We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
53
107
90
40
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
53
107
90
40
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the flying pig railway station long walk into town a family run hotel city centre botanical gardens car park priced hotel business trip convenient location rooms are comfortable friendly hotel visit cambridge twin room cereal university
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2017

I think it's unfair to say old-fashioned as the Centennial is old fashioned in the best sense.

Yes, the décor probably hasn't changed since the 1980s, but it is scrupulously clean and most importantly doesn't look tired - just old. I've stayed at hotels that haven't been updated for a while, but there are no threadbare carpets, chipped paint or overpainted flock wallpaper here.

I've perhaps been spoilt with business travel and having the choice to stay at boutique hotels and whilst the Centennial certainly isn't boutique, it does have a certain charm - this is how boutique hotels looked in the 80s-90s.

These niggles feel a little unkind as the service and staff are second to none and all are friendly helpful and willing to go the extra mile.

The breakfast is superb and the evening menu changes at least weekly - sensibly they focus on a set menu, getting the selection right instead of offering too wide a range of food. Again the options are very much rooted in the past (it's not quite prawn cocktail, steak and black forest gateau but not far off), but all my menu choices have been excellent, you can't really ask for good food cooked well can you?

It's my go to hotel as I work nearby, it's got free parking and free wifi (unlike the nearby Travelodge) and is close enough to the centre, pubs and other restaurants that it would be very churlish to give it anything other than 4/5 stars.

Recommended.

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room - the street it's on in a busy one.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyboy_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We stayed here for a short break. We were out and about exploring Cambridge most of the time, so really only needed somewhere to rest our heads. Our room was tiny with twin beds in it and the wardrobe was a cupboard where there was also an ironing board and iron and some sort of stool so it was difficult to hang up our clothes properly. Apart from that the beds were very comfortable and all facilities were spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was convenient for the city centre, which was about 15 minutes walk away.

Room tip: Don't go for the "budget" option.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

On arrival was greeted by friendly and extremely helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money. Breakfast was very good. We stayed in hotel for dinner in the evening, at an excellent rate, for a very good meal. Would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely visit again.

Room tip: We had a room on the top floor, lots of stairs. Would recommend ground or first floor room.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Stayed here for two night and was struck by the standard of cleanliness. The standard of the cooked breakfast was very high with the most enormous tasty sausages.

Well within walking distance of central Cambridge it was an excellent stop for this short break. Thank you for the excellent service!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erfreutwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Ample free car parking which isn't easy to find in cambridge. Also near the rail station.

Very friendly helpful staff.

Rooms are dated but comfortable and our room at the back was nice and quiet.
Free wifi. Inclusive breakfast of packets of cereals and english breakfast cooked to order.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Around 20 minutes walk from the centre but that walk is along one main road lined with many bars and restaurants so easy to navigate and plenty of opportunities to break up the journey with a drink or three :-)

The botanical gardens are across the road if visiting in the summer.

Overall pleasant stay and value for money.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank darrenk151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews