We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, friendly family run hotel”
Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last twenty years. When I was a student in Cambridge I booked my family in here when they came to visit me. There are lots of enormous, expensive hotels in Cambridge, but the great thing about the Centennial is it's so friendly, the good value for money, just how helpful the staff are, the wonderful food in the restaurant and the knowledge the staff have about Cambridge, they would do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.

Returning to Cambridge for a weekend last month, I was delighted that the hotel was just how I remembered it, spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained, the owner even remembered me, which I thought was exceptional. It's a lovely walk into the city centre where you'll find my other great Cambridge gem, a cafe called Clowns where they have marvellous Italian coffee and make the best chocolate cake on the planet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

I've stayed in cambridge quite a bit, this is my favourite. Friendly, clean, close to Station and City.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewInYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Friendly, clean and comfortable and excellent value, as a solo female traveller it was reassuring that everyone knew my name too!!

Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etherkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Centennial and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSouthWales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very friendly staff,with good food and close to Cambridge City centre. Large car park for guests and also close to restaurants and other amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Arriving late from overseas and heading towards Cambridge, it's great to find somewhere close to the station and the next morning know that the city is within a 5 minute bus ride or 20 minute walk. The welcome is warm - I treat myself to a full-cooked English breakfast.
This is a family-run hotel and the atmosphere is friendly and intimate.
I've another event I have to go to this year back in Cambridge and intend to use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marm0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

The hotel, ten minutes walking distance from the station,and close to Town, is very clean and comfortable. There are no lifts. My room was quiet, though if one was at the front, it might not have been.
The lighting, I had work to do, was adequate.
The staff I met were all very pleasant and helpful. The food was good, and (and but visitors should not expect potatoes at dinner if they just order salad) Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
19 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,227 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Address: 63/71 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $123 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing