We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evensong on Sunday afternoon”

King's College Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.21*
and up
Oxford and Cambridge Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 158 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing English Gothic structure was built between 1446 and 1515, and is the site where many great scholars were educated.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Evensong on Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Chapel is actually far more beautiful to look at than the acoustics are. I went with visiting family, and one trick to maximize your experience is to make sure you arrive very early to get seating on the comfy, and much more pimp solid oak middle tier seats. The overflow outside the inner chapel is very uncomfortable, and basically for families. The extra seats inside the chapel that are NOT the central ones are neither comfortable, nor do they have good views of the rituals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stubby_galavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,696
    425
    103
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“King's College Chapel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

King's College Chapel is one of the most beautiful churches that I have ever been inside. The stained gladd, which somehow managed to survive the Commonweath unscathed, is beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A stunning piece of architecture”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a must for any visit to Cambridge. Where else can you see a 15th C fan vault ceiling ?
I think the fee is appropriate given the cost of upkeep but next time I intend going to one of the services to really get the full experience of the glory of this building.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

You have to go to evensong in King's when you visit Cambridge. The choir is superbe and the building is magnificent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Rather overpriced”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

They currently charge £7.50 per person to enter the Chapel but to be honest, we felt it was somewhat expensive for what we saw. You are allowed to take photos as long as you don't use flash. But no video or mobile phone pictures. The ceiling and stone carving is amazing, wonderful artistry and beautiful stained glass windows. But to be honest, I wouldn't pay out that much again to visit it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bigardafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's College Chapel also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to King's College Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing