We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carolina Guest House
Ranked #30 of 126 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent value for money, rooms were spacious and well appointed, car parking is available and the breakfasts were very good. Clean family run guest house with friendly service catering to all requirements. Would definately recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: one rear room has direct patio door access to garden. Try and aquire a rear room as the road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent stay at the Carolina, well run, friendly and an excellent breakfast (especially the bacon!). A good place to view the historic city of Cambridge; which is an interesting walk from the guest house 2.25 miles down Mill Road; full of restaurants from all countries down the bottom end. Thank you to Paz for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights last month whilst family member was in Addenbrookes hospital. Very clean room, staff were friendly and approachable, spoilt myself with full English every morning which was consistently fresh and delicious. It's a five minute bus journey to the hospital and the bus stop is next to the guesthouse. Only went into City centre once but it was about ten minutes by bus or I could have walked it in about 25 minutes. Very easy to get to this guesthouse by public transport as I did but there is parking if you drive. It is family run and this shows with the care and attention that has gone into the service they provide. Very impressed and I've already booked four nights for this month!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great value for three of us in a shared ground floor room with garden access. Impeccably clean, comfortable beds and good shower. Yummy breakfast. Short bus ride from central Cambridge ************************************

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisejames01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I returned to Cambridge to attend the Folk Festival.
I travelled with friends staying in the Carolina guest house once again.
The guest house is well positioned to visit the festival on foot, it’s a 15-20 minutes stroll.
The property is very clean and furnished to a high standard.
There is a hair dryer and iron in each room.
The towels are changed on a daily basis.
The breakfast is excellent with a choice of cold meats, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and a cooked breakfast.
The owners are very friendly and obliging, nothing is too much trouble.
We have again booked for next year.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are further back from the busy main road and will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieCathcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've just returned from the Folk Festival and this was my third visit to the Carolina.

My friend and I had another wonderful stay. The proprietors are warm and friendly, the room was spotless, as is the rest of the B&B, and there's a huge choice for breakfast.

I've just booked for next year as I think this really is the best B&B in Cherry Hinton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great breakfast and great service - Pascuale and his wife Carolina are very kind people and excellent chefs! Nice quite location but close to the center of town. I will stay here again next time I am in Cambridge, no question.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
188 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cambridge Guest House
The Cambridge Guest House
#8 of 126 in Cambridge
111 reviews
5.1 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 126 in Cambridge
175 reviews
3.1 mi away
White Hart Country Inn
White Hart Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Fulbourn
172 reviews
5.3 mi away
Old School House Rooms
Old School House Rooms
#1 of 1 in Waterbeach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Guest House

Address: 138 Perne Road, Cambridge CB1 3NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $111 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carolina Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house.Contemporary style rooms with flat screeen tv, free WI FI, basic and en suite rooms.Self check in procedure for late evening/early morning arrivals. Buffet breakfast for early departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carolina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing