We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Arms Cambridge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$197
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$254
$231
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ashley Hotel(Cambridge)
$111
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
95
237
242
196
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
237
242
196
143
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 913 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a room facing the park and street. We had noise outside of our window till dawn. A neighborhood drunk finally stopped hollering at dawn, his last words being "In the name of St. Andrew, please help me up!" The windows are not adequate to keep out the noise. There were young people drunk the whole night. A chain pizza was across the street, which was a draw for them.

Our room was extra large with 3 beds for 2 people.

Room Tip: A room off the street is the only option for this facility.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerrytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Our room was cramped. It was also street facing directly opposite a noisy bar which was open to the early hours Sunday morning. The rear facing room back onto Parkers Peice which would be far quieter and provide a lovely view.
The air conditioning was not working when we arrived , although this was quickly resolved. The car park is very small but well priced . The in room drinks only had earl grey, herbal tea and coffee but very good quantities provided.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mandar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej S, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Mandar01,

Thank you for your review.

I was happy to read that we were able to resolve the problem with air conditioning. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Andrej Stein
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I travel quite a lot with work and stop in a lot of hotels but this stay at the University Arms was a weekend away with my wife. First off I have to say the staff were great, the first room we were given had obviously had a water leak at some point as the carpet was damp and the room smelt very badly of damp. The staff, as you'd hope/expect, were very apologetic and swapped us to a new room straight away. That was all fair enough, these things happen.

But I have to say the standard of the rooms was very poor, it looked from the corridors and the rooms that the last time a refit had taken place was in the late 80s not only from a style & technology point of view, also the entire place looked tired. The main building is beautiful from the outside but inside everything from the battered and worn reception desk to the carpets to the walls all looked way past their best.

Combined with that, the double rooms are really very small. My business travel is abroad (around Asia mostly) and the size of the rooms compared to my usual hotels was minuscule. Also, no obvious signs of Internet in the room and a CRT TV just added to the dated and tired feel.

The University Arms once enjoyed a good reputation in Cambridge, but I have to say it's in drastic need of investment as the other large hotels in Cambridge centre offer much better quality and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virtualbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej S, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear virtualbma,

Thank you for your review.

I was sad to read that you felt the hotel was not up to your standard. We do our best to internally maintain our hotel, although I hope you do understand that it is rather difficult in this financial climate.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Andrej Stein
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay for our wedding anniversary. Loved the character of the old hotel - the bar and breakfast room. Views over Parker's piece very nice. Room OK - as others have said- a little tired. Staff very pleasant. Breakfast excellent. Location excellent.
However, I feel staff would be helped if the De Vere chain modified some of their systems and policies. Central booking was at least a half hour affair. 2 rooms - one for 2 nights, one for 3 nights involved 3 transactions each of which is charged a £2.50 fee if you use a credit card. During the process I was quoted a room rate of £159 per night but then charged £348 for 2 nights (not £318 as expected) - the system did not highlight to the operator that there was an increased rate of £30 if the stay included saturday. There were curious differences in the rooms despite being the same rate - dressing gowns, slippers and fresh fruit in one but not the other. During our stay, we were billed for extras on the inclusive evening meal despite all 4 of us selecting from the correct menu. We almost missed breakfast on monday morning as we were not advised of the different times - there was no hotel information in the room, or on the key card. De Vere should also consider changing their policy on the TV in the lounge. During the last match of the season, 3 different groups of people, all residents, were watching the TV coverage, quietly while having a drink. A member of staff came to inform us that the channel would be changed to the news channel as this was company policy. Not one person in the room wanted to watch the news and no-one minded the football. Our room was being cleaned so we had no other option - which was checked out - a compromise was eventually reached until housekeeping had finished. I felt sorry for the staff member, who was only doing her job, but did feel that guests should have more choice in the viewing or remove the TV altogether.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Parker's piece
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej S, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Denise A,

Thank you for your review.

I have passed all your comments on to our central reservations team in regards to the procedure, which indeed does not seem to be our standard practice.

Please do let me apologise for not advising you on the different breakfast times. This indeed should have been done on check in.

In our Bar - our policy indeed is to have a news channel on. This is to maintain a neutral atmosphere.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Andrej Stein
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Time has taken its toll here but the hotel still claims to be at the top of its field. In need of an update. Very comfortable beds. General maintenance could be better.
Breakfasts were very good but the variety offered on Monday was noticeably less than atthe weekend.
Afternoon tea was not nearly as attractive as the photos widely displayed, expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choristerlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej S, Manager at University Arms Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Choristerlad,

Thank you for your review.

We understand your comments in regards to the hotel maintenance. We have a maintenance team of 4 talented and motivated staff that are pro-actively working on the hotel to ensure all aspects of maintenance are covered.

I was very sad to read that the Afternoon tea did not live up to your expectations. Perhaps if you could find the time, would you be able to e-mail in specific what exactly you did not enjoy.
Andrej.Stein@devere-hotels.com

Once again I thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Andrej Stein
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews