We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Museum

Fitzwilliam Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.85*
and up
Cambridge Day Trip from London
Ranked #3 of 157 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum houses vast collections of antiquities from ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, including exhibits of English and European pottery and glass, furniture, clocks, Chinese jades, and ceramics from Japan and Korea.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Free entrance and well laid out. Not too busy when we went so could take our time looking at the exhibits. The china/pottery section is amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjacobsbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    585
    93
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok but lots of missing sections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the armour and the Quentin drawings. The armour had been removed and the drawings was good but very small. It's obvious that a lot of children would be brought to this exhibition which is why I am surprised at the small scale and the fact that it wasn't very child related. The children wanted to know more about time of the characters from Ronald Dahl books but there was very little there. Lots of lovely paintings and sculptures though that are worth coming back to see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My previous visits to Cambridge had just been day trips. When scheduling allowed several days there, the Fitzwilliam was the place to go. In fact, in the four days there I visited twice. There are so many exception works by Titian, Pouson, Matisse, Holman Hunt, Blake: this museum requires that one take one's time. The only strange part was that I asked after two Burne Jones works on paper that I saw reproduced in the gift shop. I thought they might be hidden in a covered case somewhere in the building. Three of the four people I asked had no idea who Burne Jones was. While I wouldn't have been surprised if I were on a bus, this is a museum after all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is nothing in here that we haven't seen in any other museum, Greeks and Romans, lots of pottery figures, lots of "probably" from such and such a period. There was a nice piece of furniture which "probably" belonged to Handel! The sort of museum that you should take your kids to if you live locally, otherwise, save your museum-visiting stint for London

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allybookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited to look at the pictures but without the vast collection the building itself is worth looking it. The architecture is beautiful and in some cases breath-taking. The bonus is that it is free to enter - with a box for donations.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank crossstitchgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzwilliam Museum also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Fitzwilliam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing