We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carolina Guest House
Ranked #27 of 123 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2009

I had to change the dates of our booking at very short notice - this was not a problem. Room wsa spacious with tea/coffee facilities and SKY TV. We had ensuite which was bonus, possibly as we we staying 2 nights.
Breakfats excellent choice of continental or full english - both options were more than required and set us up for day.

Bus stop outside - £1.80 to city centre, taxi back cost £8

allround good value and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlMacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights for Cambridge Folk Festival. It is ideal location for festival.
Guesthouse is literally next to the bus stop into town, running on time and often.
Bed was extremely comfortable, nice modern decoration and very clean. We found the owners chatty, funny, welcoming and open. We enjoyed a long and humerous conversation one morning. We liked the fact that the owners live a few doors away but were always available when required. The quality of the full english was top as we have stayed in many hotels and B&B's over the years and many have not been comparible.
Pas was kind and helpful to my blind husband. Was very keen to carry our bags to the car. Any questions we had always came with a helpful positive response. We hope to return again, hopefully with our 2 young daughters.
We found Fas and Carolina helpful and considerate and we would highly recommend the Carolina.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_mccomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The room we had for 2 nights was sufficiently large, newly decorated and furnished with a king-sized bed (quite comfortable), an armoire, a desk/chair, 2 easy chairs and 2 night tables. The bathroom was also of good size, newly equipped with modern fixtures including a good-sized shower stall. A hot water maker was provided for tea or coffee making (also provided). A generous continental breakfast was included in the price of the room.
You may want to open the windows in the morning and leave them opened during the day to keep the room cool. Close them before going to bed to keep out traffic noise which can go on for sometime during the night. Convenient bus service to and from Cambridge city center. Two nearby pubs provide good places for dinner (good food at good prices). This B & B is a great place to stay at reasonable price... good value overall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B. The rooms were clean. The breakfasts were plenty. But most of all, the folks were nice, warm and accommodating. Thank you. You made our UK trip (our first) a memorable one.

The Wang family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineTheGreat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is a a very friendly and welcoming place to stay. the rooms are clean with all necessary amenities. English breakfast is well worth ordering. Bus stops right outside the guest house, and run every 10 mins, so great if you want to visit the city centre without the hassle of parking,

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bossmanNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Friendly welcome; very clean room; delicious cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed at the Carolina Guest House in Cambridge for 1 night in May 2009, and the experience was perfect!

Firstly, the owners were incredibly accommodating, and allowed me to check in early at around 12pm, rather than 3pm, which was very helpful.

I stayed in an en-suite twin room, and it was lovely, with nice views of the garden and was very clean with tea/coffee making facilities included. It had a double and single bed in, both of which were very comfortable, and it was a very peaceful place to stay.

The "full English" breakfast in the morning was just what my friend and I needed the next morning, with good quality, perfectly cooked food and plenty of tea/coffee and toast etc.

The location is ideal as a base for exploring Cambridge, and is just a few minutes drive away from the train station (probably walking distance actually). There is also a bus stop right outside for buses to take you right into the centre of Cambridge.

I would definitely recommend the Carolina Guest House as the owners were very friendly and welcoming and they should be very proud of their lovely guest house. If I visit Cambridge again I will be staying here for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Home from Home
Home from Home
#25 of 123 in Cambridge
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leverton House
Leverton House
#17 of 123 in Cambridge
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
5 Chapel Street
5 Chapel Street
#12 of 123 in Cambridge
130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 123 in Cambridge
169 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#34 of 123 in Cambridge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Guest House

Address: 138 Perne Road, Cambridge CB1 3NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $109 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carolina Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house.Contemporary style rooms with flat screeen tv, free WI FI, basic and en suite rooms.Self check in procedure for late evening/early morning arrivals. Buffet breakfast for early departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Carolina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing