We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Arms Cambridge
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights (Thursday thru Saturday). Staff were quite charming and attentive. The hotel is starting to show that it needs a little makeover to get it up a standard. However the rooms were quite comfortable. Breakfast was fine - I recommend the freshly cooked poached eggs - very good. Air conditioning very noisy and if you're room is towards the front - then the Cambridge nightlife (or going home life) can be noisy in the early hours.

But position is fantastic, and the staff really try hard to look after you. Even recommending (thank you Sylvia) that we report back on this site

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear edward d

Thank you for your review

Very pleased you found our staff charming and attentive and our breakfasts of a good standard.

Being in the centre of a University City there are occasions when it can be noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    238
    242
    197
    143
See reviews for
110
363
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during the mid-week on a business trip.

It is located in walking distance of the city centre and good place to start from to explore Cambridge.

Ovearll, the experience was favourable and the breakfast buffet was generous and varied. The staff seemed attentive and happy to provide information.

The decor of the rooms could be improved to make them up to daate. They are however clean and offer a good night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeres25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Xeres25

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you found our team friendly and the breakfast buffet generous and varied.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a wedding here, and cannot fault the staff for their support and help. Nothing was too much trouble. Our guests stayed the night and were very happy with their rooms and the breakfast. I can recommend the Regent Suite in particular , while not cheap, it's lovely. The hotel is about to be refurbished but we hope it retains its period charm. Lovely function rooms, lovely bar, great location and helpful staff

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mowjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear gorles

Delighted that we could make your wedding day so special and that you found our team helpful and supportive.
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review which is so motivational for team.
We all wish you well in your married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for a special weekend and were let down by the hotel. The room was dated and shabby with chipped paint, poor decor a tiny bathroom with a mirror that was impossible to apply makeup in and difficult to flush the toilet. Carpet was coming up at the edges and lighting was awful. The view was of the air conditioning units and a very disappointing breakfast, eggs benedict with hollandaise sauce like water, the waiter had limited English and cutlery and other needs had to be self met. On top of that we had to pay £16 to park in the car park, twice the price of other Cambridge city hotels. On check out my husband expressed our displeasure and all the receptionist could say was I am sorry. What is the point of asking how was your stay if it can not be followed up, she did not ask if we would like to see the manager or if we would like to say how things could be improved. A plus point is the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Read all reviews you can before booking, aswell as small print.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Vanda E

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and felt that your room was poor value for money.
I am not aware of what room rate you were on, which room you stayed in and with whom you booked so a follow up is difficult, as one does not give ones correct name.
We have a Duty Manager who is on duty 24 hours a day who is more than happy to deal with any guests concerns while they are on in the hotel.
The method of how one contacts the duty manager is included in my welcome letter which is placed on the bed of each new guest arriving at the hotel.
I have discussed your comments about breakfast with our Head Chef as we normally recieve very positive reviews about our breakfast and we will investigate further.
With regards to the parking there is one hotel which charges the same prices as we do and four hotels which charge more that we do. The local council parks are also more expensive than we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Winterthur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed for 4 nights in the university arms hotel and are very happy with it. the location ist great, close to the center and the trainstation is also easy to reach. everything is within walking distance.

the staff is very friendly and helpfull und the breakfast is great. a big choice at the buffet and additional egg benedict, etc. to order. the public rooms are very nice, like you expect from such a building, however the rooms could use a bit of a refurbishment. The bed is very cosy as well as the new towls.

value for money is very good, the other reviews give a wrong impression!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank znita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Znita

Very pleased you enjoyed your four night stay with us and found our staff very friendly and helpful.

We believe you are correct about the previous reviews, some of our guests do not make any comments to us, but then make negative reviews on a website.

Glad you believe us to be value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to the University Arms with mixed feelings, having read through the other reviews. However, we were positvely surprised.
We had a small problem at the checkin, as our booking-confirmation stated that we have already payed via creditcard, but the hotel claimed that we have not. In the end, we found that it was a mistake from an external booking-site.
The staff was very helpful and could help us with all enquiries we had during our stay.

The rooms were good, very clean. Though, we can confirm other reviews in saying that it is in need of a refurbishment at some places, for example the bathrooms. Nevetheless, we got a good sleep and everything we needed.

The breakfast was tasty with a huge buffet and the possibility to order additional stuff, such as different eggs and fish. To top it, you have a wonderful view on Parker's Piece, which is astonishing if the sun shines.

As the prices were fair compared to other hotels we checked, we would recommend the University Arms in its current state. A large refurbishmend would probably see the prices rocket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biddingpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear biddingpoints

Thank you for your positive review.
Very pleased we were able to resolve the problems with the third party you booked with and that you found our team members helpful.
The hotel is currently being sold and we are confident that our new owners will refurbish the hotel.
Delighted that you would recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location and lovely building. However, it is in need of some TLC as it looks old and tired. Reception was good and very helpful when they were called upon to sort a small problem out. The heating/aircon is very noisey which is not good if you want some heat during the night! No information in the room for tourists and nothing to tell you telephone numbers of reception etc.
The double bed was small.
The hotel charges £2:50 for settling up with your credit card - a right rip off!
Come on De Vere, it is time you started to freshening up your old tired hotel!
The breakfast was ok, but disappointing. Coffee is served from a teapot! No hash browns!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Nodalino

Thank you for your review.
Pleased that you found our Reception good.
We are hoping that the new owners will reburbish the hotel.
Very unhappy you were served coffee in a tea pot and I have discussed this with the F&B team.
Our breakfast selection is extensive as hopefully you have seen in other reviews.
Our Breakfast Chef is flexible and will do special dishes if possible, but we could not do hash browns as they are currently not part of our breakfast standard and to to cooked them from raw would have resulted in an unacceptable wait for you. However if we were asked for them the night before breakfast we would have they ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Arms Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Arms Cambridge

Property: University Arms Cambridge
Address: Regent Street, Cambridge CB2 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — University Arms Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of medieval Cambridge, set back from the hustle and bustle of the town and bathed in green lawn lies this rather special historic hotel. It’s an education in quirky British charm and is famous for its hospitality, not to mention its guests over the years from the Beatles to the Krays. Luxurious rooms full of character await, spiral staircases and of course all of Cambridge’s attractions right on your marble doorstep. Take a punt on University Arms and you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Arms Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vere University Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing