We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed May 2, 2013

i usually stay at the University Arms most weeks on business. I choose the hotel because of its central location in Cambridge.

It is close to bars and restaurants, shops and the colleges, which are all within 5 mins walk.

Some of the rooms overlook a large green area, known as Parkers Piece and have great views.

The staff are very friendly, and there is nice bar which also serves food. The breakfasts are substantial with freshly cooked food to order.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Sharon W

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review; I am delighted that you enjoy our central location and our teams helpful and attentive.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the University Arms very soon.

Best Wishes
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 915 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights, firstly the hotel is in a great location for the City Centre and although looks modern from the outside is actually quite traditional inside.
Our room overlooked Parkers Place and was large and clean, with a nice bathroom and great shower, although could have done with redecorating, as could the rest of the hotel, which is looking tired. Housekeeping were quick to arrive when I asked for the bedding to be changed to anti-allergy and deliver an extra bathrobe (there should have been 2 in the room anyway) and the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice surprise.
Both nights there were functions in the room below, which unfortunately meant loud disco music till midnight both nights, slightly annoying but as I'm 6 months pregnant I can sleep through anything! It would have been nice to have been warned about this though and if I'd been a light sleeper or visiting with children I would have asked to move rooms.
Breakfast the first morning was great, service was excellent and the breakfast bar was fully stocked. The Sunday morning was a different story, although it didn't seem too much busier the staff were obviously not coping with the extra Sunday morning demand. There was no butter or milk on the table and asking twice for first bowls and then milk for cereal, I had to eventually abandon my cereal as my hot breakfast has arrived. The breakfast bar was not as well stocked as it had been the day before. The hot breakfast was equally enjoyable both days, so this is obviously more of a front of house issue rather than a kitchen issue.
The bar is lovely with great views over Parkers Place, although expensive.
Parking is far too expensive at £16 a night, I appreciate this is a city centre location, but £32 for a weekend is far too much, maybe a discount for residents or for multiple nights?
We would return if visiting Cambridge again, but hope the hotel spend a little on sprucing up the building and improving the 'little things'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Parkers Place, if on the first floor check if any functions are on as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehsun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear ehsun18,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay here at the University Arms. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and you found our teams diligent and responsive. I am pleased you enjoyed our freshly prepared and cooked to order breakfast. I do note however, you feel that we where over stretched on Sunday morning.

I appreciate your kind comments relating to Parkers Bar and that you enjoyed our views over looking Parker Piece.

In relation to our parking tariffs, we regularly conduct market price research to ensure our pricing is in line with our competitors.
Thank you once again for your kind review and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the University Arms very soon
Best wishes
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room was adequate,the staff polite and the public rooms impressive if a little shabby. The location covenient for city centre. BUT we had no sleep all night because of the noise from the Fountain Inn opposite.The thumping music went on till 3 am and shouting in the street till 4.15 am. We phoned reception 3 times and were told this is routine. We were offered another room higher up but at 3 am were disinclined to move. We phoned the police twice (101) but were told that unless a fight broke out they would do nothing. I thought of going downstairs to start one but it would have been 40 against one so thought better of it. The first floor room facing the street is unfit for purpose and yet they charge up to £180 per night for it.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be quieter but to be sure of a good night's sleep do not use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I visited Cambridge with my girlfriend earlier this year with my girlfriend for a weekend getaway.
We stayed at the University Arms which was an excellent choice - fantastic location right n the e centre of Cambridge. We fortunate enough to get a room over looking Parkers Piece which was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful from check in to check out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Michael R

Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay at the University Arms. I am absolutely delighted that my teams were able to look after so well. Also, I am equally pleased you enjoyed our central location and we were able to allocate your room preference.
Michael R, thank you once again and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes


Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with my wife and wouldn't recommend it. Parking was charged at £16 per night which I thought over the top. Their literature states that bed linen will be changed every second day, but it wasn't changed once during our stay. I bought my wife a glass of very ordinary white wine in the bar and it cost £9 - no wonder the bar was always deserted! The rooms are very tired and not particularly clean, the standard of housekeeping was well below what we are used to nowadays - the bath had some horrible long hairs in it from the previous guest, and I won't even start to tell you about the state of the toilet!. On the first morning at breakfast I got my hot meal but my poor wife was completely forgotten about. After waiting for ages she had to go to the maitre d' and ask when she might get served. There were 3 managers on duty but only 2 waitresses. On the final morning we awoke to find our bill had been posted under our door, and it came to £706. When I went to the reception desk however, the girl asked me for £855! When I queried this she spent at least 10 minutes fooling around with her computer and eventually told me the first bill was a mistake. No apology given! I then told her the housekeeping standards were well below what I expected but she declined to comment.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Iain18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Iain18
Thank you for posting your recent review. I am saddened to learn that your overall experience was not up to our usual high standards.

I am greatly concerned in reading your comments in relation to our housekeeping teams. We take great pride in the diligence of our housekeepers. I am sorry that clearly on this occasion this was not reflected in your experience, but please rest assured I will investigate this fully.

In relation to our resident's bar prices and our car parking, we regularly conduct market price research to ensure our pricing is in line with our competitors. I am sorry if you felt they were too high. In relation to your wine, I cannot comment as I am not at all sure which you had. I can however confirm that our house Argento Chardonnay Vinonir is priced at a competitive £4.50 per 175ml serving.

I am also sorry to learn that you experienced below standard service at breakfast. The very nature of our service is to ensure that our guests are waited on. This is to promote staff interaction and ensure freshness and quality. I deeply sorry this has not been the case.
Iain18, thank you once again for your feedback, as it is only through such that our hotel can improve.

Kind Regards
Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visit this hotel about four times a year and it is always good.
Look for the special deals they run which are very good value for money.
Staff always friendly and the food is very good either for Breakfast or in R17 their restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warwickshire80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your resent stay here with us at the University Arms Cambridge.

I am delighted that my teams were able to look after you so well and am also equally pleased you where able to take advantage of our special offers.

Thank you once again for your kind review. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the University Arms very soon.
Best Wishes

Matthew Morgan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the university arms recently and was pleasently surprised .As a chef at a michelin starred restaurant im always wary of hotel food.However on my stay i dubiously ordered the mackerel and the cod.Mackerel is not an easy fish to cook perfectly one minute either way its inedible.This mackerel was cooked to perfection.The chef Robert who i met briefly was very friendly and even gave me his recipe for carrot cake.The Cod again was cooked superbly ,not easy to do as the fish has to be moist and succulent and the skin crispy.The rooms and staff were lovely,but as a chef my main object is always food.With a chef like Robert they really have a master of the craft.I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends,if not to stay then to eat.Throughly enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RStarke46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Rstarke46
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, following your recent stay with us. I'm absolutely delighted that you had such a "thoroughly enjoyable" experience dinning in R17. Please rest assured I will be among the first to pass on my thanks and congratulation to Robert.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes

Matthew Morgan
Operations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.0 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Address: 1 Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $81 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing