We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cambridge
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable

Came here with a large group of 14 people. Good fun, just a shame the sessions were quite short. We... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
sadjoshua6
,
Fordham, United Kingdom
Difficulty booking but fun skating in the end.

The online booking system didn't function properly so I spent a good hour overall trying and... read more

Reviewed January 5, 2020
Acacia2009
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Read all 18 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cambridge
from $15.15
More Info
from $14.49
More Info
from $20.27
More Info
from $19.76
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
7
8
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice rink skate hire needed advice newmarket road park and ride couple of hours skates coin lockers boating penguins session tickets university
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The online booking system didn't function properly so I spent a good hour overall trying and failing, then sending messages. However staff got back to me within a couple of hours and arranged a booking for me for the next day. We cycled there and you need to follow signs for the Newmarket Rd Park & Ride as I didn't see any sign (apart from tiny ones you'd never see from a car) for the venue until we'd turned into the P&R site. Plenty of bike parking by the ice rink entrance. Ok facilities for getting skates and waiting to go on. Lockers need a pound coin and are small. The ice rink was good, there was always a staff member skating to help anyone who needed advice eg how to get up if you fall. The slot was generous at an hour and three quarters which mean we could stop for a drink without thinking we'd lose out. The rink was fairly full at the start but not so much that it spoiled enjoyment. In the last 15 minutes or so of the slot, it was much less full so people still on the ice had more space. The cafe was averagely priced with a small but ok range of snacks and baked potatoes, pizzas etc. There was one person serving and one cooking and the server could have used an assistant as at times people were waiting quite a while. The pizza and chips we had were quite good.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Acacia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Took the girls (14 & 15) for a Sunday morning skate between Christmas & New Year. They had fun and the skate hire & skating was well organised. I watched from the cafe which is small with limited options but friendly. Wrap up warm & enjoy.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Blakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Our first visit to the new ice arena and very impressed. Situated within the park and ride, so free parking very close to venue. Clearly signposted. Staff were happy and friendly even though it was busy. One child (not part of our group) had a nasty spill, but the response from the staff was immediate. Great venue, lovely staff, safe and well run. We’ll definitely be going again.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank clairel485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Our first visit today. Easy to find...it's located at the back of the park and ride car park with plenty of signs...you can park there for free.

Lunchtime session was fully booked but never felt too crowded.

Skates were in good condition and staff were friendly. Toilets are clean.

Only minor issue was the website wouldn't accept my payment and so we had to ring to book.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Sleepysue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

We had problems making a booking on the website, putting our details in twice but on both occasions the link crashed. We made a call to the arena in the morning and made a telephone booking without any issue but unfortunately did not get the time slot we wanted as it was now full. Using the Newmarket Road park and ride side we were able to park by the arena without issue. Free parking and there is plenty of it. The friendly staff had our tickets behind the desk as promised and we had our skates on within 5 minutes of arrival. No fuss and great friendly staff helped us. We did a full enjoyable skate session. It was full to book but the arena was not overcrowded on or off the ice. Everywhere was clean and well looked after. Lockers take a £1 coin, non refundable but recommended. The cafe was good with a white coffee being priced at £2.30. Great afternoon out!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank jonl305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews