We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed in what was called a classic double- we could not move in the room as it was so tiny. The next room we stayed in was unclean and very depressing will never stay here again. The service was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M4g4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It is most regrettable to learn that did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Please feel free to e-mail me with your specific comments and I can look into any service issues you had. My e-mail is christine.gallop@universityarmshotel.com.

Kind regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Like many reviews on here, I must praise the excellent customer service of this hotel.
The food was good and the public areas were well presented. The website is careful to avoid the hideous 60s extension, which is a little naughty, but you only have to Google the hotel to know what you're really letting yourself in for.
Unlike others, I had no problem with the carpark, finding it easy to get around and find a space. The charge of £16 felt steep initially, but we arrived before noon and left just before noon the following day and you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else in the city that would charge less.

The rooms were tired, with stains on the ceiling, cracked bathroom tiles and a general feeling of neglect, but that is far more the fault of the past than the future and I wish the current owners the best of luck in refurbishing a once great hotel.
If the new decor matches the high quality of the staff, they'll be on to a winner.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to the rooms overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Dobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mr Dobson

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and comment on the excellent customer service at the hotel. I will feed this back to the team, as it is incredibly rewarding when guests take the time to make good comments. Thank you also for your wishes with regards to the refurbishment of the hotel. It is certainly an exciting time for the hotel and the plans outline the refurbishment which will make the hotel what it used to be “the best hotel in Cambridge”. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you again.

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

just an over night stay…..large room, very comfortable bed and a superb outlook over Parker's Piece. Excellent breakfast and excellent service from friendly and helpful staff……..but De Vere's, the owning chain, let their staff and this lovely old building down….away from the beautiful public rooms it's a tired place, stained carpets, frayed wallpaper and decaying window frames……come on De Vere spend some money on the place.

Room Tip: get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor with a view over Parker's Piece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Kelvinroy

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experience how friendly and helpful our staff are at the Cambridge University Arms Hotel. I will pass your comments onto the team as it is these positive comments that encourage and motivate. You will be pleased to know that the hotel will be having an extensive refurbishment and will be indeed the premier hotel in Cambridge. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel has an old-world look and feel but this is more attractive in the public areas than in the rooms, which - at least in my case - are looking dated. I understand a refurb is being carried out, and probably not before time. Having said that, the room was an adequate size and was comfortable.

Location is very central, and also about a 15 min walk from the railway station. Breakfast is fine - orders are taken for hot breakfasts but they're delivered quickly. Staff were professional and polite. A dedicated taxi phone linked to a local provider and taxis would rush round in 5 to 10 mins.

One slight gripe was around the wifi; rooms do have free wifi but it was somewhat temperamental in my room, cutting out at times, and I did wonder whether the bandwidth was sufficient at peak times.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise from late night rowdies in the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Philip

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cambridge University Arms Hotel. The hotel is indeed looking forward to a refurbishment, however in the meantime I will look into your comments with regards to the WIFI with our maintenance team. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back once the hotel has been refurbished.
Kind regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I agree with many of the poor reviews , I guess it would be a few years before the UA reaches 4 star standard again.

I was disappointed by :-

The poor state of the bathroom , rusty and mouldy windows are not acceptable - nor are poor standard botched attempts at resealing the surfaces around the bath.

The heating. Every corridor was like a sauna , and our room was no better. I was momentarily cheered by the air conditioning unit - but alas it did not work.

The noise from drunken students messing around in the park at 2am !

The noise from traffic starting at 6am (the price you pay from having to open the rusty windows).

The breakfast ! Tasteless bacon and sausages. A travesty when there is so much good local produce available.

Would I stay here again ? No

Room Tip: Ask to move to one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, however I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. In the rooms that do not have air-conditioning, we supply fans in order to offer guests a solution to the problem. I will pass your comments onto the chef with regards to the breakfast. We do use local produce wherever possible, especially in our R17 restaurant, which is rated 6 on Trip Advisor. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cambridge University Arms hotel once it has been refurbished.
Kind regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Otley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

90 members of the Society stayed for a weekend. This was our 30th meet in various hotels across the UK. We found all our pre event requirements were met efficiently by our contact Christine Gallop, who introduced me to her team and the duty managers for the weekend. Our members were very complimentary about the hotel and its central location to all the amenities of Cambridge. The duty managers dealt with the various functions competently and with ease. The Shaw Savill Society Committee wish to express their thanks for the success of the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
May I thank you for your kind words and feedback regarding yours and fellows of your group that stayed with us at the hotel, having had the opportunity to utilise many of the hotels services including our conference and banqueting, does assist us in developing training manuals and standards for the forth coming quarter.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

booked a standard room but were offered an upgrade which we took as we read that some of the rooms are awful, and yes it was a little dated [I understand a refurb is in progress]but for the price we paid was a great size ,perfectly clean and had everything we needed with the added attraction of views over the park. particularly loved the old style lift!! breakfast was great, and being cooked to order is always a bonus. the hotel is in a good position for the center of town and there is plenty of accessable parking on site [contrary to previous reviews] and £16 is not an unreasonable fee for Cambridge!
we would consider this hotel again if we came to Cambridge

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_kdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear s_kdavies

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Cambridge University Arms Hotel. The hotel does have a great location, so close to all Cambridge’s attractions and shops! As you mentioned, our prices do reflect the room décor, thus offering great value for money for a city centre hotel. Our Otis lift (dating back to 1927!), is often mentioned when guests stay and is one of the many individual quirks of the hotel, that our guests enjoy. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and coupled with the fact you are able to enjoy a view out of the window over-looking the famous Parker’s Piece is another added bonus when staying at the Cambridge University Arms!
Thank you again for your comments which I will feed back to all the team at the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing