We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Arms Cambridge
Nearby Hotels
$240
$200
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$147
$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
$133
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
95
237
242
196
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
237
242
196
143
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 913 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Frequent stays at the University Arms just underline how far ahead it is of all the competition. Wonderful staff, and a highly approachable manager who keeps them on their toes. Nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast in the wonderful old dining room is an experience; and dinner in the modern restaurant is unlikely to disappoint.

Excellent bargain rates via the DeVere web-site, or LateRooms. Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Cambridge?

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Parker's Piece.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Duncan W

Thank you for really lovely review, pleased you always enjoy your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of the city so ideal for looking round the city. Whilst it has character it is showing signs of age. The room was adequate but the en suite shower was very small and the water pressure was so low it could have been coming out of a watering can. Breakfast was very dissapointing, buffet style with over cooked bacon and something vaguely resembling Black pudding, eggs hard. On the second day I tried to order a la carte but was told they had no chef so had to put up with another poor breakfast. There is parking at the hotel but this is quite limited and they charge £16 per night. They also charge 2.5% for using your credit card, a ridiclously high number and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear AstirGrob

Thank you for your review I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast.
If you look at previous reviews we normally receive very positive comments about our breakfast.
Our normal Breakfast Chef did call in sick while you stayed with us and we had to bring in a replacement person who could cope with the +/- 120 breakfasts we were expecting, but did not feel confident to deal with the a la carte breakfast offering.
Our parking charge is the lowest for a 4 star hotel in Cambridge and a charge for a credit card is now very common with most hotel groups as this is the charge we are charged by the credit card company.
In your review you do not indicate which room you stayed in so I am unable to follow up on your comment about water pressure.
I hope you stay with us again and we can show you our normal standard of breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is in the centre of Cambridge, it is not a modern hotel but has loads of character. My husband and I loved our stay here. The staff were lovely , the meals great . The breakfasts were plentiful . The hotel was very warm and we were there in November . We will stay here every time we want to visit our son at university . The price was excellent and we loved our room.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank milecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear milecastle

Very pleased you loved your stay and to read you will stay with us again when you visit your son in university.

Our breakfasts are normally very popular and receive postive reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A pleasant hotel, our room was a little dated but had a great view over Parkers Piece park and was comfortable with a modern clean bathroom, really comfortable bed and a sunny disposition which was lovely to wake up to on Sunday morning. Perfectly position for walking around the city and visiting all the sites. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, we didn't stop for breakfast in the hotel as the town has so much to offer out and about anyway to choose from. The hotel is in need of some tlc but still retains its charm and character so a little tired paintwork etc is forgiveable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear ManadyH2

Thank you for your nice review and very pleased you found our facilities to be very good and our team very friendly and helpful.
Glad that you were able to spend sometime in our great city and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in the university arms and the food in the restaurant was amazing .The mackerel was cooked perfectly and the braised beef was a thing of joy! To top it off the chef Robert gave my wife a delicious recipe for ham hocks which he took the trouble to write for me.As a chef myself I feel I'm qualified to say the food was superb and cooked with real expertise.I would wholy recommend the restaurant it was a breath of fresh air from the usual dull , badly cooked hotel fare!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ssatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Ssatisfied

Thank you for your very good review and I will certainly pass on your complimentary comments on to Robert who is one of our chefs in R17.

Very nice to receive reviews such as this which is so motivational for the team.

Than you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews