We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy bed, shame about the bathroom and the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Arms Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“comfy bed, shame about the bathroom and the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

receptionist at check in was robotic, read off the screen and not at all what we had expected. Hidden charges - eg: have you parked your car in our car park? - yes we said, That will be £16.50. Are you using a credit card? yes we said, That will be £3.50. no option offered for alternatives so I asked is there a charge for a debit card - no she said without looking up. ok that was the start. the room 211 was very nice, lovely comfy bed but what a shame about the bathroom, tired, grubby grouting, pathetic attempt to give it an upgrade without updating the taps, sink, bath, tiles. and the shower control fell off the wall .yuk. Later that evening after dinner (elsewhere) we returned for a night cap at about 11pm. It took half an hour to bring us 2 whiskies with water. And sins of all sins - the water was already put into the glass with the whisky!. We of course said something and the server said oh sorry but didn't offer to change them. Obviously he hadnt been trained. We couldn't be bothered to say anymore it was too late. So we slept ok despite the noise from the road (ask for a room at the back) and were not asked at check out if everything was ok. Shame.

Room Tip: get one at the back if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Angie L

We are very sorry you experienced problems with reception and the bar.
We normally have very positive comments about our receptionists.
We will be retraining the receptionist who checked you in and out.
The barman who served you has been trained, but has left our employment this morning.
Our parking charge is £16.00, not £16.50 is lower than our competitors and the charge for using a credit card is £2.50 and not £3.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is quite old fashion but well maintained. However, the bathroom and toilet looked like they were forced into the room. Suitable just for a short stay and quite close to the Cambridge train station. One of lifts is actually the early days cage type so remember to close the door otherwise others will not be able to use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear DennisKeya

Thank you for your review, pleased you found our hotel ideal and for your excellent suggest on how to use our 1927 cage lift which I am told is one of only two which are now in working order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

One hour wait to check in as room was not ready, kept returning to reception to enquire was treated as something of annoyance. Room OK, a bit twee for my taste. Generally hotel needs to have an overhaul. Good location though, within easy walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear MFIVienna

It is very difficult to reply to your review as we are not aware of what time you were trying to check into the hotel and we do not have your name therefore we are not able to check.

Although we run at very occupancies check in time is normally 15h00, but we will try and check guests in earlier if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a shabby hotel showing signs of wear and is in urgent need of refurbishment. The rooms at the back is next to regent street in Cambridge which has a party going on every night. Little chance of sleep. I wouldn't go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank theparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear theparrott

Thank you for your review we are sorry you expereinced problems with noise which can occur in a hotel situated in the centre of a busy city.
The hotel has been sold and the new owners are looking at a substantial refurbishment in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Ryde, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Frequent stays at the University Arms just underline how far ahead it is of all the competition. Wonderful staff, and a highly approachable manager who keeps them on their toes. Nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast in the wonderful old dining room is an experience; and dinner in the modern restaurant is unlikely to disappoint.

Excellent bargain rates via the DeVere web-site, or LateRooms. Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Cambridge?

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Parker's Piece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Duncan W

Thank you for really lovely review, pleased you always enjoy your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of the city so ideal for looking round the city. Whilst it has character it is showing signs of age. The room was adequate but the en suite shower was very small and the water pressure was so low it could have been coming out of a watering can. Breakfast was very dissapointing, buffet style with over cooked bacon and something vaguely resembling Black pudding, eggs hard. On the second day I tried to order a la carte but was told they had no chef so had to put up with another poor breakfast. There is parking at the hotel but this is quite limited and they charge £16 per night. They also charge 2.5% for using your credit card, a ridiclously high number and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear AstirGrob

Thank you for your review I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast.
If you look at previous reviews we normally receive very positive comments about our breakfast.
Our normal Breakfast Chef did call in sick while you stayed with us and we had to bring in a replacement person who could cope with the +/- 120 breakfasts we were expecting, but did not feel confident to deal with the a la carte breakfast offering.
Our parking charge is the lowest for a 4 star hotel in Cambridge and a charge for a credit card is now very common with most hotel groups as this is the charge we are charged by the credit card company.
In your review you do not indicate which room you stayed in so I am unable to follow up on your comment about water pressure.
I hope you stay with us again and we can show you our normal standard of breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in the centre of Cambridge, it is not a modern hotel but has loads of character. My husband and I loved our stay here. The staff were lovely , the meals great . The breakfasts were plentiful . The hotel was very warm and we were there in November . We will stay here every time we want to visit our son at university . The price was excellent and we loved our room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear milecastle

Very pleased you loved your stay and to read you will stay with us again when you visit your son in university.

Our breakfasts are normally very popular and receive postive reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing