enjoy central Cambridge for the weekend without having to drive anywhere. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear amdgriggs
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that our central location and perfect spot by the river was ideal for your visit to Cambridge. I will certainly ensure our team receive your positive feedback about their friendliness. I do hope we may welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Greg Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We booked this hotel due to the amazing photos on the hotel's website, that made it look totally luxsurious. Hence why we didn't even think twice about the price. We were expecting the best hotel experience we'd ever had.
On arrival to the car park, we parked up and walked to check in to the hotel. First impression of the hotel rear was not a lot at all. The reception is very swish, and we were thinking "yeh, we've done well here, just what we were expecting".

Once into our room our hopes were dashed. NO WAY was it worth £240. At best and absolute most I would say £150. Even then it's not a patch on the usual hotels we use in London and they are only £90. This Doubletree basically is a glorified Travel Lodge and draws people in by the use of the word: Hilton.

The bathroom was very basic. There was wallpaper damage in our room, one of the ceiling tiles was hanging off, and basically the only good points were:
* Kingsize bed was massive and very comfortable.
* TV
* All the hotel was warm, especially our room.

The staff weren't happy and were basically going through the motions.
Be warned the hotel car park is £17.50 on top of the room rate. But this was good really, as we walked a LOT of the centre and didn't actually see any car parks elsewhere.

The hotel's location is well out of the city centre/shops. A good 10 minute walk. Also it is hard to find, well tucked away. We paid a lot due to the river view. Due to the angle of our room and trees we could probably see at most 3 metres of river!

My last point was there was very loud music until Midnight, due to a wedding reception being held at the hotel. When I say loud, we were on the 2nd floor, and it was still louder than the TV!!!!

the max I rate this hotel in our experience is 4/10.

Room Tip: Save your money and book else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IveGotStandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear I'veGotStandards
Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to learn that overall your stay with us was unsatisfactory and that we did not have the opportunity to deal with the issues during your visit . Please may I ask that you either email me directly on greg.crawford@hilton.com or call on 01223 259932 so that I may resolve the outstanding matters. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Kind regards. Greg Crawford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights as the groom of a wedding party and booked 8 other rooms for the same stay (though we didn't have any part of the wedding here). In the run up to the event they were both helpful and flexible, able to accommodate a couple of last minute changes.
The restaurant is excellent, to the point that it's worth visiting whether you're staying in the hotel or not.
Service was also good, helping us late at night when required with a challenging request. Location ideal, close to the center and right on the river.
Only minor downside - when will expensive hotels realise that internet access is like running water - a basic necessity rather than a business service to charge for?!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Stuart D
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read the great feedback about the team and the service which you received while staying with us. The Brasserie is certainly very popular with local people as well as hotel guests and I am pleased you enjoyed the experience. We do have a business centre in the hotel which has complimentary internet access for our residents. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I booked this very late - the day before we arrived so there weren't too many hot deals in Cambridge. It was a toss-up between this and the Crowne Plaza but as the Doubletree were offering a king room with balcony and river views I decided to splash out for a bit of luxury - at £254 (not including breakfast) I thought we'd get something really rather plush.

Unfortunately we arrived to find this was just a right royal rip-off. The room was on the third floor and was tiny - I'd say quite a bit smaller than the average hotel room. The bathroom was also a dud - standing at the sink I could stretch out and touch both walls. The shower was overhead in the (not veyr nice) bath and gave a somewhat pathetic dribble. There was so little space to put any toiletries that my soapbag fell onto the floor, smashing a bottle of perfume, which was intensely irritating.

The balcony which cost us an extra £15 was also miniature with steep sides so it felt very enclosed and not at all inviting. There were a couple of chairs but sitting in them you were staring at the wooden planks forming the barrier so the only way to see the river was by standing up.

The check-in and out desk only had two people - this was OK on the way in but on the way out there was a very slow line which cost us an extra fiver in taxi waiting time.

Had the hotel cost us a hundred quid less I'd have given it a much better review, but I can't understand how Doubletree can justify charging so much for so little. The last time I stayed at a Doubletree I gave it a five star review. This was also a late booking, it was the Doubletree in Times Square in New York and we had a suite, and it cost about $100.

If you can get a good rate, and avoid the third floor, then actually the hotel is in a good location and the staff are pleasant (can't vouch for the health club but it's unusual to have a swimming pool in a Cambridge hotel) but don't expect you're going to get a five star room for the five star prices they charge.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear rosiefromlondon
Thank you for posting a review recently. I was pleased to learn that you found the hotel location good and the staff pleasant however disappointed to hear that overall you feel that the experience was not good value for money. I do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to restore your faith in our hotel.
Kind regards
Greg Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel looks very nice, and it is in a very nice spot of Cambridge, so if looks is the most important for you, this is your hotel! For me, I value more the quality of the services, and there were few things that would make me to look for another hotels when I return to Cambridge:

1) Room: decor was nice, but some furniture really old. Worst thing was that the water pressure in the bathroom was really little, so showering was really annoying experience.

2) Breakfast: When they greet you at the entrance, they offer orange juice, nice... except that it is not fresh orange juice, which they also have available in the buffet. Why? My only guess is that to avoid people taking too much fresh orange juice... but who knows... Then, you don't have someone cooking eggs there for you, so you need to catch some waiter to ask for omelettes or fried eggs. And finally, they don't have water in the buffet, at least I didn't find it...

3) Room service: I order for starter a Ceasar salad, and then some chiken for main, but they gave me a main Ceasar salad instead of starter... Also the selection of food and drinks is very limited in my opinion.

All in all, I think I will choose some other hotel for the next time. I won't give name, so that I don't look biased.

Room Tip: River view is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luar_LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Raul_Im
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you thought the hotel was nice and I also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the services you experienced. The hotel was completely refurbished prior to becoming a DoubleTree by Hilton in 2008 and we are currently working on schemes to further enhance the bedroom product in the near future. Our most recent enhancements have been the complete refurbishment of the ground floor including the Riverside Brasserie and Twist Bar area. I was sorry to learn that the breakfast experience fell below your expectations. Our breakfast offering does not include freshly squeezed orange juice and I am sorry that both products offered did not taste the same. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again when next in Cambridge. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be pleased to take care of the arrangements personally for you. Kind regards Greg Crawford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Ive stayed in the Doubletree a few times on business, most recently in September with my wife. Rooms are spotless, views over the Cam brilliant (if you've specified a river view room) and it's location is awesome for exploring the city on foot. As I was working I needed to use the car park which at £17.50/day on top of a £185/night room was a bit steep. Breakfast was excellent every day - we walked out & explored & ate out in evenings. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chismb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Chrismb
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Doubletree Cambridge. We appreciate your loyalty as a regular guest and do hope you have signed up as a member of our Hilton Hhonors loyalty programme. The location is certainly the best, so peaceful, yet so central. Dinner is available in the Riverside Brasserie overlooking the River Cam and the floodlit gardens. We look forward welcoming you back soon. kind regards Greg Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing