We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try to find another hotel by Sis2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try to find another hotel by Sis2012”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Plus points are that it is clean, there is good free parking and it is within walking distance of the centre of Cambridge. The room was very small and cramped and the television only got the five terrestrial channels, despite two requests for it to be fixed. The bath was very chipped and damaged and the safety mat would not attach to it. There were no handles or aids to help getting in and out of the shower which was above the bath so that my companion was unable to take a shower for fear of falling. The stairs are very steep and we had no help with luggage when checking out. On our return on the second day, the room had not been cleaned at all, water glass left dirty, tea cup removed, beds covered over but not made. Breakfast was very limited. Eggs cooked in every way plus "full English" accompanied by sliced bread toasted, small pats of butter and plastic packs of jam. On the second day I asked for a croissant and the serving person was quite shocked, they only served the cheap sliced bread. No bowls of grapefruit or even the dreaded prunes, no cold buffet, not even cheese. All this would have been acceptable in a budget B&B but we were paying £120 per night, far too much for the standard of this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear, away from the floodlights, if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    79
    79
    33
    7
See reviews for
27
71
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is handy for a trip to Cambridge it is only a 15 minute walk to the centre along the main road. We were allowed to park in the car park well before we were do to check in this was handy as parking is expensive in Cambridge.Our room was on the 1st floor and although it was very small it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom only had a shower nozzle over the bath Which was a bit annoying to get the water temperature right.Breakfast was nice with a good choice of food and The staff were friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is basically a number of terraced houses with walls knocked out to form a hotel. When we arrived we were allocated a room in the roof space which was very small as we were not on their register having booked through hotel rooms.com
I spoke to some guy in a tracksuit who seemed to have some authority, but difficult to know as no one is English here. We were moved to a ground floor room which was a similar small size without the roof beams!
Room is next to main road so very noisy, especially if you open window for your air conditioning!
Furniture etc is all very dated and unpleasant. Bathroom had no shower except for hand held contraption that sits on top of the taps.
Breakfast lived up to the low standards already set! First you have to go down some steep narrow stairs and open a door from the stairs as there is no room to get to the bottom of the stairs. There are two rooms, we were in the overflow room which obviously forms part of the bar. You either sit on the bench seat which is too low for eating at the table or a stool. There was a limited choice of cereal and the orange juice was either very diluted or orange squash. Forget about any ideas of continental breakfast, it is full English or a variation. A few tables had left their sausage virtually untouched, so that was a good sign of things to come. Fried eggs, still have most of the grease on them. When we asked for milk for our tea, the waitress has to take it from a couple on another table. Another couple asked for some butter for their toast which seemed to be a problem. We didn't dare ask for either salt and pepper which were not on the tables or any sauces for the full English.
There is good reason why this hotel was one of the few left on the web search sites at short notice and for £100 per night it is at least 50% overpriced.
On the plus side there is free parking, a slow wifi and a 10 - 15 minute walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a lot of traffic noise. Rooms at the top have little head room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is on a busy road, about 20 minutes walk from the centre. We had a room at the back so it was quiet. There are no views of anything as the front is on the main road and the back is the car park. We had wifi and free parking which was good, although we were paying £120 a night which we felt was a bit expensive considering the location. Staff were helpful and pleasant, but the hotel seems a bit dated, and very dark i.e. dark wood everywhere.

The price included breakfast which was good. However, be prepared to wait for a seat if the hotel is busy. Breakfast is in the basement and the stairs are very narrow, there’s no lift in the hotel and bedrooms are on the ground, first and second floors. You get an old fashioned huge key ring with the room key, which you have to hand in when you go out.

The room was a ‘luxury double’ but we couldn’t see how it was luxurious. It was not a king sized bed and there wasn’t much room to move around. The wardrobe (with three doors) was in the entrance to the room, opposite the bathroom door, meaning there were five doors which could be opened in a small area. This did cause problems with two of us trying to get around.

The room had a desk, chair (in front of the long mirror), small TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. The cups were really small so you couldn’t have a decent cuppa. There was one spare socket by the desk, we had to search around for other to charge our phone/laptop etc. There was no fridge.

The bathroom had a bidet which seemed strange, along with a bath and toilet. The shower head was over the bath and was really slow. It took a while to adjust the hot and cold water, which just trickled out, and then went totally cold part way through having a shower. There were the usual bathroom amenities available.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkAnnie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavagnacco, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'd say it's perfect if you're travelling by train and want to make the most of your stay in the county, maybe with an half day trip to Ely? or a day trip to London: City centr about 1 mile away or frequent buses nearby. Friendly staff, very good breakfast, rooms clean but furniture is not really modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my family. We had 2 twin room which were both spotlessly clean and comfortable. The beds were a little short. I am average 5ft 4" and my feet touched the end of the bed so anyone taller might get cold feet, but fine for me. Although the furniture is not modern it was all very clean and perfectly fine for a short stay. The bathroom again was spotless, good strong shower, soft clean white towels, nothing fancy but all you need and I am a bit OCD when it comes to cleanliness. Staff were very helpful. Receptionist even looked up the postcodes of all the car parks and fees so we could put them in our sat nav. Breakfast was very nice. All the toast you could want with choices of cereal and fruit juices. Tea and coffee , full English with your choice of types of egg.We went in to breakfast at 9am and plenty of tables available. Walking distance from Cambridge Centre about 20mins which was a bit too long for my weiry mother but fine for us spritely 40/50 somethings. Only gripe was the doors, which needed to be slammed shut sometimes and wake you up, but this was a minor problem that could probably be fixed with a bit of rubbing down.Plenty of parking too, there always seemed to be a spaces. Didn't use the bar area but looked very nice. I would rate 3/5 but give 4/5 because the staff were so helpful and I always think good customer service is so important.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park at the back so that you are not disturbed by traffic noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

So, firstly the good points. The full English breakfast was very good and pleasantly served. The central location is very handy for exploring Cambridge and near the station too. The room was ok - a bit small (and the bathroom was tiny with only a handheld shower attachment), clean and functional. The TV was flat screen and neat.

However, a big warning to travellers that like their sleep: they put us in room near reception and next to the main staircase, which was very creaky; make sure it doesn't happen to you. We had been to the Cambridge Folk Festival and got back a little before midnight hoping for a good night's kip. No chance! Other people were coming in from the festival and other events in Cambridge and, although they weren't being noisy, sleep was impossible as they got their keys and said goodnight to each other. The last one came in about 3 a.m. Then, in the morning we were awoken by people coming down the staircase, so we couldn't win. After 1 a.m. they shut the front door and guests need to ring an intercom which, again, was clearly audible from our room. Maybe had we had a room away from all this we would have formed a more positive opinion of the place.

A very bizarre thing happened. Check out time is 11a.m. and we had finished breakfast by 9, so we decided to go for a wander in the city centre. It is one of those hotels where you leave your key at reception, which we did, fully intending to be back by check out time. At about 9.40 my wife got a call on her mobile from the hotel saying we hadn't paid (they don't take a swipe of your card). She pointed out that we hadn't checked out yet and our bags were still in the room. When we did check out (well before 11!) we did get a half-hearted apology and an assurance that they weren't accusing us of trying not to pay - but why call us then? Are we the only guests ever who take a morning stroll before checking out? It hasn't left us with a good impression of the place.

If you find yourself in Cambridge at festival time then you may choose to stay here, as accommodation is hard to find, but apart from that I can't see why it would be a natural choice.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near reception and the creaky stairs or take very good ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merglys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.6 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
528 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Property: Centennial Hotel
Address: 63/71 Hills Road, Cambridge CB2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing