We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Arms Cambridge
Nearby Hotels
$254
$231
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$140
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
$175
$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
95
237
242
196
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
237
242
196
143
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 913 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Fantastic location, friendly and polite staff. Room size and decor pretty tired (in need of a lick of paint but clean & wholesome) and breakfast average, albeit in the lovely Ballroom. Good for what we wanted though as we were mostly out and about sight seeing. Very average and probably a little over priced...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Ruth A

Thank you for your feedback we are currently carrying out an internal refurbishment of the bedrooms.
Pleased you found the team friendly and polite.
I am sorry you only found our breakfast average as we normally get very positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had our wedding reception at the University Arms yesterday. It was amazing. The food was delicious and all our guest, including the fussy eaters loved it. The staff were more than helpful and managed to arrange everything we asked for, even requests on the day during the event. The whole hotel was spotless and maintained to a very high standard. Whilst arranging the reception the wedding coordinator, Laura, was fantastic and if she was in a meeting when I rang her other team members were just as helpful. Our coordinator on the day, Dante, was brilliant making sure the day ran smoothly and everyone knew what was happening next. His staff and himself also packed everything up for us and stored it away for collection on checking out. The bedroom was very clean and spacious and we slept very well. Breakfast again was delicious with a range of different foods available. I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone. Either for a celebration, overnight stay or a meal out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Alison A

Delighted you had an amazing wedding reception and found our food delicious.
I will ceratainly pass on your very positive comments to Laura, Dante and Mark our Head Chef.
On behalf of the hotel can I wish you much wealth, health and happiness in married life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Making a booking with the central reservations team is always easy and painless adn the reservation number is emailed within 5 minutes of me hanging up !
The hotel staff are simply wonderful and so helpful. Our VIP Client is always given the same room and on this particular stay, extended by an extra night becuase the hotel is so 'restful' allowing her to continue her busy schedule but with a calmness.
As a Corporate client, I could not ask more of the hotel than what they deliver- a first class service every time- nothing is EVER too much trouble.
Central location is ideal when you need to relax from the stress of work

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Sophie A

I am very pleased that you find our central reservation system so easy and our staff so helpful.
All of the team will be very pleased to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming back your VIP clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Tired and dated. Not worthy of 4 Stars. You are paying for location. The first room offered was dingy.....tobacco coloured wallpaper grey nets and lights that took a genius to work out. There was only a small window.
The second room was ok. It had a large window. The decor was just as bad. The table wonky, more chips in the paint work and they nets were grey...and the curtains pelmets and all circa 1986. It just needs a make over. The bathroom was just as dated.
The saving grace was the breakfast and the staff. They warranted 4 stars. Shame about the Hotel. For business acceptable. a specail occassion I would be really disappointed and would have changed Hotels...says it all. Don't accept second best...keep moaning

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear The special one Enfield

We are sorry you did not like our decor.
We are in the procees of being sold and we hope the new owners will refurbish the hotel.
However we are carrying out an internal refurbishment.
Very pleased you like our staff and the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I dithered on how to rate this hotel and ended up on a 3. I think my overall experience of this hotel is best described as “faded elegance”. The carpets and decorations are worn, the woodwork chipped and clearly a lot has not been replaced for at least 20 years, likely more. The bathroom was in desperate need of renovation, with the enamel wearing away off the bath and a nasty shower curtain that wanted to wrap itself round me when standing under the shower. And as for internet in the bedroom – forget it.

But… the room I had (king) was a generous size overlooking one of the Cambridge greens. It had an enormous and exceedingly comfortable bed and was scrupulously clean. And although the shower curtain was annoying, the shower was good with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was excellent – served in a beautiful (faded) old dining room overlooking the green. The quality of the ingredients appeared to be good and you cannot fault the choice at the buffet. On top of that you can order some dishes cooked to order – my eggs benedict were done to perfection.

And last but by no means least, the hotel staff were friendly, efficient and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Stuut

Thank you for pointing out some maintenance issues which our team addressed yesterday.
I am very pleased you found our staff friendly efficient and courteous.
I will also pass you complimentary comments about your Eggs Benedict to our Breakfast Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews