We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic event location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic event location!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently organised a Halloween Ball for 200 guests at the University Arms, and I cannot recommend it enough. The staff were attentive and very helpful, the food was fantastic, and the decoration of the ball room looked brilliant. We were extremely well looked after by our Event Manager Dante, and the guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. All in all it was a fantastic event, and we will certainly be using this venue again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear ETovo

Thank you for your fantastic review, very pleased you enjoyed the event.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to Dante and Mark our Head Chef.
We look forward to your next event with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skegness
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just got back from Cambridge after a week-end with friends at the University Arms.
Cannot fault it, yes it may be a 'little tired' but this is more than out-weighed by the wonderful staff, and the in house facilities.
It was our anniversary and on arrival we were upgraded into a superior room complete with a four poster bed, balcony, complimentary wine,fruit, slippers, dressing gowns etc.
Don't miss eating at R17 restaurant in the hotel, it was far better that the other establishments we ate out at in the town and had the added advantage of being close at hand.
Would have no hesitation booking a return visit anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear dave h

What a lovely review and so motivational for the team.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to send this to me.
I am sorry I did not have the opportunity to wish you well on your anniversary, but very pleased the team look after you with a few special touches.

I hope we see you back in Cambridge soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My stay on a business conference revealed how inept this place is run. Refused port with the cheese course by lazy staff as they would have to fetch it from another bar. Had to negotiate to get a drink after midnight. When i asked bar staff what ales they had they don't even know what that means. The staff struggle with the English language and the whole concept of customer service is alien to them. A place that thinks it is far far better than it really is. Give it a miss.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BriddersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear BriddersP

Very sorry you had problems with your stay and dissapointted we were not able to discuss your problems while you were in the hotel.

If you had read other reviews our team members are customer focused and we do care about our guests.

Like the vast majority of hotels we do have a large percentage of team members who were not born in the UK, but we do test them on their English skills and will carry out checks again to ensure team members who serve guests are proficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for a night in October , location is great for exploring the city , the breakfast and evening meal we had were fine , we payed £129 for the room inc breakfast (which i think was a special offer at the time ) parking in the hotel is £16 per day I believe . This would of been a grand hotel in its day but in my opinion it is now looking a little rough around the edges and a bit tatty in places , overall we had mixed feelings about the place . One bonus was good tv with sky sports included .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJC0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear SJC0967

Pleased you found our location great for exploring our beautiful city and the breakfast and evening meal fine.

We are hoping for a refurbishement once the hotel is sold and will be keeping sky sport so you can keep in touch with the sporting world during the cold winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights (Thursday thru Saturday). Staff were quite charming and attentive. The hotel is starting to show that it needs a little makeover to get it up a standard. However the rooms were quite comfortable. Breakfast was fine - I recommend the freshly cooked poached eggs - very good. Air conditioning very noisy and if you're room is towards the front - then the Cambridge nightlife (or going home life) can be noisy in the early hours.

But position is fantastic, and the staff really try hard to look after you. Even recommending (thank you Sylvia) that we report back on this site

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear edward d

Thank you for your review

Very pleased you found our staff charming and attentive and our breakfasts of a good standard.

Being in the centre of a University City there are occasions when it can be noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during the mid-week on a business trip.

It is located in walking distance of the city centre and good place to start from to explore Cambridge.

Ovearll, the experience was favourable and the breakfast buffet was generous and varied. The staff seemed attentive and happy to provide information.

The decor of the rooms could be improved to make them up to daate. They are however clean and offer a good night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeres25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Xeres25

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you found our team friendly and the breakfast buffet generous and varied.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a wedding here, and cannot fault the staff for their support and help. Nothing was too much trouble. Our guests stayed the night and were very happy with their rooms and the breakfast. I can recommend the Regent Suite in particular , while not cheap, it's lovely. The hotel is about to be refurbished but we hope it retains its period charm. Lovely function rooms, lovely bar, great location and helpful staff

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mowjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear gorles

Delighted that we could make your wedding day so special and that you found our team helpful and supportive.
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review which is so motivational for team.
We all wish you well in your married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing