We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Cambridge by a mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Ryde, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Cambridge by a mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Frequent stays at the University Arms just underline how far ahead it is of all the competition. Wonderful staff, and a highly approachable manager who keeps them on their toes. Nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast in the wonderful old dining room is an experience; and dinner in the modern restaurant is unlikely to disappoint.

Excellent bargain rates via the DeVere web-site, or LateRooms. Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Cambridge?

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Parker's Piece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Duncan W

Thank you for really lovely review, pleased you always enjoy your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of the city so ideal for looking round the city. Whilst it has character it is showing signs of age. The room was adequate but the en suite shower was very small and the water pressure was so low it could have been coming out of a watering can. Breakfast was very dissapointing, buffet style with over cooked bacon and something vaguely resembling Black pudding, eggs hard. On the second day I tried to order a la carte but was told they had no chef so had to put up with another poor breakfast. There is parking at the hotel but this is quite limited and they charge £16 per night. They also charge 2.5% for using your credit card, a ridiclously high number and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear AstirGrob

Thank you for your review I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast.
If you look at previous reviews we normally receive very positive comments about our breakfast.
Our normal Breakfast Chef did call in sick while you stayed with us and we had to bring in a replacement person who could cope with the +/- 120 breakfasts we were expecting, but did not feel confident to deal with the a la carte breakfast offering.
Our parking charge is the lowest for a 4 star hotel in Cambridge and a charge for a credit card is now very common with most hotel groups as this is the charge we are charged by the credit card company.
In your review you do not indicate which room you stayed in so I am unable to follow up on your comment about water pressure.
I hope you stay with us again and we can show you our normal standard of breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in the centre of Cambridge, it is not a modern hotel but has loads of character. My husband and I loved our stay here. The staff were lovely , the meals great . The breakfasts were plentiful . The hotel was very warm and we were there in November . We will stay here every time we want to visit our son at university . The price was excellent and we loved our room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear milecastle

Very pleased you loved your stay and to read you will stay with us again when you visit your son in university.

Our breakfasts are normally very popular and receive postive reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A pleasant hotel, our room was a little dated but had a great view over Parkers Piece park and was comfortable with a modern clean bathroom, really comfortable bed and a sunny disposition which was lovely to wake up to on Sunday morning. Perfectly position for walking around the city and visiting all the sites. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, we didn't stop for breakfast in the hotel as the town has so much to offer out and about anyway to choose from. The hotel is in need of some tlc but still retains its charm and character so a little tired paintwork etc is forgiveable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear ManadyH2

Thank you for your nice review and very pleased you found our facilities to be very good and our team very friendly and helpful.
Glad that you were able to spend sometime in our great city and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in the university arms and the food in the restaurant was amazing .The mackerel was cooked perfectly and the braised beef was a thing of joy! To top it off the chef Robert gave my wife a delicious recipe for ham hocks which he took the trouble to write for me.As a chef myself I feel I'm qualified to say the food was superb and cooked with real expertise.I would wholy recommend the restaurant it was a breath of fresh air from the usual dull , badly cooked hotel fare!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ssatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Ssatisfied

Thank you for your very good review and I will certainly pass on your complimentary comments on to Robert who is one of our chefs in R17.

Very nice to receive reviews such as this which is so motivational for the team.

Than you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very well situated for colleges, shopping and Corn Exchange. The modern bit on the front of the hotel doesn't do it jusice when you arrive - take a look a the back from Parker's Piece and you get a better idea of what a characterful building it is.
Standard rooms are quite small but clean and comfy with free WiFi and good TV (all Sky Sports channels).
Staff are very efficient and helpful.
Don't even think about not having the rate with breakfast, as this is excellent and served in a stunning ballroom overlooking the Piece.

Room Tip: higher floors quieter - but you are in the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear ChrisD

Very pleased you agree we have a nice hotel with a great location and helpful efficient staff

Our breakfasts are very good value for money if you take advantage of the bed and breakfast rate.

Your Room Tip is a good one as we are a hotel in a city centre location.

We hope to see you back in the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is wonderfully located close to the town centre but I agree that it does look a little tired inside & needs some love. Nevertheless the staff were helpful & friendly, the breakfasts plentiful & the beds exceedingly comfortable. If I had to comment on the rooms I would say that my friend & I stayed at the back of the hotel & it was quiet but other friends had rooms on the front which were noisy, especially the ones overlooking Parkers Piece which seems to be the route for late night revelers! New double glazed windows maybe? We also found the lack of power outlets a bit frustrating in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Parkers Piece have great views but are noisy at night, as are the rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TopsMa

Very pleased you found our staff friendly, helpful and our beds comfortable.

We agree that if you are light sleeper you might find the bedrooms at the back of the hotel quieter. We are in the centre of Cambride and their are occasions when we encounter noise problems from Parkers Piece.

Hopefully we have the opportunity of welcoming more guests from the Netherlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing