We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carolina Guest House
Ranked #27 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels around the country with work and this is by far the best for the price (a mere £50!). Without doubt, also one of the very best full English breakfasts I've had. The owner was super helpful, a real pleasure to chat to..
I recommend this little gem on every level, you'll have no problems whatsoever and for the price? Priceless!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    72
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
54
76
51
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here for a week at a time. It's like visiting your aunt and uncle except 1) It's not Free and 2) You don't have to sit around for hours on end and make small talk with your relatives reminiscing about the way it use to be! This charming B&B is in a local neighbor setting with EZ access to central Cambridge. The Bus drops you at the door or a 5 pound taxi ride gets you to city center. It's clean, private, quiet, comfortable, safe and the best breakfast on the planet! Patel and his wife treat you like family without making all the inquires that family inevitably do. I didn't spend a fortune to get all these goodies... about half of what a boutique hotel would cost in city center. Save your money and feel like you never left home. Stay at the Carolina B&B but don't tell anyone. Let's just keep it our little secret!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnmatl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After an error with the bookings and the unavalibility of the family room we reserved, the host was able to accomodate us in 2 adjacent rooms. Split up the family, but we had the only 2 rooms on the floor, so it was ok. The house was nicely decorated and the rooms were comfortable. They had a few spots for parking available for guests for free. Breakfast was included, and the host simply asked when and what we wanted to eat. Food was good and plenty. Host was very gracious and enjoyable to talk to. Pleasant stay at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyProTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great view, scenery and location, but my goodness were the owner some what obnoxious. The owner behaved in a manner that was both rude and off putting. The rooms were nice and clean and though the room wasn't overly sized everything was up to scratch and was more than necessary. Break fast was also impressive. A wide variety of choice and a reasonably good quality. The peaceful environment and silence at night allowed a nice sleep. With a change in owners, a place with snobby owners could be a real bargain!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Carolina Guest House and have to say I don't think I could have stayed anywhere nicer. I had a lovely room which was beautifully clean, very comfortable and (considering it was very cold overnight) lovely and warm. There was loads of choice at breakfast - fruit, yoghurt, cereal, croissants, toast, continental meats and cheese and you could also have anything you wanted from the English cooked breakfast menu. Free wifi was a bonus, and they kindly looked after my luggage whilst I spent the day wandering round Cambridge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NagarkotFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while we attended this year's (2012) Cambridge Folk Festival because it's within easy walking distance of the festival grounds. As youngish fiftysomethings, ease of access was our priority, but we have already booked at the Carolina again for next year's festival (which we also thoroughly enjoyed) because it exceeded our expectations on every level. Our room was spotless and equipped with everything we needed; there was even an iron in the cupboard. The cooked breakfast each morning was simply outstanding - one of the nicest we've ever had anywhere, and one that would put the vast majority of 4- and 5-star hotels to shame. Plus, there's plenty on the menu to choose from. Each table in the bright dining room has it's own toaster, so there's never any queueing for guests - it's those really thoughtful little touches that set the Carolina apart. And, on top of everything else, the owners could not be more charming and helpful. My partner and I are not big fans of B&Bs generally, but the Carolina is in a league apart and we hope to become frequent returning guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ergonomictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, thanks for being so welcoming and helpful. I came to visit with my mum as I'm moving to the area, and would def recommend this as a place to stay if anyone was visiting! Also, free wifi is always a bonus.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Parkview Guesthouse
Parkview Guesthouse
#26 of 121 in Cambridge
61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Home from Home
Home from Home
#21 of 121 in Cambridge
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
Victoria Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 121 in Cambridge
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Old School House Rooms
Old School House Rooms
#1 of 1 in Waterbeach
20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#35 of 121 in Cambridge
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acacia Guesthouse
Acacia Guesthouse
#43 of 121 in Cambridge
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Guest House

Property: Carolina Guest House
Address: 138 Perne Road, Cambridge CB1 3NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carolina Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house.Contemporary style rooms with flat screeen tv, free WI FI, basic and en suite rooms.Self check in procedure for late evening/early morning arrivals. Buffet breakfast for early departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carolina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing